47 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great easy recipe, very tasty sausage rolls, I also added carrot.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wendy.halmai December 31, 2008

Took these to the DS's music recreation group today were they were devoured. I made them the day before cooking them for 15 minutes at 200 (fan forced oven) for 15 minutes, once cooled put in the fridge and in the morning put them onto trays and baked them for 12 minutes at 180 and took them hot to DS's group. I made the mini ones. Thank you JustJanS one I will be making for ourselves (the 2 I tasted didn't give me indigestion like commercial ones do - it was delicious). Made for Edition 5 - Make My Recipe - a game of tag.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat July 01, 2008

This is the second year I've made these rolls and, again, they are GREAT! I grind my own meat, usually just pork butt roasts and add Italiano Seasoning & Hy's Seasoning Salt. I pretty much guess at the measurements because I make about 200 of them so I need lots of filling. I use Tenderflake Puff Pastry and love the piping bag idea! I use a pizza wheel to cut all the pastry, works like a charm :) 5 Stars and a recipe I will continue to use for years!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kansas A December 24, 2007

5 stars for an easy and great sausage roll recipe. Made these for my daughters 9th birthday morning tea today and these were appreciated by all my guests who had a big night out celebrating New Year's Eve. Made as written but I did add some very finely greated carrot to the sausage meat and sprinkled over some sesame seeds. Easy to make and so much better than the bought/frozen sausage rolls. I used sausage meat purchased from the butchers. Photo sldo being posted.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** January 01, 2013

Excellent, delicious, mouthwatering, outstanding....you made me a *star* this Christmas!!! Thanks so much for this fabulous recipe...truly, the best I've ever tasted in my life. This is deserving of many, many stars! The best!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue's Kitchen December 28, 2012

Yummy! I used a combination of sausages - pork, beef and chicken. I sprinkled them with sesame and poppy seeds before I baked them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Navidad December 26, 2012

These were delicious! I added 1 grated carrot, and about 2 TB barbecue sauce. I cut each roll into 6 pieces. They turned out perfectly, and were a hit with everyone. Thanks for sharing :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sara 76 June 14, 2011

I love sausage rolls but the fiddly old methods were a bit of a pain but JustJanS piping method has saved the day - brilliant! Flavour spot on as well. Next time, and there will be heaps of those, I'm going to cut back on the milk by about half as my butcher's snags are already pretty juicy and I like the filling to be a bit firmer. I along with many others cut them into 4s so I ended up with 48 - you beauty!

This is a winner! Thanks, Jan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Dabblers May 19, 2011

These are awesome! I made mine bite-sized as well (easier to eat that way!). I've never made sausage rolls before, and I liked these better than the ones I bought in the shop when I was in London. I didn't do the egg wash and they still baked up nice and brown and flaky. Thanks for sharing! I'm making another batch tomorrow for a New Years Eve get together with friends. I'm sure they'll love them as much as I did!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie Lou Who December 31, 2010

DELISH!! I have never made anything like this and it was super easy to put together. I did cut the recipe in half since I was only feeding my husband and myself. One of the rolls I added a few sliced green olives and 2 tablespoons of diced tomatoes to accomodate my pregnancy cravings and it was very tasty! Thanks for the recipe! I will be making it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mskitty84 July 30, 2010
Sausage Rolls