9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these for brunch and they were very delicious. I like a heartier muffin and this fit the bill. The sausage and onion flavors combined well. A great addition to our breakfast smorgasbord. Thanks Nurse Di.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gladys58 November 01, 2002

I'm not rating these, primarily because I screwed them up with my first attempt - forgot to make high altitude adjustments - so I have to make them again and will rate then. While mine were pretty flat (we live about 6,000 ft. elevation) they tasted pretty good. I have to admit, I couldn't stop eating them, so they are worth trying and adjusting to your personal taste. I could hardly taste the bell peppers, so I will use jalapenos next time. I really couldn't taste the cheese either, so I'll increase that a bit. The amount of chile flakes was just right (I thought.) Mine were a tad bit over-cooked at 28 minutes, so you may want to check them prior to that time. I LOVE the nutritional content of these muffins - better than most muffins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook In Southwest June 14, 2011

I made these yesterday morning, and heated one from frozen on my way out the door this morning. A good basic recipe, but I think the next time I make it, I will substitute jalapenos and/or habaneros for the green peppers. I doubled the crushed red pepper but it wasn't quite as "zippy" as we normally like.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissRed1970 January 24, 2010

Excellent! I omitted the onions/green peppers because my family doesn't care for them. Next time I'll be sure to reduce the amount of pepper flakes, because for us weenies it's a bit too spicy lol! I doubled the recipe, and didn't get quite 24 muffins--probably closer to 18 in a standard-sized muffin tin and only baked them for about 18 minutes in my convection oven--I might reduce that by a minute or two next time, as they were just a smidge on the dry side. This will definitely become a staple in my house, THANK YOU!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M to the K October 11, 2009

Just got done making these, and we love them. I doubled the batch, as I get breakfast company quite often. mollywally

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mollywally September 23, 2008

These are really easy to make and I will definately make again. As another reviewer noted, the baking time is WAY to long. Mine were beautiful, but a bit dry, after 20 minutes. I changed a few things, based on what I had on hand- I only had 4 ounces of bulk sausage, so I added a small handful of bacon bits to make up the difference (not a good idea). I think this caused the muffins to be too salty, so I'll use all sausage next time. I omitted the green pepper, both because I didn't have any, and because I dont really care for it. Next time I might use a red bell pepper instead. A good recipe overall, and I look forward to making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH July 15, 2008

These were very delicious. I think, though, that the baking time is wrong: after 21 minutes the muffins were VERY done (even a touch dry) and if I had left them in the full 28 minutes they would have been nearing burnt! I would suggest 18-20 minutes at 400 degrees. I also doubled the red pepper flakes and added in some ground chipolte peppers, and used a touch more cheese (big cheese lovers here.) The taste was fantastic! These would be excellent for a brunch, as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tornado Ali July 01, 2008

Oh, YUM! YUM! YUM! These bake up beautifully and freeze like a dream. We ate half of 'em while they were barely cool enough to handle. I froze the rest and reheated them in the microwave for breakfast one the go. Don't skip the red pepper flakes. They gave the muffins a tasty kick. I used a little less green pepper as a matter of personal preference and white onions out of necessity. Everything else as written. A winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ma Field March 25, 2008

I made these for a bridesmaid brunch. They were soooo yummy and very popular with my guests. Hearty and substantial. I think these would be good with a potato soup, too. Thanks for a different and interesting new muffin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Suzanne August 03, 2003
Sausage Cheese Muffins