Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sauerkraut Bierocks Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sauerkraut Bierocks Casserole

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on December 23, 2011

      This was oh so easy to put together, but for us the Worcestershire sauce was way too strong. I'll probably use something else to replace it next time, but not sure what. Maybe try some soy sauce. I was also surprised that the bottom crescent roll was crisp. I did sprinkle both with garlic powder as suggested as I could not find the butter and garlic rolls. I used fresh cabbage in place of the sauerkraut for personal preference. Thanks for a nice quick meal for the Holiday season when everyone is so busy. Made for PRMR

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      This was SOOOO good! It reminds me of the Runza's we used to buy in Omaha years ago. So, so good! I pretty much followed the recipe word-for-word, except I used half venison burger and half beef, and about a teaspoon of garlic powder instead of the fresh stuff. Will definitely keep this one in my KEEPER file. The other way I've made this is with thawed out frozen bread dough. The crescent rolls make this incredibly zippy-quick to make. Made for *PRMR* Jan 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      Oh this is SOOOOO Good! I omitted the Pepper Flakes and I couldn't find Garlic Cresent Rolls, Didn't matter - This was such a yummy dinner.... 10 stars!!! Made for 123 Hit Wonders - Will DEFINITELY make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2007

      This is a quick and easy dinner. I cut the recipe in half and skipped the cheese to cut down on the fat content. Delicious! I will be making this again. Made for Review My Recipe. Thanks for posting a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2011

      Five stars for: taste and ease and universal enjoyment in my home. Husband and both sons loooove this recipe! I like it because I can whip it together quickly after work and everyone is full and happy. With trying to keep 2 teenage boys full, this recipe is a life saver. My boys walk in the house after 3 hours of daily practice and they're STARVED! What a blessing to be able to have dinner on table so quickly. Thanks for a keep recipe! Oh! And I add a 15oz. can of drained, diced tomatoes to the meat mixture too (extra veggies!).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2011

      To be honest, I found this recipe strange but intriguing, and as I was eating it I had the same thought but added the word "addictive"! I'm still not sure why it works so well but it sure does! I used reduced fat crescents and cheese, and meant to sprinkle garlic powder on top but forgot. No matter; it was still yummy! I made it with kraut but would like to try it w/ cabbage next. Thanks for posting! Made for PRMR.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      This was delicous and easy. The flavors mingled well; however, be careful with the red pepper flakes. :) I used too much. The sauerkraut and cheese relly tasted good with the beef. I made this for my parents when they came to dinner. We all had seconds.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      Absolutely awesome! Quick to put together, too. I was pleased with how the bottom crescents didn't get soggy. They were pretty much just as flaky as the top ones. I used 1 cup of cheddar and 1 cup of Swiss cheese. I'll be making this again for sure! Thanx for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2013

      I have never had (or heard of) bierocks before this recipe, so I wasn't sure what to expect, but I knew I liked the ingredient list. This was so easy to put together, too. I made this exactly as posted, using sauerkraut. I couldn't find Butter & Garlic crescent roll dough, though. It was still very tasty, although I found it to be a tad on the dry side. Perhaps the beef was too lean, but I am definitely going to be trying this again. Thanks for sharing this flavorful meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2012

      A repeater for sure! Easy to assemble and huge quantity-hubby and I ate plenty and have enough for two lunches. I reduced the crushed red pepper flakes to 1/2 teaspoon but other than that followed it to a t. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      Enjoyed by all and by me a few days in a row. I hesitantly added the red pepper flakes since children don't like "spicy" things (or so they say); this still worked. Everyone enjoyed it and seconds were served up. The garlic crescent rolls were excellent with this dish. I also put in a bit more cheese. This will go on my "repeat performance" list. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      Very good, will be making this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      Super!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      Great stuff!! I left out the onion, otherwise made as directed and loved every bite. I used the butter and garlic crescent rolls as you suggested and they added a wonderfully rich component to this dish. Terrific and easy casserole - thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      Easy and taste great! I made with sauerkraut. Even my picky 1 1/2 year old and 3 year old kids ate it. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      Fabulous! I made mine with ground siroin and low fat cheese. This would be a very impressive dish to take to a pot luck or party. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      This was a FANTASTIC winter day dish! My kids even loved it and normally they wouldn't touch sauerkraut with a 10 foot pole! Very tasty when paired with a big salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      Being unable to buy crescent rolls in Australia , I've improvised, and made some other modifications to suit our taste preferences. So I hope that's okay with you, rickoholic83! I have zero tolerance of anything hot and spicy, and always omit red pepper flakes from recipes. I also used only a couple of drops of worcestershire sauce and added a tablespoon and a half of red wine. Since sauerkraut was such a central ingredient, I used that rather than fresh cabbage and, after consulting the Zaar Dictionary - just love checking in that dictionary! - I added 2 middle rashers of bacon roughly chopped with the onion and garlic, then added two cups of sliced mushrooms in the last minute of cooking. I then removed these from the pan, drained them and kept them warm, while I browned the beef. Once the meat was browned, and all the other ingredients had been added, I transferred the mixture to a greased baking dish. I added two roughly shredded croissants to the top and then sprinkled them with parmesan and grated Gouda. They formed a delicious - and certainly totally decadent! - crust on top of what was a fabulously yummy dish which I'll be making again in larger portions to feed a crowd over the Christmas break. Thank you for posting this recipe! Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      *** Made this for PAC Spring '08*** This was awesome!!! Since DH wasn't eating it, I was able to add all the red pepper flakes, and use garlic. It smelled heavenly when cooking. I used cabbage instead of sauerkraut and it was fabulous. I'm glad I have leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sauerkraut Bierocks Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (255 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 538.9
     
    Calories from Fat 225
    41%
    Total Fat 25.0 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 12.2 g
    61%
    Cholesterol 126.5 mg
    42%
    Sodium 973.1 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.7 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    20%
    Protein 32.4 g
    64%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites