Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sausage and Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sausage and Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 24, 2010

      Tasty and easy to make. It's a very rich and thick soup. DH thought it was sausage gravy when he first saw it. (we like thick soup!) made as directed, but I did add some celery seed (a must have in potato soup) Looking forward to left overs tomorrow night!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Enjoyed this soup so much. Super easy to make with ingredients I always have in the pantry/fridge. I used low-fat versions of the creamed soup and it still had great flavor and texture. I loved the little bite of heat from the hot sausage. I made the full amount and my family of six pretty much nailed it. Very filling and comforting on a bitter cold day. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      Me and my family absolutely LOVED this soup. It is easy to make and it is a great thick and hearty soup for the winter. Easy to make with 0 leftovers. Thank you so much for sharing such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      This is one of the BEST potato soups I have had. I cut everything in half but the potatoes, as we like a lot of potatoes. Delish! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      Wonderful soup! So easy. I didn't have any hot sausage just the regular jimmy dean. Very tasy and will make again! Family really enjoyed. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2007

      Loved this soup. As did my coworkers. Threw this together in my crockpot in the morning, took it to work and by noon it was ready. I did drain and rinse the sausage after frying to remove some fat and (possibly) some of the 'heat' with spices. I've not used Jimmy Dean Hot sausage before and it's hard to gauge what 'hot' might be. Only one coworker said she couldn't eat it because of the spices and she admitted she rarely salt & peppers her food. All the others felt it had good flavor and addition of vegtables (carrots) would be good as well. I might use 'light' soups next time to take additional calories/salt out of the finished product. Definately a keeper. Thank-you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      We really enjoyed this soup. It was simple to make and fast too. I used exact ingredients called for, but substitued yukon gold peeled and cubed potatoes for the southern hash browns (cubed and peeled frozen potatoes). The yukons worked fine and cooked in the stated time for the frozen potatoes. I do like my food with some more zip and spice than my kids and husband but we all gobbled it up and loved it exactly the way it turned out. Not too spicey, not too bland..even for my 20 month old. Thanks for the recipe! I will definately be adding this recipe to my tried and true cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2006

      Okay, I goofed on this and accidentally bought shredded hash browns, but went ahead and made it, and while the texture is probably much better with southern style, it was still tasty! I used Italian sweet sausage since the kids don't like heat. My DH had the leftovers the next day and said it was even better the second day!! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2006

      This recipe has got to be one of the best soups I have ever made. I followed the instructions exactly--would not change a thing. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2005

      Two thumbs way up for this soup! I made this in no time, and the only thing I might do different next time, is use about half of the hot sausage, DH and I thought it was plenty hot, but that didn't stop us from eating two bowls of this hardy, yummy soup. This is definately a keeper! Thanks Bobtail for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2005

      This is wonderful soup !! Tastes like homemade ! It was thick and hardy with just the right heat from the hot sausage ! I loved it and will be making this over and over again ! A great fall and winter soup !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2005

      This was a very good tasty soup. Quick and easy too. My husband thought I should use all hot sausage next time. Thanks Bobtail

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2004

      Delicious soup recipe that came together very quickly. I used two packages of mild sausage since that was what I had on hand. I can't wait to try this again using the hot sausage. Served with cornbread, this was a wonderful meal for a cool fall night. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sausage and Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (4397 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 311.0
     
    Calories from Fat 189
    60%
    Total Fat 21.0 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 47.0 mg
    15%
    Sodium 1095.1 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 12.1 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites