Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sausage and Lentil Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sausage and Lentil Soup

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2009

      I brought home a cup of the soup from Carrabbas to look over while eating and noticed that it had bacon in it, so I diced, cooked, drained and added a package of smoked bacon. I omitted extra salt and red pepper flakes because I used hot sausage and 1.5 cartons of chicken broth with salt and figured everyone could adjust theirs to taste. Everyone loved it! Also, I threw everything into the crockpot and let it cook on low for about 4 hours rather than cooking it on the stove top (I did brown and drain the sausage and bacon.) Will make this again and again, especially in the cold months.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      AWESOME! My husband liked it so much he's talking about bringing the recipe to work to give to the guys to take home to their wives (he works on a construction site) AND sending a copy to his mother! We love the Carabba's version, and this is very close. I used chicken sausage, because that is what I had in the freezer, but other than that, followed the recipe exactly. This one is definitely going to be a regular at our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2012

      Yummy! The only changes I made were to NOT puree part of the soup (I liked the texture the way it was; use sweet sausage instead of hot, and to double the chili flakes, oregano, thyme, and fennel seed. I just love it, and will definitely make it again. It's just a bit spicy, and the fennel seed really makes this taste like Italian sausage. A chunk of crusty bread on the side would make this a perfect dinner for a cool night.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2006

      Loved it! Our kids like lentil dishes a lot. There was one lentil soup that I made at "assemble fresh, vacuum pack, take & make-at-home" place. Many things were good from there, but that soup was fabulous. This recipe looked to be the closest to what we had. So I tried it with minor variation, which turned out just as nicely as we expected. It ends up to be a lot of soup, so I did the first 2 steps; split up the sauteed items into two; and continued with the rest with 1/2 portion of the recipe -- which was plenty for a family of 4. The saved (step1&2) veggie/sausage can be used within few days later or frozen. The Italian sausage was the key for us (to enhance flavor), so I got sausage from specialty store. Hot or sweet would do that job. Since chicken broth may be high on sodium, try low sodium or home made. I added more tomatoes, with its juice, too; since lentil eventually made the soup really thick. The other soup called for bulgar wheat, with less lentil, which gave the soup a bit different texture. It's a nice healthy addition, so I added 1/3 cup bulgar wheat as well. Keep watching the soup thickness and add water or chicken broth accordingly. Thank you for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2013

      This was soooo good. Loved it. Made half a recipe and only have a little leftover. Served with foccacia bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      Oh my happy tastebuds! I couldn't have been more pleased with this soup. I love soup; I love sausage and lentil soup, and this is my favorite sausage and lentil soup recipe so far.
      It makes plenty, and the leftovers reheat very well.
      I absolutely will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2012

      I made this recipe on 10/14/12 for the " Fall Colors " Event in the Food Photo Forum and most importantly mine and my SO's dinner. Due to what was on hand a few changes were made to the recipe, I used a bean soup mix that contained pinto beans ( because of the pinto beans, the soup had to cook a bit longer).And since I'm a big whimp when it comes to heat ,so mild instead of hot sausage was used.And 2 14.5 ounce cans of diced tomatoes were used instead of the 28 ounce can ,1 contained basil,garlic, and oregano and the other had green peppers & onion. I didn't have fennel seeds,so the same amount of powdered fennel was used. I've never had Carraba's Soup,but I don't see how it could be better than this. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      This soup was so good! I used some homemade Italian turkey sausage in this, so it was a bit healthier. I also used split red lentils because it's what I had, but otherwise this soup is perfect as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2010

      This is FABuolus! I halved the recipe and there was plenty for 4 hearty appetites. I did add more liquid cuz this is a thick soup. I omitted the fennel, since my hot Italian sausage contains fennel. I blended several ladles of the soup not 1/3. Terrific recipe Tammy Dalton, thanks a bunch for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      This soup was awesome! Since I was also feeding my 2yo, I used a smoked sausage and cut back on the red pepper. It was very filling and delicious. Will definitely be on my winter rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2010

      Love this soup--I make it once a month in the winter. Good for company with a nice loaf of fresh bread and salad. It seems just like Carrabbas to me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      Cooked and added the sausage separately so the vegetarians could eat too. Everyone loved it. Perfect balance of flavors, just the right amount of seasonings and BAM! the senses delight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      Outstanding soup! I made 1/2 recipe for my husband and I and it turned out great. Since I used the hot Italian sausage, I didn't add the pepper flakes for extra spice. Just a dash of salt and pepper were the only other spices I used. This is a meal in itself along with garlic bread! There is enough left over for 1 more bowl...only problem is who will get it ! Thanks for a super soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      WONDERFUL FLAVOR! Enjoyed it at Carrabba's last night and came right home and started searching for the recipe! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      Great Soup! I used kielbasa instead of hot Italian sausage and I cooked this in the crockpot. Otherwise, I made exactly per the recipe. It was very good! We all really enjoyed it. I will be making the again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2007

      This soup is delicious! It is pretty spicy, even without the crushed red pepper flakes. If you don't care for really spicy things, I would recommend leaving the red pepper flakes out until you taste test the soup. I have made this several times, and people rave about it - have shared this recipe with several others. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      This has made it to my top ten soup recipes list after only one outing. This is high praise as I adore soups (I swear I could live on them). The texture created by putting some of the finished product into a food processor while leaving some with whole pieces is just terrific. I used low fat sausages which weren't Italian but even without that Italian flavouring the soup tasted awesome. I got 8 decent servings out of the amount suggested. Although it's quite a large amount for someone who lives alone at present the finished product freezes well so I thought it was worth making the whole amount (I have lots of yummy lunches to come over the next few weeks). Thanks for posting this healthy, yummy, freezable soup Tammy...it's a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sausage and Lentil Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (391 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 451.6
     
    Calories from Fat 174
    38%
    Total Fat 19.3 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 32.3 mg
    10%
    Sodium 1745.4 mg
    72%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.4 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 16.7 g
    67%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    24%
    Protein 29.4 g
    58%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites