15 Reviews

What a delicious lunch! The layers of flavors are incredible...I don't know which was better, the cilantro pesto or the tomato vinagrette? The brown sugar and sun dried tomatoes in the vinagrette gave just enough sweet contrast to the cotija. The crunch of the veggies was nice too. All I can say, is YUM! Thanks for a great recipe, and good luck in the contest!

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canarygirl February 17, 2003

Awesome recipe!! I love it!! I have never really had anything like this, but I am definately making this again!! Love the vingarette, it really makes the wrap.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sidd February 17, 2003

YESSSSSSS I agree you should post just the pesto recipe. I just loved it!!! My first try with the raw peppers and zucchini (I just don`t know)so I had to sautee the peppers and zucchini along with the chicken. I also added red onions (cut into slices) into the sautee.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ February 12, 2003

I really loved the cilantro pesto sauce (great with tortilla chips!), but I didn't care for the tomato sauce as much as I expected. Next time I will just leave off that sauce and it will make it quicker to prepare. The zucchini was a nice touch, too. Thanks Babs- Roxygirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado February 10, 2010

All I've tried from this recipe so far is the cilantro pesto, and it is really delicious. I can see why other reviewers were eating it straight like salsa. It has a definite Mexican flavor to me. I used half the oil and omitted the cheese, and used lemon juice since I didn't have lime. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amylisai October 04, 2009

Good recipe. The cilantro pesto is a very common sauce used in South Asia- Pakistan and India to accompany several dishes. It is made slightly differently and has a different name but is essentially the same- made of cilantro. Since I already had some made in the fridge, I made the sassy sauce and used some cooked chicken I had. I was skeptical of using raw zucchini but it actually goes very well together with the red bell pepper, I also added in some sliced onions. My vinaigrette didn't turn out that sassy so I used more vinegar b/c it was too tomatoey but it definitely accompanied the pesto very well. I would have never come up with that. I'll save this for those special times when I crave something with zing, especially since I can see they can be little labor intense if you have to make both the sauces and cook the chicken but well worth it. Thanks for sharing, it is definitely bursting with flavor! Update: my husband who doesn't like new things very much, happened to like these wraps for lunch very much! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dumbell579 September 30, 2009

After trying numerous wrap recipes, this one is still my favorite by far. I follow it exactly except for cutting the salt. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KDSCOMOX May 12, 2008

This is a fair bit of work compared to my usual wrap - slap some cheese spread across tortilla, decorate with sliced meat (or not) and lettuce, spinach, sprouts or other green stuff. That said, this was truly special and worth the extra work as a special occaision effort. DH went out of his way to give a positive review; and unlike many leftovers I offer him as a lunch option, these did not linger in the fridge. Will definitely make again, and as always it will go together more quickly the next time around. Still, it's not a quick week-night meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catte Nappe April 25, 2008

OH WOW! I'm here to tell you, this is my kind of taco - swimming with exciting flavors - flavors plural! Since I don't care for flour tortillas, I used double corn, softened in hot unsalted butter. Will make this pesto & vinagrette over and over for many things! I thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Slewfoot Sue September 10, 2007

Fabulous! And you're right....you can use the Cilantro Pesto & Tomato Vinagrette on a multitude of other things. Most bizarre (and FANTASTIC) pairing I've done so far, is to serve them both along side of Pattykay's Swedish Meat Pies http://www.recipezaar.com/234810 I KID YOU NOT - it was delicious! Leftover pesto & vinagrette was added to this morning's breakfast burrito. YUM-OH! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pellerin July 16, 2007
Sassy Chicken Wraps W/Cilantro Pesto