66 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe. I made it last week. My neighbors, who just happen to be German citizens living in Texas now, dropped by and ate with us. They said "Das schmeckt gut!" Translation: "That tastes good!" What more could you ask for?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmptyO March 11, 2010

Yummy and comforting! I put this in the crock-pot the night before waiting until dinner time the next evening to add the cream cheese. DH and I enjoyed this, and it made a lot, we had this for a couple meals beyond the initial dinner. Thank you for this soup!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore October 30, 2013

This was very good. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brian48195 February 09, 2013

We made this as one of the entries in our cooking club - what a disappointment. After all the good reviews, none of us liked it at all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anna101 November 05, 2012

I thought this was ok, but my family wouldn't eat it very well. I did sub cream for the evaporated milk, and would use a little less water if i made it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarlovinmom July 27, 2012

We liked this soup...better the second day. I wasn't as wowed like some other reviewers who stated this was the best soup they'd ever had. It was hearty, comforting and rich. It made a lot, so much so that I was worried what I'd do with it all if we didn't like it. We made it with the sausage. It was too thin initially, fortunately I had some leftover mashed potatoes in the fridge which I stirred in to thicken it up. Worked like a charm. If you have the same issue, stir in some instant mashed potatoes which I've used several times to thicken up chowders prior. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau November 20, 2011

Awesome ! Imade this using 2 potatoes, 3 carrots and a container of mushrooms, sliced.I used a mixture of chicken broth and water {mostly chicken broth} to cook the vegetables in. The soup was delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac November 14, 2011

I love this. I skipped the meat and the soup was fantastic. Leftovers went to work for lunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty's Kitchen November 03, 2011

I never understood why sauerkraut exists. Now I know.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bink223 November 02, 2011

Kids fought over the empty pot!!!! But Momma got to lick it clean!! Fantabulous soup....will definitely be making this again and again. Might possibly add fresh mushrooms? Thank you for such a delicious recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prayztwice October 23, 2011
Sauerkraut Chowder