Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sauerbraten Meatballs (Sauerbraten Klopse) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sauerbraten Meatballs (Sauerbraten Klopse)

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 06, 2012

      Great dish. I will go less on the allspice and cloves but loved this one. It is so different than anything I have tried. Served with brussel sprouts for a side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      I grew up in Germany and was craving the Sauerbraten taste but I didn't want to marinate meat for a week. This did the trick so well that I made it two nights in a row. My family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      I tried these last night, and thought they were just ok. They were a little to vinegary for my taste. I have another meatball recipe I like better so I'll probably not use this one again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      My family really enjoyed these! I followed the original recipe but used ground turkey instead of ground beef. I'd probably use less cider vinegar next time, but I did enjoy the tart flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      Made this as a dinner, tonight. It was good, but I did do a few (wee) bit of things differently. Seasoned the meatballs up alittle more (added small amts more of the seasonings, parsley, onion salt.) The gravy I followed exactly except I added some beef broth at the end to make it not as vinegary. I thickened it with cornstarch (vs. the flour) as suggested by another poster. I will pry try this again in the future, but will use LESS brown sugar (perhaps by 2 TBS.) I found the sauce great, but really sweet. For us, too sweet (although we liked it.) Also added pepper to the gravy. Served it over spatzele noodles (buttered, with garlic salt and parsley.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      I used beef broth and gingersnaps for the gravy, which was excellent-but the meatballs were very bland-maybe use gingersnaps instead of breadcrumbs? I'll try again but this was very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2006

      I am not a huge meatball eater, but I love these, and so does my family! Also excellent with ground turkey instead of beef (although a little more breadcrumbs may be required.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2006

      Ive made these twice now and they have been awesome both times. One time I made them as an appetizer with toothpicks stuck in them and they went over really well, another time I made them as a dinner over egg noodles, which were finished right off. The second time I took that tip about the corn starch because I also had the problem with the clumpy flour. This one is definitely going in my regular file! thanks a lot!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      Delicious, especially with a hunter sauce of some spaetzle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2004

      Enjoyed these a lot. I used 1 slice fresh bread, torn into small pieces into a bowl and softened by the milk. Also, at the end, I recommend using just a bit of cornstarch (1/2 T.) to thicken gravy instead of the flour. I found that 2 T. flour and 2 T. water (as specified) made a paste that promptly clumped into white lumps when added to the pan juices. I had to strain it to serve. Otherwise, yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2004

      Yum! These were excellent. The brown sugar and vinegar give the gravy a tangy sweetness that's perfect for slathering on meatballs. I'll definitely be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2003

    • on April 14, 2003

    • on September 26, 2001

      easy tro fix and great way to get the kids to try sauerbraten for the first time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2000

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sauerbraten Meatballs (Sauerbraten Klopse)

    Serving Size: 1 (257 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 740.4
     
    Calories from Fat 344
    46%
    Total Fat 38.2 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 11.8 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 151.6 mg
    50%
    Sodium 860.3 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.2 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 27.9 g
    111%
    Protein 49.0 g
    98%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites