33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I liked this very much. I only used 1 large potato and I put it in the microwave for 2 minutes first so that I could reduce the cooking time. I used half of the soup mix and half of the water. I don't think I used a whole pound of sausage. It ended up making about three servings or two large servings. Thanks for a speedy and yummy dish.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara portee November 17, 2008

I was looking for something different to do with sausage and this was perfect! The kids both liked it and what was left we used the next morning to go with eggs for breakfast. The only change I made was to bake it in the oven for about an hour instead of doing it on the stove in a skillet. It worked out great and will be made again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPsBarbie November 08, 2008

This was one of the first recipes I started using when I first got married. Very good!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel November 05, 2012

I love simple and good. I used a red, green and onion frozen mixture and two cans of sliced potatoes. I followed the rest of the recipe as written and we really enjoyed it. The next time I would just brown my sausage a lot longer but that's just a personal preference. I also left the sausage in the pan when I added the rest of the ingredients so all the flavors would meld. I did cook mine longer then 20 minutes too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol November 04, 2012

A great fast weeeknight meal.Like many other reviewers I was looking for a different sausage recipe.This is it!It's like an italian sausage stew.I used 5 small red potatoes and microwaved them for 2 minutes before cutting them up.The soup mix turns into a nice thick gravy like sauce.It's delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuuvBunny December 15, 2011

What gorgeous colours the peppers add to this dish! I used Oktoberfest sausage as my family can't handle the spicier types. I added some quartered onions which I browned along with the peppers for a few minutes. I reduced the oil to 1 tsp as I was using a non-stick skillet. A nice recipe, easy to make and budget friendly. Thx for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word April 07, 2011

I cannot say enough about this recipe. It was fantastic. Great flavor and super easy. The peppers...yum! I used small red potatoes cut in half and reduced the simmer time by 5 min to compensate. I already can't wait to eat the leftovers tomorrow. I found this recipe as an alternative to using italian sausage with pasta and I'm definitely satisfied. Next time I'm going to serve it over rice.Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WINNIE246 January 27, 2011

Awesome!!! so easy and inexpensive...we loved it!!! Doubled the recipe and it tunred out perfect-- thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
babysimilac October 21, 2009

Tasty, quick and easy. The onion soup gave it a nice flavor. I will make this again. It was good reheated the next day too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prrs4me June 21, 2009

This recipe is quick and delicious! One pan recipe, and super easy to follow. I followed this exactly using hot italian turkey sausage. I think I cut my potatoes too small because they were very soft after cooking for 20 minutes. Next time I will reduce the cooking time a bit. The flavor was still great! Will definitely make this again. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Venus4605 May 13, 2009
Sausage, Peppers, and Potatoes