Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sausage Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sausage Gravy

    Average Rating:

    155 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 155

    Sort by:

    • on March 26, 2002

      I've been making this exact recipe for years and my family loves it for Sunday breakfast. The only thing I add is just a pinch of salt. I also cook the flour and sausage for 2-3 minutes before adding the milk to burn off the "floury" taste. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2002

      This is a great breakfast, for more flavor try leaving a tablespoon of the grease in the gravy and for a kick try cayenne pepper. Mmm good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2002

      I have no problem admitting that I'm no cook. I was very anxious when I was asked to bring a food item to a breakfast potluck we were having at work one day. I found this recipe and it looked easy enough so I made the gravy and took it to work. I was relieved to see that two other ladies had also brought gravy (just in case mine was no good). Well, I work in a medical clinic and it was particularly busy that day so I didn't get to eat for several hours. When I went into the breakroom, I was shocked to see that my gravy was gone and the other two gravies were barely touched. I didn't get to taste the gravy I had made so that night when I got home from work, I made biscuits and gravy for dinner. I have to say, this is the BEST gravy I have ever had! It turned out so wonderfully and now I can say that there is ONE food item that I can make that actually tastes good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2002

      This is a all most foolproof recipe. I use this to feed 9 men at a church breakfest, and the loved it. I've always had trouble making gravy thick enough, or with out lumps, but not with this one. It's Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2002

      Very good! I'm ashamed to say that I've been making this from a mix from a bakery, and it was so wonderful to find an recipe from scratch that was just as good! I left the fat in from the sausage and added just a little salt. Very delicious! Will probably make this every Saturday morning. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2002

      This is just wonderful the way it is. We used bread. Nothing left but the pan. Thank You

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2002

      I just made this for breakfast and it was so great! Super easy and really filling also. We really enjoyed it. I didn't make a single substitution or alteration, this recipe is perfect the way it is. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2002

      I made this for my husband and he really enjoyed them. It was so easy to make and had a lot of taste to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2003

      Thanks for this recipe! I had a hard time getting sausage gravy to thicken in the past, but this helped a lot. One caution: My husband accidentally picked up some sort of diet or low fat sausage. Unless you are on a strict diet please get regular sausage. The diet stuff was tasteless! Just a tip :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2011

      Very good. I made a half recipe. I also even used a 1/4 less milk than half quantity. (wanted it even thicker) I used skim milk since that's what I had. It was good cause the sausage was rich. Note to self: Would be better with regular milk. Used the sausage from Round Hill, VA roadside store. Felt like I woke up in the mountains eating this breakfast. Yummy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2011

      I halved the recipe and ate the gravy over whole wheat toast. The next day I heated up the gravey to go over a plain egg omelette. Tasted great both ways. Thanks for posting ThatJodiGirl.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2011

      Good, Yummy, and easy :). Just the way a bachelor likes it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2011

      This gravy is awesome. I followed the advice of another reviewer and removed the sausage, made the roux and then added it back when the gravy had thickened a bit. Added the worcerstershire sauce (about a tablespoon) and found it didn't need added salt or additional spices other than the black pepper. Easy to make and enjoyed by all. My husband said it was the best gravy he's ever had. Made homemade biscuits to go with it and it was over-the-top good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2011

      Didn't realize how easy it would be to make tasty sausage gravy! Definitely added some salt and more pepper to taste. I used a rosemary breakfast sausage from our local butcher but I imagine that adding a little rosemary to regular breakfast sausage would be pretty yummy too! Awesome recipe and super easy and quick to make!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      This is really wonderful gravy, and so simple! I have always removed the browned sausage from the pan, made the roux, added the milk and then added the meat back when the gravy was almost finished. I honestly don't know why I did it that way (Grandma always did) but it just creates another dish to wash. This was much quicker. I also never thought to add Worcestershire sauce, but it really added an extra layer of flavor. Don't make the mistake I did though, if you're using spicy hot sausage, you probably don't want to add the red pepper flakes as well. I did it without thinking about it, and it was melt-your-face-off spicy. DH loved this, but he's weird. I guess he'll have a lot of leftovers. ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2010

      Very yummy and simple. I added a pinch of sea salt and about 1 teaspoon of black pepper and made my biscuits from scratch. Will consider serving again for potluck one Sunday morning at church.

      For those who think it is too thin, you probably did not cook it long enough. Mine was almost too thick.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2014

      I just made biscuits and gravy for the first time with this recipe it came out great very easy and tasty. I didn't drain the grease because the sausage I used didn't really have any after I browned it and I used three cups of skim milk instead of a quart. I will definitely make it again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2014

      My Hubby requested biscuits and gravy for breakfast, so I searched and found this recipe. Simple to put together, comes out perfectly, and no need to pull out tons of pans and make a big old mess. Best of all, he's excited when I serve this for breakfast. Thanks so much for helping me make Hubby happy! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2013

      Good! Used Jimmy Dean natural sausage and whole milk. Added 1t salt and a couple of shakes of Worcestershire sauce. Will make again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2013

      A great basic gravy recipe, for added flavor I add a few dashes of worchestire sauce, some onion powder, a dash of garlic powder, seasoning salt and pepper. For an extra kick, I add a dash of jalepeno sauce. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sausage Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (184 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 269.5
     
    Calories from Fat 176
    65%
    Total Fat 19.5 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 7.7 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 57.9 mg
    19%
    Sodium 420.8 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 13.1 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes