Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Saucy Cube Steak Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Saucy Cube Steak

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on December 12, 2002

      I halved this recipe and served it to my husband for dinner. He liked it, said it was just a little bland for him. I added some more pepper and salt. Thanks for sharing !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      This was big hit with DH. I used broth in place of the water which made a fantastic gravy. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

    • on February 23, 2010

      A nice simple way to make a tasty and tender steak. Made exactly as posted and I'll be making it again. Thanks for posting MizzNezz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      This recipe was very pleasantly flavorful. The only change I made was I used lower sodium beef broth in place of the water. My husband and I enjoyed it very much. This recipe is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      I used 1/4 cup minced onion and added 1 packet of liption onion soup mix. The beef was moist and tender. I'll make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      My husband and I really enjoyed this! It had a lot of flavor and the meat was nice and tender. The only change I made was because of lack of ingredient! I only had about 1/8 c. of Worcestershire sauce so I had to add 1/8 cup of Bragg's liquid aminos that I had on hand. That was the only change - but I don't think that changed the outcome that much. This is now our favorite recipe for making cube steak! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      The cube steak came out great but the sauce was too bland. I think if I make this again I will use beef broth instead of water to try to give it a little more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      I've made your recipie twice now in the past 2 months. I love the recipie! It is very very simple and the results are sooooo delicious. I only changed one thing. And, oh my goodness, I could not imagine it otherwise. I chopped up a 1/2 cup of sweet vidalia onion. Maybe closer to a cup, because we like onions. The gravy this dish makes is rich and delicious. And with the onions added, and you put the gravy over the mash potatos. My goodness, what a wonderful meal. I've served this with corn and green beans mixed together. And I must say, the steak and gravy is even better the next day! Next time I will add onions, and I will use rice as a side instead of mash potatoes! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      Thanks MizzNezz for a very tasty recipe. Letting the worcestershire sauce sit with the cube steak I think helped tenderize the meat. I did let them sit for about 15 minutes. I also let them simmer with onions, mushrooms, and green peppers in beef broth and a little sherry about 30 minutes. I also used a little cornstarch to thicken into gravy. YUMMY! This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

    • on September 14, 2007

      Really tasty. I would double the recipe next time. The onions were great this way. With all the liquid, I added some flour water and made a GREAT gravy. Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2007

      My husband said this was very good. I added a packet of gluten-free mushroom gravy into the water. It was quick, easy and tasty. Thank you for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      We loved this! It looked, smelt, and tasted great! I made triple the flour, salt, and pepper for mine. Then at the end, used the extra flour, mixed with cool water, to turn the liquid into more of a gravy. Also, instead of the powder, I used 2 fresh garlic coves. I just pressed the garlic into the hot oil (one before putting any meat in and then the second before the second half of the meat). As I cooked, I put the meat on a warm plate, then added it all back to the pan after sauteeing the onions and adding the liquid. I used homemade vegetable broth instead of water and also sliced the onions into rings instead of mincing. I allowed the onions to start to carmelize - delicious! Having those pretty onions to set on top really added to the presentation. The meat cut with a fork! Thanks for a "keeper"! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2006

      I was very satisfied with this recipe. I added 1/4 c of vineger and cooked a little longer. Very delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2006

      very good and easy to make. found the meat to be a tad bit tough. for a more tender steak, i would highly recommend simmering for longer than 10 minutes...my suggestion would be 1 to 2 hours closely watched.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2005

      I made this for supper last night. My son said this recipe is a keeper! I served it with brown rice & green beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2005

      yum yum i loved it. I was looking for a different way to prepare cube steak. I didn't add water in the end and I added fresh mushrooms. Loved the seasoning!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2004

      This was good. Very different for cube steaks. The water kept them very moist and the onions made them taste like onion soup. Nice change. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2004

      Bland? Hmmm... Thought this was pretty quick, easy and very tasty. Served with mashed potatoes and salad -- a nice comfort meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Saucy Cube Steak

    Serving Size: 1 (175 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 538.8
     
    Calories from Fat 284
    52%
    Total Fat 31.5 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 9.6 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 138.3 mg
    46%
    Sodium 575.7 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 49.7 g
    99%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cube steaks

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites