Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sauerbraten Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sauerbraten Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on September 04, 2009

      I made these for my Oktoberfest last year and everyone raved about them. They are on my permanent menu!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      Wonderful! I made these for Shabbat dinner with noodles and a salad b4. I didn't add the raisins because I knew my family wouldn't like it. it didn't seem sweet enough tho, I guess because the rasins add sweet, so I added some brown sugar and it worked well. I made the meat balls the night b4 and put them into the sauce right from the fridge. I also doubled the sauce and glad I did as everyone loved it on their noodles. This would be great with rice too. My German DH loved it and said all that was missing was his German potato salad, next time...thanks for posting this tasty, easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      Great recipe! I used ground pork instead of ground beef and it was delicious. Thanks, Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      This was great....my family really liked these and it was a great change from the recipe that I normally use. Thank you for posting it. ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      My family really loved these great-tasting and tender meatballs. We did think they were a little sweet, so I may add some salt to counter that next time. YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      We liked this recipe, but I thought the sauce was a little sweet. I'm not sure how I would have changed it though, & my DH said he liked it the wasy it was. It thickened up without the cornstarch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      This was surprisingly good. For the sauce I sued a full can of low sodium beef broth & doubled the gingersnaps added a few juniper berries. The flavor was perfect, not overly sweet or sour. Also I found that I did not need the cornstarch, as it thickened on its own from the gingersnaps nicely. Served with mashed potatoes and braised red cabbage. Thank you Sue L. for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      YUMMY!! I made a double batch of the meatballs and froze them. This was so easy to put together! FDH loves German food, so we'll be putting this one on the regular rotation. I served it over egg noodles, but I'm thinking we might have it with mashed potatoes next time. Thanks for sharing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2005

      I so much wanted to go crazy for these but I found them to be ok. I just felt something was missing and I couldn't put my finger on it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2002

      Outstanding, Sue! Even those eating wheat-free and gluten-free can enjoy this. I used gluten-free gingersnaps from Kinnikinnick and served mashed potatoes in place of noodles. The only thing I'll do differently next time is line the pan with foil to save on clean-up. Next time ground beef is on sale, I'm going to stock my freezer with these little babies! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sauerbraten Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (184 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 275.7
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    29%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 73.2 mg
    24%
    Sodium 346.7 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.7 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    20%
    Protein 19.7 g
    39%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    gingersnap cookies

    gingersnap cookies

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes