Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sausage Breakfast Muffins (OAMC) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sausage Breakfast Muffins (OAMC)

    Average Rating:

    62 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 62

    Sort by:

    • on August 23, 2006

      These were pretty good! We thought they were lacking a bit in flavor, tasting quite a bit like Bisquick. My husband summed it up perfectly when he said it tasted as if you got a biscuit from McD's and put some sausage on it (which is not a bad thing, by the way). After I made and tasted the first batch I added a 7 oz. can of green chiles and some more cheese, which I liked better. My 2 yr. old likes them too, which of course is the ultimate taste test! They also reheat nicely at 90 seconds. I reheated one just a few minutes ago and added some green Tabasco to it, and that was the final touch it needed to become super yummy. I'll definitely make these again and keep them on hand for a quick breakfast. Next time I'm going to try adding some veggies to them to make them a bit healthier. All in all, a great recipe. Thanks! -UPDATE- I just had to come back and give this recipe another star. I just reheated one from the chile/extra cheese batch and put some hot sauce on it...oh my goodness, out of this world. I think the extra ingredients made them a little more moist after being heated than the others...I don't know if that's the reason, but wow. Not to mention I've had them for bkfst the past three mornings and have really been enjoying them. I think that says a lot about a recipe. Also, because of this recipe, I've actually been eating bkfst PERIOD, which has been a challenge since my 2nd daughter was born six weeks ago. So thanks...more than worth five stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2011

      I didn't have Bisquick, and prefer my own biscuit mix, so I cannot rate this with integrity. However, it is a neat idea, and they came out pretty good. I used aged cheddar, which I recommend for flavor. I also used a blander breakfast sausage, while next time I look forward to trying chorizo. I might also add green onions (which the kids won't like, ha ha) and a pinch of cayenne. I don't know if Bisquick is saltier than my usual biscuit mix, but I had to add salt to the batter that wasn't yet baked after I tasted the first batch. I also think I will try making a big one in my cast iron skillet, as I didn't like the way it stuck to the papers, or to the pans when I used baking spray. A good basic recipe to play with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2012

      Love, love these muffins! I take them to our Sunday school class all the time. We just add some sage, nutmeg, clove, ground red pepper, onion salt and pepper and it makes the sausage flavor pop!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2012

      I made half a recipe and got 20 muffins. I like the muffins that have lots of meat in them. I used Bob Evans hot sausage,4 oz. of chilis, Mexican hot sauce, pepper jack cheese and turned out very good,

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2011

      Honestly, the convenience of OAMC is perfect for me as a single mom, and usually a recipe this highly rated is a sure win for my family. But as others who have rated this low have mentioned, these turn very bland for my family. My kids are pretty open minded eaters, but these were even too bland for them. They convinced our babysitter to let them drizzle syrup over them so there was some flavor, and that was the only way they got eaten. Now, as someone else mentioned, I have a couple dozen boring, bland muffins that aren't going to help me beat the morning craziness at our home.

      The comment at the end of the recipe says, "if you like spicy foods, add green chilies." Well, my children don't tolerate spicy foods very well, so I decided to make the recipe "as is." "As is" my children will not eat them, and I only choked 2 down to try to encourage them. The texture isn't impressive, and there is no flavor. I hate to throw food away, but it's going to take a lot of syrup from my kids to choke these down.

      I suppose if you added a good amount of garlic, pepper, possibly onion and salt, these might have a decent flavor. I had hoped I'd like the original flavor enough to work with alterations the next go round, but there is no way. I can't waste the time or the money.

      They are convenient, if only edible.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      These were very good! I used half Jimmy Dean sausage and half chorizo. I also added some green chilies and some extra seasonings such as garlic powder, cumin, chili powder and salt since the other reviews mentioned it being bland. Turned out very good, even the kids liked it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      these are excellent! i used sausage, and left out the muffin liners due to sticking. also i should add i baked them for 20 to 25 minutes at 375 F and they came out golden brown and so much better than baking for 15 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2005

      was just informed that I did not star this recipe...so sorry. I is without a doubt a FIVE STAR wonder. Got a call from my dil this morning and she told me that the "cookies" were a big hit with the picky three yr. old. That's good enough for me!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2014

      As others have said, good basic recipe. I had to bake them for 20 minutes. To make them a little more healthy, I used reduced fat Bisquick, reduced fat cheese, and ham instead of the sausage. The first batch was a little bland, but I added salt, pepper, onion and garlic powders, and a dash of cayenne on the second batch. Much better! Quick and easy breakfast for a crowd.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2014

      We really liked these. I made them for breakfast on Saturday and the leftover got eaten each morning after before school. they reheated nicely and the kids loved them. I plan on making these again, using different types of sausage. Thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2012

      i made a 12 muffin version of this in a 6 jumbo muffin pan, using double the amount of vegetarian sausage and 2 eggs so only 3/4 cup milk. i also added about 1/4 cup of Gruy?re i had kicking around, about 1 tbs green tabasco, a tsp of dill and a tsp of garlic powder. i also topped each muffin with a bit of parmesan and i used old low fat cheddar. i was using a non-stick silicon pan and buttered it anyway. they didn't rise as much as i was expecting. had to bake for a good 20 min but that's because they were bigger then stated. still a little bit bland. i could have added at least another Tbs of tabasco and more spices but there weren't bad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2012

      Bland. The muffin itself was so blah that it took all the flavor out of the sausage. Also, it makes twice as many muffins as you probably want.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2012

      I made this recipe before I read the reviews and maybe I would have added more seasonings, because like everyones listed it is kind of bland. I split the recipe in half and used the chorizo. However, I dipped them in salsa while eating it or put salsa with a little cheese on top and it tasted very good. I like the idea of the recipe! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      Love, love, loved these. They are similar to a sausage cheese puff recipe I make, but with the added corn meal they make a great grab and go breakfast muffin. I'm glad I had some when I did, my husband ate the rest in he mornings on his way to work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      These are pretty tasty. I made the mistake of not reading the reviews before baking and so they stuck to the papers, and were a little bland. Next time I'll add some more spices, and probably forgo the papers in favor of Kittencal's non stick. I made a batch of these for a friend who just had a c-section, and she doesn't eat regular sausage so I used turkey sausage, they they turned out pretty tasty! Right now I've got a ton in my freezer, but I'd make these again, next time with the modifications.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      I love the quick, easy, reasonably nutritious breakfast that this creats. I made it strictly per the recipe the first time and they were really quite good. However, I too now add some onion, bell pepper and garlic powder. Also, we eat two each for the adults in the household, one for kids.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      This was a very versatile recipe. I made it for a bake sale we had at work and everyone seemed to love them. I am giving it 4 stars because when the first batch was bland I added a bunch of stuff to the mix...I used 1 pound of Jimmy Dean "hot" breakfast sausage and 1 pound of chorizo. I also threw in some diced red pepper, onions and garlic into the sausage as it was cooking. Instead of cornmeal I used 1 box of Jiffy Corn Muffin mix. I added one can of diced green chilis and one can of Rotel tomatoes. For spices I added chili powder and cilanto. In the very last batch I added some black beans. With all of these additions I give it 5 stars. My 5 year old daughter loved them. My coworkers thought it was like a breakfast burrito muffin. Overall I think it is a good recipe that you can really play with to suit your own personal tastes. I will be making these again to see what else I can come up with. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      This a basic good recipe, to spice it up a little I used Jimmy Dean Hot sausage and sharp cheddar cheese and just a dash of garlic. Try it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      They taste super yummy straight out of the oven. I haven't microwaved them yet, but I'm sure they'll be yummy. I also used cornbread mix instead of cornmeal, and they turned out light and fluffy. I think more sausage is needed (I used chorizo) to give the muffin more oompf. My 7 year old daughter didn't think they tasted good on their own, but with some jam she loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      Unfortunately my muffins were very bland. There was a little flavor from the sausage but not nearly enough. I even added salt and pepper before cooking them and it didn't help. I did think the recipe was a great idea, although it didn't taste great. They were easy to make and convenient to reheat, but I won't be making them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sausage Breakfast Muffins (OAMC)

    Serving Size: 1 (65 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 48

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 193.9
     
    Calories from Fat 108
    55%
    Total Fat 12.0 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 47.1 mg
    15%
    Sodium 429.3 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 8.5 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes