66 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

WOW! I tried this tonight... made it exactly as written. Turned out even better than I hoped. I know this is going to be a new go-to recipe around here. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pismo September 16, 2009

Delicious and very filling! Impossible to screw up. I used a 12oz can of nonfat evaporated milk, non fat cream cheese and low fat polish sausage. I had never had sauerkraut before and this did not disappoint.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrew Mollmann April 03, 2009

I had hoped the other ingredients would have tamed the sour taste of the sauerkraut but that did not happen. Those who really don't like sauerkraut might wish to give this a pass.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suzytx February 13, 2009

This was really great, although I dont think it converted the non-sauerkraut lovers in my family!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Munchkin Mama January 18, 2009

We loved it. I'm Pennsylvania Dutch and this is the first we've ever tried it. Followed the recipe except used the reduced fat cream cheese and low fat skimmed evap. milk to cut the calories a bit. I think this is a keeper also!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hallchinalady January 03, 2009

We love sauerkraut soup and thought we would give this a try. Used a smoked kielbasa (Beer Barons) and were very happy with the results. Will try smoked baby back ribs the next time. Thanks for the keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MTDavids November 16, 2008

Wonderful stuff! I added 2 T of horseradish and lots of pepper. The kielbasa made this delicious. This is similar to a German Potato dish I make in the crock pot. You can "skinny" this up with 2% milk and cream of potato soup in place of cream cheese and evaporated milk. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
westtextazzy October 27, 2008

Very tasty and comforting! It was a cold, windy, rainy evening here--so this soup really helped us warm up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelly #5 October 26, 2008

I made this for a soup cookoff back in September and forgot to come back and review it. Let me just say that EVERYONE came up and asked me for this recipe! I modified the recipe by adding two 15 oz cans of white Kidney beans and i also added two of my husbands fresh grown cayenne red peppers that I picked that morning. the soup simmered in the crockpot for 6 hours after I made it on the stovetop. This soup is another 10 star winner! And oh yes, I did double the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cabosun October 22, 2008
Sauerkraut Chowder