Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sauerkraut Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sauerkraut

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on August 17, 2008

      made this recipe for the first time sauerkraut was great will make it this way all the time now

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2013

      I've made sauerkraut in the jars before & I disagree with tightening the lids & let it ferment. That's a good way for the jars to break. I would suggest that you keep the lids loose & set in a waterproof container to catch any overflow of the juices until fermenting is done...it'll smell up the house, but that's better than busted jars & wasted cabbage & effort. Another trick is instead of putting lids on right away, stretch a clean, Unused rubber surgical-type glove over the top of the jar...as the cabbage ferments, the glove will expand & will then stop when done....you can put a ring on to hold the glove if desired.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2013

      delicious<br/>easy to make<br/>everyone loves it!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2011

      I wasn't real fond of this. Maybe it had to ferment a little longer. It tasted not quite like cabbage but not really sauerkraut either. I still think it would be better to process this in boiling water after the fermentation is over with. Sorry this just wasn't for me but I'm sure a lot of other people will enjoy this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

      I so wish I would have had this recipe 3 months ago!! My husband and I looked and looked for this when the cabbage was in abundance this summer. But the only recipes we found were all the "let it sit in a crockery on your counter for a month" variety and we wanted something we could process all in one day. Thank you!!! This is exactly the kind of recipe we've been looking for! One note though, you don't say specifically if the measurements are for Quart jars or for Pint jars. You reference quart in the prologjavascript:postComment();ue but I wasn't entirely clear on that. 2 Tb. vinegar doesn't sound like enough for a quart jar? Is that really all it needs?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      I will give it a star rating after the three weeks is up and I try the kraut. I am also going to try and can some if I like it and see how that turns out. Just making this today and the recipe does not say the size of jar to use so I am using the 1 liter/quarts jars as I see you referenced it in your description.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      I am withholding my stars for now, as I too haven't eaten it. I think I will let it ferment for the 3wks and then store in the fridge. I am only doing one jar. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      I won't give this any stars until I taste it, but this recipe came together easily. I don't think I'm on board with the poster's opinion of what makes for safe canning--The Ball Canning Blue Book and the FDA web information scares the living daylights out of me--but the local canning enthusiasts around me have made me more of a risk-taker. Anyway, I opted to process my jars in boiling water for 15 minutes. Not that that is necessarily safe, either. Anyway, the jars appear to have sealed just fine--once I do open and use them later this winter, I guess they'll be less crisp than the original recipe, but I think it will be fine, nonetheless. Thanks for posting. I love eliminating the whole fermenting in a clay crock and skimming foam step!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Vegetable Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sauerkraut

    Serving Size: 1 (254 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 115.5
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    27%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 850.2 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.9 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 10.4 g
    41%
    Sugars 16.1 g
    64%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites