Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sauerkraut Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sauerkraut Chowder

    Average Rating:

    66 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 66

    Sort by:

    • on January 05, 2011

      Oh my my my!!! This was to die for. I've had the recipe saved in my cookbook forever and finally found the right time to make it - best served on cold, rainy or snowy days indoors! :) As long as you LOVE sauerkraut and you're not too worried about the caloric intake, this recipe is for YOU! It was very thick and hearty. Me & the DH like a good thick chowder, but if you don't, you may have to add extra water or milk. Thanks Jaimelee for a fabulous recipe!! Great for us Czech/Germans, heh :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2010

      Pretty darn good! Used left over pork and sauerkraut and it was awesome, DH asked that it be added to menu wheel.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      Everyone is right to rave about this recipe. Made it with low-fat cream cheese, evaporated skim milk and turkey kielbasa (I'm *trying* to be good!) and it was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      Great soup! DH loved it and pretty much polished off the pot himself. I did add mustard as others have suggested. I'll be making this often, as per hubbys request. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      This was ridiculously easy to make and one of the best soups i've ever made. I will definitely be making this one many many more times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      This was so easy and so fulfilling. I did make one change. I always have some sort of mustard whenever I have sausage, and this was no exception. I put about 1 1/2 TBL of dijon mustard into a soup bowl, then added a couple ladles of the chowder broth. I then mixed it well, then poured it back into the big pot of chowder. By mixing the small amount of mustard into a portion of the broth, it was easier to incorporate it into the whole pot of chowder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      I made a pot for myself and I've been eating it all week! I LOVE it! I did not use kielbasa and I was little afraid it might be bland without it, but NO! I really didn't have to add much salt & pepper either. I also added 1/4 - 1/2 tsp baking soda which keeps the dairy from separating. I'm not sure if that would happen with this recipe, but it seemed like it might. Just add a green salad and maybe some good bread, and you have a fabulous meal! Thanks, I WILL make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      This is a very good, very hearty soup. I would make sure the sausage is a good smoky style sausage, or even ham would work. I was afraid the sour flavor would be off putting, but it tasted wonderful. This one goes into my cookbook, just a wonderful winter soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      This sounded so weird I had to try it and I'm glad I did! My whole family loved it!! I made it low fat by using light cream cheese, Fat Free evaporated milk and Turkey Kielbasa. I doubled everything except the Kielbasa and it was perfect for us and made a ton! I had enough to give my Mom some and she loved it too! We will be making this all winter! Thanks so much for a great new recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      This is very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      WOW! I tried this tonight... made it exactly as written. Turned out even better than I hoped. I know this is going to be a new go-to recipe around here. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      Delicious and very filling! Impossible to screw up. I used a 12oz can of nonfat evaporated milk, non fat cream cheese and low fat polish sausage. I had never had sauerkraut before and this did not disappoint.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

    • on February 13, 2009

      I had hoped the other ingredients would have tamed the sour taste of the sauerkraut but that did not happen. Those who really don't like sauerkraut might wish to give this a pass.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      This was really great, although I dont think it converted the non-sauerkraut lovers in my family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      We loved it. I'm Pennsylvania Dutch and this is the first we've ever tried it. Followed the recipe except used the reduced fat cream cheese and low fat skimmed evap. milk to cut the calories a bit. I think this is a keeper also!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      We love sauerkraut soup and thought we would give this a try. Used a smoked kielbasa (Beer Barons) and were very happy with the results. Will try smoked baby back ribs the next time. Thanks for the keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      Wonderful stuff! I added 2 T of horseradish and lots of pepper. The kielbasa made this delicious. This is similar to a German Potato dish I make in the crock pot. You can "skinny" this up with 2% milk and cream of potato soup in place of cream cheese and evaporated milk. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      Very tasty and comforting! It was a cold, windy, rainy evening here--so this soup really helped us warm up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      I made this for a soup cookoff back in September and forgot to come back and review it. Let me just say that EVERYONE came up and asked me for this recipe! I modified the recipe by adding two 15 oz cans of white Kidney beans and i also added two of my husbands fresh grown cayenne red peppers that I picked that morning. the soup simmered in the crockpot for 6 hours after I made it on the stovetop. This soup is another 10 star winner! And oh yes, I did double the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sauerkraut Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (438 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 356.3
     
    Calories from Fat 151
    42%
    Total Fat 16.8 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 9.5 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 55.3 mg
    18%
    Sodium 676.2 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 6.5 g
    26%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    19%
    Protein 10.0 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites