Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sauerkraut Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sauerkraut Soup

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on July 25, 2003

    • on January 06, 2012

      No stars, as I didn't really follow the recipe. I used tomato soup instead of paste. I used farmer sausage, a little cabbage too. I added more water and some dill. I found your recipe great for inspiration to use what I had on hand. It is very tasty with the sourkraut, and I think it could turn into borscht or a bean soup. I almost added a can of pork and beans, but thought I had enough in it this time round. Pork and beans and weiners instead of sausage? The ideas keep coming. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      This turned out pretty well. The sausage ended up a bit mushy, but no one seemed bothered by that except me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      So simple and so good. Left out the potatoes and cooked for 30 minutes-done. This is a great low-carb soup. I will be making this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      wow this recipe is great. I made it for our extended family Chirstmas and it was great. The Leftovers wer finished the next day and tasted just as good. Thank you for a wonderful recipe. I did roast the Polish Sausage in the oven the day before as it was on and I like to do as much ahead. When I had the soup put together I placed it in my crock pot to keep hot till serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

    • on October 27, 2009

      Love this soup. I suatee the sausage until golden brwon, and saute the inions until soft before adding the carrots and chicken broth. It enhances the flavor of the sausage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      This was very good. I found that I had to add extra broth though, the soup was way too thick for my liking. I nearly doubled the chicken broth to about 10 cups and left the remaining ingredients the same and it turned out very well. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      This was great. I followed the recipe, except for dumping a can of beer in at the end. Everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      I've never had sauerkraut soup before but found this soup to be very filling and tasty- as well very quick and easy to make. I used smoked turkey polish sausage (30% less fat) and next time I'll use regular polish sausage so that the broth is infused with the spicy sausage flavour. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2005

      I have made this recipe for years. It is very good on a winter day with some homemade bread. Add some minced garlic and a teaspoon or two of black pepper. Also rinse the kraut before adding it cuts down on the sodium content.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2004

      Very quick and simple, and full of flavour. The tomato paste makes it surprisingly thick. I used a lean smoked turkey sausage, which was unfortunately a little bland, so be sure to use a good strong spicy sausage to stand up to the rest of the soup. I found that 20 minutes cooking for each half was plenty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2004

      Friedel, we loved this. It is so hearty that I didn't need bread at all. Simon ate three bowls! It was so easy to make. I used chorizo because I couldn't get polish sausage. I just realised that I forgot to add the tomato paste, but I don't think it lacked anything at all. I am taking the rest for lunch tomorrow. Wonderful recipe, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2004

      This was very easy to fix. Vary tasty but next time I am going to use smoked hamhocks for additional smoke flavor in lieu of Polish Sausage!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sauerkraut Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (442 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 353.6
     
    Calories from Fat 157
    44%
    Total Fat 17.5 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 39.7 mg
    13%
    Sodium 1387.7 mg
    57%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.3 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    22%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 15.4 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites