Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sauerkraut Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sauerkraut Chowder

    Average Rating:

    66 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 66

    Sort by:

    • on October 21, 2008

      Oh my goodness! This soup was AMAZING. I can't say enough how delicious it was. I had a cookout, and just decided to 'go-for-it'. Even though I've never tried it I made a double batch of it and served it to my guests & it was a huge hit! I bought the ingredients again this week so that I could make it again, this is a new favorite of ours. We modified it to be a healthier vegetarian version by omitting the kielbasa and incorporating fat free evaporated milk, and low fat cream cheese instead of the full fat versions. It was so tasty. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      This recipe was fantastic! My husabnd who hates sauerkraut loved this! The recipe definately mellows out the longer it sits, also freezes well! Thanks a million!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      The name does not do justice to this wonderful, comfort soup!!! You don't need a cold, snowy day for this soup.....I made mine in July and the weather is a balmy 81 degrees. I just made mine, so I am having trouble believing that this could get any better the next day!!! I came across this recipe by fluke! I had made some cabbage rolls and added some sauerkraut, but had quite a bit of leftovers. I recieved a huge bunch of new potatoes from some grower friends of ours (and had gone through all the potato salad that I wanted)....so this soup was a natural conclusion. The only thing I added was a cob of corn that I had leftover and some lemon pepper. This is the type of recipe that I would make sure that I had all the ingredients on hand for when I do make it in the fall! Congrats, Jaimelee...your mother produced a winner!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      I took this recipe to the restaurant where I work, everyone loved it. Customers wanted the recipe. We did however change the name to Bavarian Soup. yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      My husband saw the recipe and swore he wouldn't like it. One bite and we were in love. It is so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      My DH just loved this soup. He himself ate the whole pot in two sittings. I added a grated carrot and some dried parsley flakes for color. Didn't seem to have enough liquid, so I added 8 oz. of chicken broth (probably didn't use enough water to cover the potatoes and onions). I know I'll be making this again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      I've had this recipe in my "to-try" cookbook for over three years. My husband makes a crockpot dish (sauerkraut layered with kielbasa, onions, potatoes) and he always makes a HUGE pot ~ way more than the two of us need. So with the leftovers, I made this soup and it was awesome ~ I ate every bite! All I did was add a little water, the milk and cream cheese to the left over ingredients, simmered one hour ~ done! I found I didn't need to add salt and pepper, but threw in about a teaspoon of red pepper flakes ~ yum, that warmed it up just right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      An excellent, delicious way to enjoy sauerkraut without the overpowering strong taste of it, yet you still get the flavor of the sauerkraut, but the chowder is VERY creamy and rich and delicious tasting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      This was great. I even got my son to eat some. You were right the kraut was not nearly as tart. So easy to. Thanks for sharing!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      This was absolutely FABULOUS!! My whole family loved eating this delicious chowder. We had a friend Polish friend over the night I made it and he raved about it all through dinner! We're vegetarian so I used Tofurkey Kielbasa which was delicious:-). I only made 3 other modifications to my personal taste. I used baby red potatoes instead of russets as I prefer their flavor, I added a 3 cloves of garlic and at the end, just before serving about 1/3 cup minced flat leaf parsley.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2007

      This is wonderful! New comfort food for my family - friends who tried it loved it as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      This soup is so yummy! My whole family gobbles it right up including my little ones. I omit the butter to save calories and add a little more liquid to make it more soupy. Overall a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      I had this soup in Poland about a year ago and have been trying to find a similar recipe. I'm so happy to find this! I like this the day after and it freezes quite well. The potatoes turn to mush, but the taste is still great. Thank you so much for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      Fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      This was very good. I took it to an office "soup day" and every one gave it 5 stars. However, I do believe it is better the first day: the flavors are sharper. But the people who don't care for sauerkraut enjoyed the mellowness more the next day

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2007

      I found this yesterday and couldn't wait to get home and try it. I didn't like it much when I tried it afterwards and was a bit disappointed. I've just had it for lunch and it is really, really good. It definately is better the next day. Thanks for the recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2006

      My son wanted a "German Christmas" so we made this soup for Christmas Eve (no meat). This is not only super-duper easy to make and difficult to ruin, it tastes spectacular! Very impressive dish for such ease! Can't wait to have the leftovers with some ham put in, tomorrow! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2006

      Great Chowder. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2006

      WOW! This is AWESOME! I love the creaminess of the cream cheese with the sauerkraut. It's nice and hearty. I was going to add the optional meat, but then decided not to (I used some beef base in the water when I started). Thanx for a fabulous chowder! I'll be making this again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2006

      Wow!!! My family adored this-thanks for posting. Am making it again this week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sauerkraut Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (438 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 356.3
     
    Calories from Fat 151
    42%
    Total Fat 16.8 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 9.5 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 55.3 mg
    18%
    Sodium 676.2 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 6.5 g
    26%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    19%
    Protein 10.0 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites