62 Reviews

These were pretty good! We thought they were lacking a bit in flavor, tasting quite a bit like Bisquick. My husband summed it up perfectly when he said it tasted as if you got a biscuit from McD's and put some sausage on it (which is not a bad thing, by the way). After I made and tasted the first batch I added a 7 oz. can of green chiles and some more cheese, which I liked better. My 2 yr. old likes them too, which of course is the ultimate taste test! They also reheat nicely at 90 seconds. I reheated one just a few minutes ago and added some green Tabasco to it, and that was the final touch it needed to become super yummy. I'll definitely make these again and keep them on hand for a quick breakfast. Next time I'm going to try adding some veggies to them to make them a bit healthier. All in all, a great recipe. Thanks! -UPDATE- I just had to come back and give this recipe another star. I just reheated one from the chile/extra cheese batch and put some hot sauce on it...oh my goodness, out of this world. I think the extra ingredients made them a little more moist after being heated than the others...I don't know if that's the reason, but wow. Not to mention I've had them for bkfst the past three mornings and have really been enjoying them. I think that says a lot about a recipe. Also, because of this recipe, I've actually been eating bkfst PERIOD, which has been a challenge since my 2nd daughter was born six weeks ago. So thanks...more than worth five stars!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hepcat1 August 23, 2006

I didn't have Bisquick, and prefer my own biscuit mix, so I cannot rate this with integrity. However, it is a neat idea, and they came out pretty good. I used aged cheddar, which I recommend for flavor. I also used a blander breakfast sausage, while next time I look forward to trying chorizo. I might also add green onions (which the kids won't like, ha ha) and a pinch of cayenne. I don't know if Bisquick is saltier than my usual biscuit mix, but I had to add salt to the batter that wasn't yet baked after I tasted the first batch. I also think I will try making a big one in my cast iron skillet, as I didn't like the way it stuck to the papers, or to the pans when I used baking spray. A good basic recipe to play with.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annlouise October 20, 2011

Love, love these muffins! I take them to our Sunday school class all the time. We just add some sage, nutmeg, clove, ground red pepper, onion salt and pepper and it makes the sausage flavor pop!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kandice.myslivy October 28, 2012

I made half a recipe and got 20 muffins. I like the muffins that have lots of meat in them. I used Bob Evans hot sausage,4 oz. of chilis, Mexican hot sauce, pepper jack cheese and turned out very good,

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound March 27, 2012

Honestly, the convenience of OAMC is perfect for me as a single mom, and usually a recipe this highly rated is a sure win for my family. But as others who have rated this low have mentioned, these turn very bland for my family. My kids are pretty open minded eaters, but these were even too bland for them. They convinced our babysitter to let them drizzle syrup over them so there was some flavor, and that was the only way they got eaten. Now, as someone else mentioned, I have a couple dozen boring, bland muffins that aren't going to help me beat the morning craziness at our home.

The comment at the end of the recipe says, "if you like spicy foods, add green chilies." Well, my children don't tolerate spicy foods very well, so I decided to make the recipe "as is." "As is" my children will not eat them, and I only choked 2 down to try to encourage them. The texture isn't impressive, and there is no flavor. I hate to throw food away, but it's going to take a lot of syrup from my kids to choke these down.

I suppose if you added a good amount of garlic, pepper, possibly onion and salt, these might have a decent flavor. I had hoped I'd like the original flavor enough to work with alterations the next go round, but there is no way. I can't waste the time or the money.

They are convenient, if only edible.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sixfoot July 18, 2011

These were very good! I used half Jimmy Dean sausage and half chorizo. I also added some green chilies and some extra seasonings such as garlic powder, cumin, chili powder and salt since the other reviews mentioned it being bland. Turned out very good, even the kids liked it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NikkiA7 February 22, 2010

these are excellent! i used sausage, and left out the muffin liners due to sticking. also i should add i baked them for 20 to 25 minutes at 375 F and they came out golden brown and so much better than baking for 15 minutes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lacus October 11, 2009

was just informed that I did not star this recipe...so sorry. I is without a doubt a FIVE STAR wonder. Got a call from my dil this morning and she told me that the "cookies" were a big hit with the picky three yr. old. That's good enough for me!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy Harry #2 February 20, 2005

As others have said, good basic recipe. I had to bake them for 20 minutes. To make them a little more healthy, I used reduced fat Bisquick, reduced fat cheese, and ham instead of the sausage. The first batch was a little bland, but I added salt, pepper, onion and garlic powders, and a dash of cayenne on the second batch. Much better! Quick and easy breakfast for a crowd.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LiMurr September 01, 2014

We really liked these. I made them for breakfast on Saturday and the leftover got eaten each morning after before school. they reheated nicely and the kids loved them. I plan on making these again, using different types of sausage. Thank you for sharing with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour April 26, 2014
Sausage Breakfast Muffins (OAMC)