8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

made this recipe for the first time sauerkraut was great will make it this way all the time now

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truckerbigdog August 17, 2008

I've made sauerkraut in the jars before & I disagree with tightening the lids & let it ferment. That's a good way for the jars to break. I would suggest that you keep the lids loose & set in a waterproof container to catch any overflow of the juices until fermenting is done...it'll smell up the house, but that's better than busted jars & wasted cabbage & effort. Another trick is instead of putting lids on right away, stretch a clean, Unused rubber surgical-type glove over the top of the jar...as the cabbage ferments, the glove will expand & will then stop when done....you can put a ring on to hold the glove if desired.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ackman August 03, 2013

delicious<br/>easy to make<br/>everyone loves it!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
medicmom2001 July 27, 2013

I wasn't real fond of this. Maybe it had to ferment a little longer. It tasted not quite like cabbage but not really sauerkraut either. I still think it would be better to process this in boiling water after the fermentation is over with. Sorry this just wasn't for me but I'm sure a lot of other people will enjoy this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 July 09, 2011

I so wish I would have had this recipe 3 months ago!! My husband and I looked and looked for this when the cabbage was in abundance this summer. But the only recipes we found were all the "let it sit in a crockery on your counter for a month" variety and we wanted something we could process all in one day. Thank you!!! This is exactly the kind of recipe we've been looking for! One note though, you don't say specifically if the measurements are for Quart jars or for Pint jars. You reference quart in the prologjavascript:postComment();ue but I wasn't entirely clear on that. 2 Tb. vinegar doesn't sound like enough for a quart jar? Is that really all it needs?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sparkling November 10, 2010

I will give it a star rating after the three weeks is up and I try the kraut. I am also going to try and can some if I like it and see how that turns out. Just making this today and the recipe does not say the size of jar to use so I am using the 1 liter/quarts jars as I see you referenced it in your description.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wildchef March 21, 2010

I am withholding my stars for now, as I too haven't eaten it. I think I will let it ferment for the 3wks and then store in the fridge. I am only doing one jar. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookalot #2 August 22, 2009

I won't give this any stars until I taste it, but this recipe came together easily. I don't think I'm on board with the poster's opinion of what makes for safe canning--The Ball Canning Blue Book and the FDA web information scares the living daylights out of me--but the local canning enthusiasts around me have made me more of a risk-taker. Anyway, I opted to process my jars in boiling water for 15 minutes. Not that that is necessarily safe, either. Anyway, the jars appear to have sealed just fine--once I do open and use them later this winter, I guess they'll be less crisp than the original recipe, but I think it will be fine, nonetheless. Thanks for posting. I love eliminating the whole fermenting in a clay crock and skimming foam step!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KWB September 26, 2008
Sauerkraut