Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sausage and Apple Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sausage and Apple Stuffed Acorn Squash

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on September 18, 2012

      Made this last night and both my husband and I thought that the flavors were absolutely wonderful. The sausage paired with the apple and herbs blended really well and made for a filling and tasty main dish. I did change it a bit from the main recipe to give a little bit more flavor, instead of parsley we used fresh rosemary and thyme from our garden. I also added chopped carrot to the vegetables which gave it nice texture and flavor. I also only cooked the acorn squash for 45 minutes the first time and a full 20 minutes the last time with the stuffing. The squash was perfectly done- not overcooked. The only thing that we might change is that it was not as moist as we would like (we like our stuffing more dense and moist than dry) but other than that, a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2010

      This recipe is a winner! I'm notorious for changing things up a bit, so instead of parsley I added some rosemary and thyme. I also added some slivered almonds that I had leftover from another recipe, which added a nice extra layer of texture, and put some swiss cheese on top. Worked so well with this recipe! Thank you, I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      Really nice, balanced recipe - subtly sweet, reflecting nicely the squash. We used some fantastic, spicy farmer's market chorizo, farro (soaked, not cooked) in place of the bread crumbs, and a duck egg instead of a chicken egg. The chorizo probably made the dish and the farro was a sweet/nutty/chewy addition (wild rice would also make a nice substitution). Without the chorizo it might have been under-spiced. We were able to stuff three squash with the filling we made.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2010

      Yum! I veganized it by using Gimme Lean Sausage & egg replacer. Very yummy and healthy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      This dish is so good it is ridiculous! And just as good for leftovers too. I am sooo very glad I stumbled upon it. Thank you for posting! UPDATE - Instead of pork sausage I used Turkey Breakfast Sausage Patties instead and topped it with a round slice of provolone. Healthier and just as tasty!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      I thought this was just wonderful. Instead of the sage and garlic salt I coated the raw squash with a little butter, molasses and brown sugar after poking lots of hole in the squash so the flavor would soak in. It gave the dish a sweet rich flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2013

      I tweaked this kind of a lot for my husband's and my tastes, and actually ended up posting my version Sausage, Pecan and Apple Stuffed Acorn Squash with credit to Kaarin, of course! Thanks so much for a really amazing recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2013

      Apparently I am the only one who does it this way but my sausage is home ground and very, very lean! I just mix up all the stuffing without any sauteing or browning and mound it in the cut squash. It bakes in about an hour and the juices bake right into the squash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2013

      What a delicious recipe! My husband and young children also loved it. I didn't have mushrooms, but I added zucchini and minced fresh garlic. I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2013

      I made this the other night for dinner and omg this is delicious. The sage butter brushed on the squash add so much to the dish. My kids weren't sure about it at first, but warmed up to it in the end. The sausage mixture is so good. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us, its so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2013

      Wonderful recipe. I used half spicy and half regular Italian sausage, which adds a nice kick to the dish. I also added water to my dish when baking the squash. This cut down on the initial cooking time and kept the squash quite moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2012

      Filling and delicious. We baked the seeds for a healthy treat tomorrow too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2012

      I made this for dinner tonight and it was delicious. I followed the recipe with only one exception - I used fresh sage since I did not have dried. We thought it was a fantastic blend of flavors. This was the best acorn squash recipe I have ever made and will definitely be making this again. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2012

      Made it tonight using a Kuri squash, because it's what I had. Used a locally made Chicken Italian sausage, skipped the garlic and mushrooms and used apple, celery, onion, chopped pecans and dried cherries, and crushed herb Pepperidge bread stuffing mix for the crumbs. Also poked holes in the squash and used the butter, brown sugar, molasses another reviewer mentioned. Clearly this is a recipe that is very forgiving, --so easy to make it the way you want it. It was fabulous and not a lot of work. And, you can make it ahead, baking the squash and mixing the stuffing, then fill the squash when ready and bake for 30 minutes (longer if ingredients are cold). Definitely going into our winter rotation. Thanks Kaarin and reviewers whose ideas I stole!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2012

      Absolutely fantastic! I made this gltuen/dairy free by using Smart Balance in place of the butter and made bread crumbs out of a toasted gluten free roll. It was absolutely delicious. I will most definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2011

      This was great! I would love to make this for Thanksgiving or Christmas. Such simple ingredients but tasted (and looked) like it came from a fancy restaurant! Definitely will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2011

    • on October 05, 2011

      We thought this was recipe was really good. Total comfort food for a cold, rainy night. I used Italian sausage and followed the recipe all the way. I think next time I'll add some dried cranberries and pecans. Thanks for posting this delicious Fall recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2011

      Fun! I've never said that about a recipe before, but is was a fun and delicious meal. Next time I might try turkey sausage to keep the calories down. Well done Kaarin

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      DH, not an avid veggie eater, scarfed this down and asked if there was more. I used turkey breakfast sausage. Simple to make, good for you and delicious...five stars from us. It might also be fun to cut the top off of the squash like a jack-o-lantern and stuff it that way. I have another stuffed acorn squash recipe that does it this way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sausage and Apple Stuffed Acorn Squash

    Serving Size: 1 (523 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 646.1
     
    Calories from Fat 325
    50%
    Total Fat 36.1 g
    55%
    Saturated Fat 12.6 g
    63%
    Cholesterol 135.8 mg
    45%
    Sodium 981.3 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.9 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 12.7 g
    51%
    Protein 25.5 g
    51%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites