Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sauerkraut Balls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sauerkraut Balls

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on November 05, 2001

      My mom also use makes these. They're wonderful and great for any party. These were even served at my wedding. Thanks for posting this recipe, we had lost it over the years. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      I used beer bratwurst instead of sausage, and served them with the honey-mustard sauce from http://www.recipezaar.com/148428. They were delicious, and I would make again. Ingredients list says 2 tsp. bread crumbs and directions say 2 tbsp. I used 2 tbsp. and they came out with perfect texture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2014

      I grew up in Akron, OH and it was a "hot bed" of sauerkraut balls -- even restaurants served them -- now this was back in the late 40s and since we still return to the area, I know that one restaurant still have them on their takeout menu. However, let me say, the commercial ones are not nearly as good as the ones from this recipe! I think the addition of the cream cheese makes the biggest difference. I usually only make one double batch once a year -- it's a fair amount of work and we try to avoid too much fried food -- but these are YUMMY and we will be having them today as it's a tradition to have pork and sauerkraut on New Year's Day for good luck in my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2013

      I made them exactly as written and they were wonderful. They made 6 large ones but next time I will make them smaller to feed a larger group. I do not care much for sauerkraut and even I fell in love with them. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2011

      this simply very yam yam! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2010

      This recipe is AMAZING. The whole family loved them. I often will change a recipe to fit my taste, but these were perfect the way they were.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      Very good. I deep fried them for 5-7 min until golden brown. Got rave reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      I have made many a time. Delish! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      Very Very good recipe but i double the sausage from 8 ozs to 1 lb and 8 ozs of cream cheese instead of 3 ozs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      I was looking for a recipe similar to my Mother in Laws and this one sounded close. I made these on New Year's Eve and served them with “Simple Horseradish Sauce� #201984 They were fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      I made these just before Christmas.I followed the recipe to a T. The taste was good but way to dry. Try cutting back on the bread crumbs by at least 1/3 or even 1/2, they will much moister and will not change the taste.They will also stay together as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      These were absolutely scrumptious! I served them with honey mustard sauce and they were a huge hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      I used 1 lb. of 'hot' sausage omitted- the onions - makes them meatier

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      Sorry but we didn't care much for them. The sausage took away from the sauerkraut taste. I will make them again with ground pork.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2005

      This is almost identical to a recipe that I found in Southern Living in the early 1990s. They have become one of our family's favorite appetizers. The only changes I make are to use ground pork rather than sausage, garlic powder instead of garlic salt, and half rye - half white breadcrumbs (they get too dark if you use rye only). These are wonderful dipped in german mustard mixed with a bit of mayonnaise. Thanks for posting. Now I can direct folks to this site to get the recipe rather than writing it out again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2004

      I have never made Sauerkraut Balls using sausage before (I have always made them with either ground pork or ham.) Let me tell you, this is a wonderful version!! The sausage really gave it that extra zip that we loved. Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! And yes, I made a double batch to freeze. I have run into a lot of people who have never heard of Sauerkraut Balls and my mission in life is to teach them about this wonderful little appetizer. This is a great recipe, Kitten Cal. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2001

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sauerkraut Balls

    Serving Size: 1 (180 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 309.7
     
    Calories from Fat 169
    54%
    Total Fat 18.8 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 100.9 mg
    33%
    Sodium 1025.8 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 11.6 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites