Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sauerkraut Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sauerkraut Casserole

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on August 12, 2002

      This recipe was great! It combines two of my favorite foods, sauerkraut and kielbasa. I used instant mashed potatoes because I was in a hurry but I think they detracted from the dish. Next time I will use garlic smashed red potatoes instead. Thanks Diana!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2002

      Thank You Diana for replying to my request for this recipe. Do not know how you did it so fast. I have sent Hubbys Uncle a copy. Now I had to try it. I must say it is supper easy and a great taste. I sliced up sausage on top. Next time I will use bulk sausage I bought enough for two recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2003

      Comfort food!! Yes!! I used smoked porkchops instead of the sausage and put them in between the patatoe/Sauerkaut layers, smeared some mustard on the chops. I nearly didn't put on the cheese but decided to and it made the dish super special. Thanks Di for a great Winter night dinner

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2003

      This was FANTASTIC! I'm not a real big saurdraut fan, so I was a little skeptical about this one. I was blown away by the flavor. I used bulk pork sausage with this one. I also forgot to rinse the saurkraut and took it straight from the can. When I took the first bite, I thought it might be too sauerkraut-ish, but as soon as I started chewing, the salty flavor of the sausage, combined with the cheese and the smooth potatos made for a wonderful combination! My sister even loved it so much, she came over for the next 2-3 days and ate up all the leftovers! lol This one's going to my files for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2003

      This has a really great flavor- I love kielbasa and cheese, and sauerkraut, and usually have mashed potatoes with, so here is a casserole that does it all. This is so easy to make, I can't say enough about it for those days when I don't feel much like cooking- just into the pan and into the oven. Great recipe, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2003

      We love all the ingredients in this recipe; tastes even better combined in this casserole! DH woke up hungry and was ready for dinner and I had the ingredients on hand: I used 1 lb keilbasa (no pork sausage), instant mashed potatoes, canned sauerkraut and fresh ground pepper, along with the cheese. Delicious! Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2003

      Made this for the work guys. They loved it. Thanks for the post! Used Monterey Jack and ran it under the broiler for a very few minutes. Nice color & taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2004

      This recipe was fantastic. I did do things a little differently. I only used 1/2 the required amount of saurkraut and used a small head of cabbage in the recipe I had in the fridge that needed to be used up. I simply cooked the shredded cabbage in the skillet with the sliced sausage in a little beer till tender then layered the dish with the potatos and cheese ending on top. We loved it, very yummy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      Very good. I used a light turkey smoked sausage/kielbasa. I also layered the kielbasa in the middle, not just on top. Comfort food at it's best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      Deeeelicious! I used a Hengstenburg Bavarian Style Sauerkraut in a jar, which isn't quite so tangy. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      My mother made this for us when we were growing up, and it was especially a hit with the teenagers. Now my teenagers and their friends all love it. We make the mashed potatoes using instant flakes and onion salt rather than regular salt. We use one large can of sauerkraut and layer it as kraut, sausage, potatoes, cheese. We have never used the kielbasa or pepper in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      This was quite tasty, but I thought the sausage dried out a bit on top. Next time I would make it more like a Shepherd's pie with double the sausage on the botton, then sauerkraut, then mashed potatoes, and top with cheese during the last 5 minutes of baking. Very quick and easy meal overall. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      I made this last night for dinner. My husband particularly enjoyed this. He loves kielbasa and sauerkraut. I got tired of making it the same way each time, so I was so excited to see this. It's a different way to eat sauerkraut. I will make this again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      I thought that this was okay, but my parents said they loved it! I love sauerkraut, this just seemed a little bit bland to me. However, I think I should have used more kielbasa. Overall, I would make it again because everyone else seemed to enjoy it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      I needed something fast and tasty and this economical meal was just that! I used kielbasa in 1/2 inch pieces and instead of mashed potatoes used store bought shredded hash browns. I put the last bit of potatoes on the very top to crisp up. Very minor changes to a great recipe. Thanks Di

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sauerkraut Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (329 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 585.2
     
    Calories from Fat 381
    65%
    Total Fat 42.4 g
    65%
    Saturated Fat 20.7 g
    103%
    Cholesterol 165.8 mg
    55%
    Sodium 1137.6 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 44.1 g
    88%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes