Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sausage Balls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sausage Balls

    Average Rating:

    158 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 158

    Sort by:

    • on November 09, 2011

      Been making these for 25 years. TIP:To avoid being too dry make sure all ingredients are at room temperature and mix sausage and biscuit mix first then add the cheese. I serve 2 different dipping sauces for everyone to choose from: #1: 1/2C peach or apricot preserves mixed with 1/2C Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce.
      #2: 1 (8 ounce) can jellied cranberry sauce, 3/4 cup chili sauce, 1 tablespoon brown sugar, 1 1/2 teaspoons lemon juice heated over medium heat til all is blended. Yummmmmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2002

      Wonderful and easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      These were super but I had some problems with mine being so dry they wouldn't stick together... I was going to add more cheese but added some cranberry jelly instead. They were delicious and people kept asking about the secret ingredient! I'll plan to add the jelly next time! (I used probably 2 tbsp of jelly) Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2003

      I have made these many times. I usually use Jimmy Dean Hot sausage and only about 1 to 1 1/2 cups bisquik. They turn out great and are always a crowd pleaser. I also make a mustard dip for them. I use dijon mustard, some vinegar, some sugar and an egg yolk. Mix in a sausepan for a few minutes until well blended and sugar is dissolved. Tastes great with the sausage balls!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      This is a recipe my inlaws make quite a bit. The only difference is that they use only 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese and add 1/4 cup of water to the mix. They are tasty! I have recently used hot sausage and the sage sausage. Both worked out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      EXCELLENT! Quick, easy, and perfect! I grew up eating sausage balls, but my Mom always browned and drained the sausage, and added a little water to the mix to get the right consistency. I will NEVER make them that way again! Letting the meat and cheese come to room temp. is the real key, so that the cook through and become melty and gooey before the bisquick burns. The sausage grease, no matter how unhealthy...LOL...becomes the binder and flavoring for the breading. Just the perfect little bite! I made them for a Fall get-together with some people from church, and no one knew what they were. I guess it REALLY is a Southern thing! Anyway, they were a HUGE hit, and even my 7 YO DS who doesn't care for sausage anymore asked if he could have leftovers for breakfast! Thanks for posting the PERFECT recipe for a REAL TREAT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      I had half a pound of spicy pork sausage and didn't know what to do with it until I found this today. Very quick and easy to make, and everything I had on hand. My sausage balls turned out a little dry, so maybe I'll use less Bisquick next time, but overall, it was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2011

      Jelly was a genius idea! These are great as is but if you don't know by now, sugar or any sweetener is the secret ingredient to almost all recipes. Good restaurants have known this for ages. This is what makes the dishes addicting. I even put a little Agave syrup in my albondigas and it makes a world of difference. It is not enough to be noticeable but enhances the flavors exponentially.
      For my recipe apricot or peach preserves seem to work well too. Thanks for this unusual and versatile recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      I've made these several times now and am actually making 2 batches today. We love this recipe. There is just enough of everything. Other recipes we've tried have had way too much Bisquick. The cooking time is perfect. I didn't have to put them back in the oven, like I've had to with other recipes. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      We make this recipe quite often. We add 1 Tbsp of parsley (believe it or not, it actually does add some flavor) and a splash of milk just to moisten it up a bit. When I make them for family get togethers, they aren't even off the pan before my sister and father are grabbing them and popping them in their mouths! Usually, I have to make 2 or 3 batches just to have 1-1 1/2 batches to eat at the get together! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      Turned out nice but the 2 cups of Bisquick was way too much. Everyone enjoyed them. Made with spicy sausage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2011

      In the past I have made similar recipes with lukewarm results. This time I followed the instructions
      EXACTLY as written. They were excellent.
      I believe the "secret trick" is allowing the cheese and sausage to achieve room temperature before mixing the ingredients together.
      Perfect as Is, if the directions are followed.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      After reading all the reviews and suggestions, I followed the recipe, doubling it, using one package each of Jimmy Dean Hot & Jimmy Dean Original sausage. WOW! These are delicious! I sealed them in vacuum sealed bags and froze them to use for an upcoming party. Can't wait. I'll make the recommended sauce the night before.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Good, but a little bland and doughy. I will try this again using a bit less bisquick and maybe trying some spicy sausage! My husband thought they were great as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      This recipe was yummy. Also tried the suggested Versatile Mustard Dip. Had them at a party at my home, and was happy with the way they turned out. Thank you. Added a bit of garlic and a sprinkle ot cayenne pepper for extra zing. Also used turkey sausage. Very delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2006

      Great recipe!! I've made them several times & get raves every time. Be sure NOT to cook the sausage before mixing it in (I've had others do that with this recipe). I put them in a crock pot on low to keep them warm (if they last that long).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2012

      These are always a hit at potlucks! Really easy to prepare, too. Thank you! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2011

      We really didn't care much for these appetizers. Maybe they would have been better for us used in some kind of dish, but as an appetizer on their own dipped in the mustard they were just too plain we felt. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      I am making these as I write.. lol.. I used Jimmy Dean Hot Sausage, American Chedder Blend, Bisquick and added a few Green Chilies... So we will see how they turn out... I have had these before and loved them. They are not hard to make and I found it easier to use my hands to mix everything together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2014

      Had unexpected company coming & needed something fast & good. These hit both spots, so easy to put together & were enjoyed by all. Great flavors. I also served with your suggested Mustard Dip - everyone thought I'd really worked hard at getting it together... Thanks for posting a recipe that really came through

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sausage Balls

    Serving Size: 1 (24 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 40

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 82.2
     
    Calories from Fat 49
    59%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 15.8 mg
    5%
    Sodium 166.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.1 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    3%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites