Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sausage and Sauerkraut Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sausage and Sauerkraut Pot

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on June 02, 2010

      Yum!! Eating this dish brought back memories of meals I used to have with my German grandmother when I was young. The apple juice added just the right touch of sweetness. I made this as written except that I omitted the brown sugar. My husband doesn't like things too sweet, so leaving out the sugar worked perfectly. Also, I used turkey smoked sausage. This goes together very quickly and easily with very little effort. I served this with roasted carrots and a nice mug of cold beer...heaven!! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe...it is definitely a keeper!! *Made for ZWT6 Xtra Hot Dishes*

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2013

      Not a huge fan of sauerkraut, but actually crave it on occasion, since I am from German decent. LoL! I liked this very much. I had a couple of sad looking apples in the fridge, so added them to the kraut. I also didn't use the suggested sausage and subbed with smoked pork chops. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2013

    • on February 09, 2013

      My husband asked me for weeks to find a recipe for this, though I don't like it and I can honestly say I didn't even try it when I made it. But he loved it! My mom liked it too, and she has tried a lot of different recipes for it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      So easy and so yummy. It does take an hour, but it's pretty easy - most of the time is just waiting. This recipe is definitely a keeper for me :)

      Oh, like another reviewer said, I skipped the brown sugar because I know my hubby doesn't like his food too sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      What a difference from the typical sauerkraut right from the can! You are right, this method of preparation certainly does deliver a much different result than your heated, canned kraut. We enjoyed this. Made exactly as directed. Next time, maybe sub applesauce like The_Mick said and increase the salt a wee bit, but other than that super duper easy and delish. Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT 6 and the No Nonsense Nibblers, summer 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      Can't say enough good things about this. Wonderful!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      This was a hit at a large two-big-tables family Thanksgiving Dinner. I left out the onions, subbed applesauce for the juice or cider, and first cooked fresh, mild, Polish kielbasa (the "real" stuff), but otherwise followed the recipe and the flavors and sweetness were excellent. I scaled the recipe up 50% larger and used 3 lbs each of kielbasa and sauerkraut and none was left over. And this was a table full of people used to Polish and German cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      I'm not much of a fan of sauerkrauts having tried it from a Hungarian lady but this with the hotdogs and served warm's just delicious! It doesn't taste pickled anymore after adding enough sweetness to it and neither was it sweet. Thank you for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      Sauerkraut is one of my favorite meals and this recipe is a quick and easy dinner. I have never used onion in my sauerkraut before, but followed this recipe as written. I also added a little Mrs. Dash's Extra Spicy seasoning. I couldn't even tell the onion was in the sauerkraut. I really liked the smoked sausage and the sauerkraut was delightful. I didn't find it to be too sweet at all. Thanks for another keeper, Sue. Made for ZWT4 Holiday Cuisine Challenge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      This was a nice one pot meal that I served with mashed potatoes. My onion was rather large so I used only one and skinless Eckrich Smoke Sausage. Really liked the flavor of the smoked sausage after simmering in the sauerkraut and the caraway seeds added a nice flavor. For us the sauerkraut was to sweet and next time I would use apple cider, not rinse the sauerkraut, and omit the brown sugar. Made and reviewed for ZWT 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      I wanted to make sauerkraut and sausage one more time before leaving Germany on the World Tour and I am very glad I chose this recipe. It is really delicious, with the right proportions of everything. I really enjoyed the addition of caraway for authentic flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      Wonderful! I used Sauerkraut With Bacon, Potato and Caraway that I made last night and then added the apple juice and onions, as posted in THIS recipe! My sausages were chilled Bockwurst and this made a delightful meal for one today! There was no need to add extra caraway seeds, and I decided NOT to add the brown sugar as my apple juice was sweet enough! Thanks. Made for ZWT 4 - FT :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      We have made this twice now in two weeks! As suggested by another person, I did not rinse and drain the kraut...and we loved the sweet/sour combination. What a great recipe and so easy. Perfect for a quick tasty meal. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2005

      Very, Very good. I made this recipe as stated but cut the recipe in half & used 1 cup of apple cider very tasty not to sweet. Also I did not rinse or drain the sauerkraut as we like the flavor. Thank you for a tasty, easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2005

      Very good, lots of flavor! Even the kids liked the kraut. We'll definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2005

      I bought smoked sausage from my local meat market. They have their own "smokehaus" and it is delicious in this recipe! I made this last weekend for my family. My son and his wife both said this is a five star recipe! I made the recipe exactly as written, except I doubled it and I forgot to rinse the first 2 lbs of kraut, but I did the second 2 pounds. I served it with mounds of mashed potatoes, bread & butter and apple sauce. We ate until we were ready to burst! My son took the recipe home with him and he said to say thanks for a great sauerkraut recipe. I will most definitely make this again. Thanks Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2005

      This was really great!! DH says its a shame we can only give it 5 stars. We really like sauerkraut juicy so we didn't rinse or drain it, and used 1 1/2 cups of the apple juice as Domestic Goddess suggested above. We will definately be having this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2004

      "This was sooo good"!!! This is my 2nd time in preparing this dish. The 1st time I made it, I followed the instructions exactly. The 2nd time I made it, I cooked the onions in 2 Tbsp. of butter, 'cause I used rather large sized onions. I didn't rinse or drain the sauerkraut, 'cause our family loves that salty, sour taste sauerkraut has. The juice from the 2 lb. pkg. of sauerkraut equaled exactly 1-1/2 cups, so I also added 1-1/2 cups of the apple juice, as well as, 2 Tbsp. of brown sugar; to help give it that sweet 'n sour kind of taste. I did not add any salt to this recipe. This was a good meal to have on Father's Day. My daughter 'Beet' and her husband liked it as much as we do. Thank-you for this wonderful recipe, Sue L. "It's now our family favorite"!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2004

      This is really good!! I have made this twice. The first time I made it, I thought it was a little on the sweet side so when I made it again, I cut down on the brown sugar and it was just right. It was easy to make. I used sauerkraut that comes in a cello bag that you get in the refrigerated section of the grocery store. This will definetly be made often for lunch or dinner. It is good for either meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sausage and Sauerkraut Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (427 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 845.3
     
    Calories from Fat 621
    73%
    Total Fat 69.0 g
    106%
    Saturated Fat 22.1 g
    110%
    Cholesterol 138.7 mg
    46%
    Sodium 3730.1 mg
    155%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 7.8 g
    31%
    Sugars 17.8 g
    71%
    Protein 30.1 g
    60%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes