13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A nice combination of spices! And I love the fennel-LOL! Made this to go into your Saudi Carrot Basmati Rice (Zainab's Mom's). Can see this also used on roasted potatoes. Thank you for posting.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal August 09, 2011

On aroma alone, this gets five stars. Like Um Binat and some reviewers, I did not use the black cardamom. Otherwise, I followed the recipe, using white peppercorns instead of black (other than those inside the peppermill-out of 'em) so my mix is a paler color than the photographed ones. I did go with the fennel--love the flavor. I have smelled it and tasted it--it has a bit of a bite, the fennel is detectable but not overpowering and it's a very pleasing taste, initially and afterwards. I'm looking forward to using this in a number of things. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate January 29, 2011

I used to your recipe for your Roasted Chicken Al-Kabsa (Roasted Chicken Al-Kabsa (Saudi) (Gluten Free)). Very easy to prepare and flavorful. I renounced to the black cardamom because I didn't have.
Thanks a lot!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde November 15, 2010

I used this on rice and chicken. I lioked it quite a bit. My brother who doesn't usually prefer Middle Eastern spice mixes even liked it. I used anise instead of fennel since that was all I had and they have basically the same flavor. I thought it was good, not too strong for me though I only used a little bit of it, about a 1/2 tsp. for one serving of rice and chicken. In the past I had used a kebsa recipe but it was nothing like this and it also had loomi in it (which I don't usually have on hand) so this is an simple and different alternative. It smells strong but turns out slightly sweet and slightly spicy (depending on how much pepper you add to it.) Thanks for posting this UmmBinat.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leah's Kitchen September 23, 2009

This was an ok mix I used on a rice dish. Made for Ramadan Tag.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pali's Favorites September 17, 2009

I left the fennel seed out because DH doesn't like it. He used this spice mix on chicken. Made for Ramadan Tag

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh September 16, 2009

This isn't a bad mix. I tried it on chicken tenders. Maybe just a little to pungent for me. I used ground cardamom. Thanks made for Ramadan Tag 09.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamilahs_Kitchen September 06, 2009

Nice combination, I followed your advice and omitted the fennel and cardamom. Fragrant, I used this to prepare your Saudi Carrot Basmati Rice (Zainab's Mom's), also a very good rice dish, we enjoyed this with a mild creamy curry. Thanks for posting! Made for I Recommend tag game

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth May 28, 2012

easy spice handy to have

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. October 08, 2011
Saudi Kabsa Spice Mix