14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a wonderful recipe. I even mixed all the ingredients together in a bowl, and then transfered it to a crock pot. Cooked on High for 4 hours, and it turned out perfectly. Next time I plan to cut the sausage in half, use Healthy request soup, and the lite cheese.

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doing it Right December 19, 2002

This was easy to make. I did not change anything on your recipe. But I did put it into a 9x13-inch cake pan. I don't think it would of fit into a 3 quart dish. I sprinkled the remaining cheese on top during that last 10-15 minutes of baking. Thanks this was great!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J December 13, 2002

You are right , totally artery clogging !!! Totally GOOD too !! I left the sausage out and just used this like a side dish and it was GREAT!! Next time I will try it with the sausage . It will be a great addition to a brunch!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa P January 18, 2003

I made this for brunch Saturday. The hubby went crazy over it. Between it and NurseDI"s Orange Pumpkin Bread, we stayed stuffed all day and evening! We might have to look into joining Weight Watchers If we keep this up!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dianne03 December 10, 2002

W really didn't like this. It was really bad for you and the flavor was not good. I followed the directions exactly. I would never make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeffdeaney May 06, 2008

I made this for my Sunday School class and it is a keeper! I used the Ore-Ida Potatoes O'Brien with Onions & Peppers as others had suggested for ease in preparing. I also used "hot" sausage. Thanks for a super recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissDenise73 December 03, 2006

This is the same recipe my boyfriend and his buddies at work like me to make. The only substitution I make is the peppers. I usually throw in a small jar of pimento instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CURLEYBERLEY April 20, 2005

I made this for brunch on Sunday, and everyone enjoyed it. I used Orida's Potatoes O'Brian, as suggested by another reviewer. Next time I will be sure to defrost the potatoes, though. I may also add in some additional bell peppers. Thanks for a tasty keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BecR April 12, 2005

I will definitely make this again! I used the crockpot, cooking on low overnight so it was ready for breakfast in the morning. I substitute onion powder for the onion and used half-fat soup. Good recipe, not enough spice for my taste. I added some fresh chopped tomatoes and some tabasco to the leftovers, which re-heated just fine. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CheezCrazy December 13, 2004

I took the advice of another reviewer and cooked this in the crockpot on high for about 3.5 hours. It was very good! I used only 1 pound of sausage and didn't use red peppers. I did think the onions overpowered this dish somewhat. I even browned them with the sausage so they'd be a little sweeter. But that opinion may be just be based on my personal tastes because other reviewers didn't indicate the same. I'll probably used onion powder next time. Thanks for a great recipe nonetheless!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HappyMommy1422 November 15, 2004
Sausage and Hash Browns Bake