22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yum!! Eating this dish brought back memories of meals I used to have with my German grandmother when I was young. The apple juice added just the right touch of sweetness. I made this as written except that I omitted the brown sugar. My husband doesn't like things too sweet, so leaving out the sugar worked perfectly. Also, I used turkey smoked sausage. This goes together very quickly and easily with very little effort. I served this with roasted carrots and a nice mug of cold beer...heaven!! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe...it is definitely a keeper!! *Made for ZWT6 Xtra Hot Dishes*

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill June 02, 2010

Not a huge fan of sauerkraut, but actually crave it on occasion, since I am from German decent. LoL! I liked this very much. I had a couple of sad looking apples in the fridge, so added them to the kraut. I also didn't use the suggested sausage and subbed with smoked pork chops. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama October 28, 2013

My husband asked me for weeks to find a recipe for this, though I don't like it and I can honestly say I didn't even try it when I made it. But he loved it! My mom liked it too, and she has tried a lot of different recipes for it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brandy2209 February 09, 2013

So easy and so yummy. It does take an hour, but it's pretty easy - most of the time is just waiting. This recipe is definitely a keeper for me :)

Oh, like another reviewer said, I skipped the brown sugar because I know my hubby doesn't like his food too sweet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alohanoa November 07, 2011

What a difference from the typical sauerkraut right from the can! You are right, this method of preparation certainly does deliver a much different result than your heated, canned kraut. We enjoyed this. Made exactly as directed. Next time, maybe sub applesauce like The_Mick said and increase the salt a wee bit, but other than that super duper easy and delish. Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT 6 and the No Nonsense Nibblers, summer 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoriInIndiana June 01, 2010

Can't say enough good things about this. Wonderful!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RockStarMommy March 14, 2010

This was a hit at a large two-big-tables family Thanksgiving Dinner. I left out the onions, subbed applesauce for the juice or cider, and first cooked fresh, mild, Polish kielbasa (the "real" stuff), but otherwise followed the recipe and the flavors and sweetness were excellent. I scaled the recipe up 50% larger and used 3 lbs each of kielbasa and sauerkraut and none was left over. And this was a table full of people used to Polish and German cooking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The_Mick November 27, 2009

I'm not much of a fan of sauerkrauts having tried it from a Hungarian lady but this with the hotdogs and served warm's just delicious! It doesn't taste pickled anymore after adding enough sweetness to it and neither was it sweet. Thank you for sharing this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pneuma June 18, 2008

Sauerkraut is one of my favorite meals and this recipe is a quick and easy dinner. I have never used onion in my sauerkraut before, but followed this recipe as written. I also added a little Mrs. Dash's Extra Spicy seasoning. I couldn't even tell the onion was in the sauerkraut. I really liked the smoked sausage and the sauerkraut was delightful. I didn't find it to be too sweet at all. Thanks for another keeper, Sue. Made for ZWT4 Holiday Cuisine Challenge.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 June 16, 2008
Sausage and Sauerkraut Pot