Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sausage and Grits Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sausage and Grits Casserole

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on June 16, 2013

      Made a delicious and hearty breakfast with scrambled eggs, biscuits, strawberry freezer jam, and fruit. I love grits, and this is a great recipe. Didn't read the recipe and ended up stirring in the parsley and paprika. Good, but next time I will garnish correctly. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      This was okay. I usually love Paula's recipes. I thought this was a little bland though it was better the next day reheated. I would use spicy breakfast sausage next time. I prefer having grits and sausage separate, but this may be just what you a looking for. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      We love this. It is certainly comfort food for a cold winter night. We always buy stone ground grits when we get a chance and they really make this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      Tagged this recipe for the Easter Egg Hunt 2009. It was a nice change from regular cheese grits casserole. Served with Hopel-Popel. And both were really enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      VERY rich! I made a couple of changes...one I used 1 can of green chilies and 1 roasted jalapeno for a little heat. The sausage I used was Jimmy Dean's Sage sausage. Times were perfect! Next time I'm going to try it...using only 1/4 cup butter and 1 cup of cheese...hoping to cut down on the fat just a little. Thank you Mercy and Thank you Paula Deen!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      I have made this recipe several times for work "goody days" - it's always the first thing gone!! I usually make it the night before - then get up in the morning and bake it - it's ALWAYS a hit!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2008

      I liked this alot, DH didn't much care for it. I made exactly as posted, only halved it. I was concerned that it would be dry after baking for 1 hour, but I was wrong, it was very moist and very good! Thanks Mercy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      I used a can of Ro-Tel tomatoes instead of the green chilies and used Provolone cheese since that's what I had, but it still turned out really good. I think I like it better the next day, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      Ive made this many times before. I add a can of Ro-tel instead of the chiles. Too good to pass up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2006

      I always cook rice and grits in chicken broth -- a little more hearty. Did not have breakfast sausage, so used chicken sausage with spinach. Took a little longer to prepare, but was very tasty, even without the Tabasco. Made entire recipe, will serve the 2 of us for 2 more sides. Forgot I had done this before --but just repeated, with bulk Italian sausage, and it is true - FAT tastes GOOD !! DH and I ate almost half -- so will STILL have another meal for the weekend. MY vocabulary DOES have one syllable words ! Had to reduce heat for the last 15 minutes, because the top was scorching. A very versatile and forgiving recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2006

      My DH and I both loved this recipe. Great flavor and very easy to make. I never knew that grits could be so versitle. I always ate them with just butter and sugar. Thanks for expanding my horizons...and our wastelines :) LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2005

      LOVED IT! my husband is a South Carolina boy and he thought it was excellent. i halved it because its just the two of us, but if cooking for a crowd... i would make the whole thing. THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2005

      This is a great recipe. I made it at Christmas and forgot to add it to my cookbook so had to go looking again for Easter. I used Spice Jimmy Dean Sausage so it definitely had a kick - but Hey y'all this is South Texas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sausage and Grits Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (248 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 695.2
     
    Calories from Fat 462
    66%
    Total Fat 51.4 g
    79%
    Saturated Fat 25.1 g
    125%
    Cholesterol 214.2 mg
    71%
    Sodium 942.6 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 29.8 g
    59%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites