Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sausage and Sauerkraut Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sausage and Sauerkraut

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on March 07, 2003

      My husband who is not the biggest fan of sauerkraut REALLY loved this!!!! I used Gwaltney brand smoked Polish sausage and McIntosh apple sauce....the caraway seeds gave this a wonderful flavor....Thanks for a delicious (and easy) recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2002

      Loved the combination of apple, caraway & onion with the sausage. I cut the recipe back so only cooked for 1 1/2 hours, used a special spicy bratwurst that our Dutch butcher makes and a transparent apple - Absolutely great flavor This will be a regular here Thanks papergoddess

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      We really liked this. I have tried to throw together variations on the sauerkraut/smoked sausage mixture, which have all been ok, but this really hit the spot. My husband had two helpings, a rarity at our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      What an easy, delicious dish! It tastes so close to my grandmother's own sauerkraut, I couldn't believe it! I did add 2 teaspoons of brown sugar to this recipe because I really like sweet kraut. The only other thing I'd recommend would be to grease or spray the bottom of the baking pan. I can't wait to try this on my Austrian friend who also misses Grandma's cooking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      I made this as a last minute "extra" for our family's German Christmas party and it was a huge hit - not even close to any leftovers. I assembled this the night before (in no time at all) and used smoked German-style sausages and sliced them into thick diagonal slices. It was definitely sweeter than I expected, but not too much, just perfect. It was also wonderfully moist. Will definitely be making this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      Oh! papergoddess, this is wonderful, wonderful. Here in Maryland we have really good sausage, and 'kraut. I used your recipe to turn this into a dish that warmed our stomach's as well as our soul. Didn't change a thing, and agree completely with the low addition of onion. Applesauce? Who knew? Thanks, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2005

      Great flavour and a nice easy dinner to prepare. I had to add a little water as I found it to dry out slightly. As suggested it would be an excellent picnic dish served on bread rolls. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2004

      This recipe was terrific. I added some fresh cabbage and used kielbasa. The flavor was exceptional. Thank you for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sausage and Sauerkraut

    Serving Size: 1 (357 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 996.0
     
    Calories from Fat 655
    65%
    Total Fat 72.8 g
    112%
    Saturated Fat 25.8 g
    129%
    Cholesterol 154.7 mg
    51%
    Sodium 4909.8 mg
    204%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 7.2 g
    29%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    19%
    Protein 53.3 g
    106%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites