14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for my husband, who is Hungarian and who's Mother has made an unforgettable Sauerbraten that I've been trying to duplicate since the day we got married. I'm pleased to say that, with the helpof this recipe, this is the closest I've come to it yet. Hubby raved about this sauerbraten recipe, especially the way the 5-day marinating process tenderized the meat. The gravy is also very good, and the carrots come out delectable! This is our new 'favorite recipe' and we plan to make it often. It does take quite a while to complete, but it's well worth it! Mmm...

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rosy Posy November 15, 2002

This recipe was delicious and not nearly as much work as I thought. I only marinated for 3 days since that was all the time I had. I used a crock pot, and the meat was perfect. The ceramic part of my crock pot can be removed, and so I did the marinating in there. Then,when ready to cook I just took it out of the fridge and let it cook on low all day. I served it with sweet and sour red cabbage and potato pancakes. YUM!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dominicky November 21, 2003

Delicious and WELL WORTH THE WAIT!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1013172 December 18, 2012

For some reason, the meat tasted sweet to my family, which we did not care for. I followed the recipe exactly, so I have no idea why it had a sweet taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris Reynolds December 05, 2011

This was very moist and tender meat, I made this to serve at a lunch buffet for a class, and it went over very well. Personally for myself it had a bit too strong of a vinegar taste (then i'm not a big cider vinegar fan) But i'll go with the majority vote for rating :) With a little extra sugar added, the gravy was great, and over all I would say the planning effort is definitely worth it to give this one a try :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PickleLover December 19, 2009

Delicious and well worth the 5 day wait! My husband said that this was the best Sauerbraten he had ever had. The meat was extremely flavorful and tender. The gingersnap gravy was very tasty and not too sweet. I will definitely be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ExpatCharlie April 27, 2009

Just what I was looking for. tastes like something my mom used to make. Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jo satkowiak February 03, 2009

Superb. Also made excellent hot beef sandwiches next day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clifford Boren April 03, 2008

Fantastic! The meat turned out so tender and delicious. Both my husband and I loved it. Very easy to make, but I found the amount of carrots and onions to be a little too much, so I’ll cut it back about a third for next time. Other than that, it turned out wonderful. The aroma alone got the stomach growling and the flavor really satisfies thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dEbBiE_oTaVa January 01, 2008

My husband was wanting Sauerbraten so I tried this recipe. It turned out really well and the gravy was really good. I was surprised that you could make gravy using gingersnaps, it was not too sweet as one reviewer stated so I am not sure what their problem was.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Musical Cook December 23, 2007
Sauerbraten