Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sausage Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sausage Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on October 26, 2003

      I really liked the flavor of this soup. The beans added an extra 'heartiness' that seemed to be lacking in the pasta versions of sausage soup. I used sweet Italian sausage and roasted garlic (left over from another recipe). Another change that I made was to sub cannellini beans for the black beans (I thought I had black in the pantry, but...?). I added a handful of baby spinach and a dash of balsamic vinegar, as well. If I would have had some zucchini, I would have added slices of that, as well. My husband loved this served with crusty bread for an easy Sunday night supper. I will be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2013

      I made this according to recipe as I adopted chef Eric Frankel for the Spring Pac 2013 game.This is really hearty, It's great as a cold weather meal. I served it with a slice of Fit for Life's "Genesis" Bread. This recipe could be tweaked according to what meat and beans you have on hand,but.... prepared as written it's 5 stars good ! Thanks for posting a healthy fiber filled soup recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      I make something very similar all winter--very hearty, very tasty! We make corn bread and serve this in deep bowls over the bread for a great taste combination and to soak up the broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      This is from Taste of Home magazine. I make it with 1/2 lb. of turkey sausage. It doesn't make a lot of broth, so if you like more liquidy soups, you may want to increase the broth or tomatoes. A very good and easy recipe. Especially good with Italian Grilled Cheese Sandwiches which is pictured with it in the magazine. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      This was very good. I did add a bay leaf, some worcestershire sauce, thyme, & oregano, oh and a dash of hotsauce. I think pasta would be a nice addition also. It is very quick and versatile, a good recipe to build on. Thanks for the posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2006

      I was about to post this, since I have been making it for years, from one of the magazines - no longer remember which. I have tweaked it a tad, to use the entire pound of Italian sausage, and cannelloni beans instead of butter beans. While the recipe says "simmer for 10 minutes", I have found if you can just leave on VERY low simmer for an hour or more, all the flavors intensify - and I have not found it to be too thick. This and a grilled cheese sandwich make a filling and satisfying "supper" on a frosty winter night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2006

      Easy, tasty and very filling. Perfect for a cold winter's night with some crusty bread and a glass of red wine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2005

      I removed the casings from the sweet Italian sausage and cooked, crumbled it like hamburger meat. Delicious and came together fast for dinner in less than one hour. Hubby loved it. Served with toasted whole grain English muffins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2005

      I will make this soup again, primarily because it's low in fat and calories in spite of the sausage. I agree with the other reviewer; I needed to add a few things. In my case it was some onions & peppers (cooked with the sausage and garlic), some salt & pepper, and some extra broth. It was way too thick with just the one can of broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2005

      I think this soup is wonderfully tasty. I started to put this in the computer but noticed it was already in. It's a great soup. I know you will like it if you try it. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2004

      This was easy to make, but I think would benefit greatly from the addition of some salt and pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2004

      This recipe is super easy to make. I made this last week and enjoyed it very much. The only change was instead of butter beans (which I love and did not have), I added Romano beans. Still wonderful! Thanks for a recipe I will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sausage Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (334 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 539.7
     
    Calories from Fat 264
    48%
    Total Fat 29.3 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 10.2 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 67.9 mg
    22%
    Sodium 1958.5 mg
    81%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.3 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 12.4 g
    49%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    18%
    Protein 28.1 g
    56%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes