Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Saudi Kabsa Spice Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Saudi Kabsa Spice Mix

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on August 09, 2011

      A nice combination of spices! And I love the fennel-LOL! Made this to go into your Saudi Carrot Basmati Rice (Zainab's Mom's). Can see this also used on roasted potatoes. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2011

      On aroma alone, this gets five stars. Like Um Binat and some reviewers, I did not use the black cardamom. Otherwise, I followed the recipe, using white peppercorns instead of black (other than those inside the peppermill-out of 'em) so my mix is a paler color than the photographed ones. I did go with the fennel--love the flavor. I have smelled it and tasted it--it has a bit of a bite, the fennel is detectable but not overpowering and it's a very pleasing taste, initially and afterwards. I'm looking forward to using this in a number of things. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      I used to your recipe for your Roasted Chicken Al-Kabsa (Roasted Chicken Al-Kabsa (Saudi) (Gluten Free)). Very easy to prepare and flavorful. I renounced to the black cardamom because I didn't have.
      Thanks a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      Very tasty blend of spices. I used in your Roasted Chicken Al-Kabsa (Saudi) (Gluten Free), but I think this would be good on fish and on buttered carrots!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      I used this on rice and chicken. I lioked it quite a bit. My brother who doesn't usually prefer Middle Eastern spice mixes even liked it. I used anise instead of fennel since that was all I had and they have basically the same flavor. I thought it was good, not too strong for me though I only used a little bit of it, about a 1/2 tsp. for one serving of rice and chicken. In the past I had used a kebsa recipe but it was nothing like this and it also had loomi in it (which I don't usually have on hand) so this is an simple and different alternative. It smells strong but turns out slightly sweet and slightly spicy (depending on how much pepper you add to it.) Thanks for posting this UmmBinat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      This was an ok mix I used on a rice dish. Made for Ramadan Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      I left the fennel seed out because DH doesn't like it. He used this spice mix on chicken. Made for Ramadan Tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      This isn't a bad mix. I tried it on chicken tenders. Maybe just a little to pungent for me. I used ground cardamom. Thanks made for Ramadan Tag 09.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2012

      Nice combination, I followed your advice and omitted the fennel and cardamom. Fragrant, I used this to prepare your Saudi Carrot Basmati Rice (Zainab's Mom's), also a very good rice dish, we enjoyed this with a mild creamy curry. Thanks for posting! Made for I Recommend tag game

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2011

      easy spice handy to have

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      I love this! Dh could detect the cardamom which he dislikes. oh well! i used this in Saudi Carrot Basmati Rice (Zainab's Mom's). made for zwt6. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      I was making Roasted Chicken Al-Kabsa (Saudi) (Gluten Free) and needed this spice mix. I did not add black cardamom as per the comments. It has a wonderful and for us new flavour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      Delicious. Thanks so much! I too left out the black cardamom (just too smokey for me! blech). The fennel flavor really comes through.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Saudi Kabsa Spice Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (11 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 33.3
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    27%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    black cardamom pods

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites