11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a delicious recipe. It tastes like the Hungarian Goulash that I make without all of the hassle. I followed the recipe exactly. The only thing that I would do dofferently next time is double the gravy. We like the gravy over noodles. Other than that this is worth more than 5 stars.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nnreq November 17, 2002

What a wonderfully easy and convenient meal for this busy time of year(X-mas)!!!!!And mighty tasty too!!!I will be making this again and again.Thanks for a great recipe!!I served this with buttered noodles and green beans,next time I will try it with mashed potatos or rice.Very Good!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa P December 21, 2002

This was delicious and SO easy, and I hadd all the ingredients on-hand. After about 1-1/2 hours of cooking, to the broth I added 4 potatoes, quartered, and 6 carrots, cut in 4-inch long pieces. I then let it cook the remaining hour until veggies were tender. The broth/gravy seasoned the bvggies nicely. My DH and I loved the flavor of this dish.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeachGirl March 08, 2003

Fabulous! Was tempted to cover it as it baked because I thought it would be dry. I followed the directions, as written, and will make this again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Junk Food Jo Jo November 11, 2003

LOVED THIS!! So easy and sooo good!! Made it exactly as written. Everyone loved this. We had it over rice with a salad. Perfect. It's going into the T&T Book. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trikster January 30, 2003

This recipe was FABULOUS! Did add 2 cloves minced garlic and one stalk of celery, thinly sliced. Added 1/2 cup chicken broth last hour as I thought just a little thick. Served with buttered noodles and glazed baby carrots. May try other options next time: Add 1/2 red wine at the start, or, add 1/2 cup sour cream stirred in before serving, or, add cubed potatoes and carrots last hour of cooking (another viewer suggested this), or, use Lipton onion gravy mix or country gravy mix. So very simple and delicious!!!! My and my guests loved it and asked for your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keneunger1944 January 19, 2013

This was easy and very flavorful. I also used lipton soup mix, 1 can of broth and 1 can of beef gravy. Turned out just fine. This is great over egg noodles. Family loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FaithfulCookInNC June 04, 2007

This was fantastic! I changed a couple things, I didin't use the onions as hubby and I aren't big on them. I couldn't find onion gravy mix so I used 1 packet of Liption onion soup mix. I wanted extra gravy I used 2 cans of broth and 2 cans of soup. I kept the mushroom and beef amounts the same. I served this over mashed pototates and had a salad on the side. Again, it was amazing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zanni January 10, 2007

A very easy to put together no hassle dish. I had to use tomato soup as we cant get celery soup where I live. This perhaps made it very rich. No complaints though! I also added some chunks of carrot about an hour before it was done. Next time I will cover the dish as I found it splattered my oven....just to save a cleaning job!! Served it with mashed potatoes & a mixed green veggie dish. Thanks for posting. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen T November 16, 2003

It is the most awesome recipe to have. Thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tmsapna October 09, 2003
Saturday Night Oven Beef