12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My husband could eat pizza for every meal. I decided to make this recipe and make small, 'hot pocket' sized loaves. I froze the left over ones and he takes them to work and microwaves them just like a hot pocket. He LOVES them. It's such a versatile recipe. Last night I made olive garden alfredo sauce and used that with chicken, fresh basil and garden tomatoes for a filling. We didn't have any leftovers of those! Great starter point for my imagination, thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefJenn August 18, 2006

this recipe is so good. i first made it to take to a picnic for my sons birthday everybody loved it, i now have to make it so my husband and daughter can take it to football with them wrapped up in foil to accompany whichever soup they fancy (usually french onion or tomato basil). although i have never used the zucchini or olives (family preference) we have tried it as recipe states but its also great for using up leftover veggies. we tend to have it with onions,peppers, and mushrooms we also use mozzarella, emmental, and parmesan cheese and layered it with the veggies. thanks for posting this wonderful recipe Sara

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jimjamsmum February 21, 2011

I made this and soup for tonights dinner. This is a great recipe to use up all the veggies that are in the fridge. I used old cheddar and parmesan cheeses, broccoli, red pepper, onions, sundried tomatoes, kalamata olives and part of a left over chicken breast. My family thought that the broccoli overwhelmed the dish and they suggested that I use mushrooms in place of the broccoli next time. I was also surprised that the pepper in the crust was not too hot, even for my children. This took 35 minutes in my oven to cook through. Over all this was a great new recipe that went over extremely well. I`ll be making it again and again. Thanks for posting this recipe Sara.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eldeevee October 20, 2009

Wow! This was really good. I used a few different veggies but my main change was to use Ricotta cheese instead of the mozzerella. My hubby loved it and my 2 year old ate it up. This is going to be something that I'll make a lot, I can tell. Thanks for a truly great recipe, Sara!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jodid March 16, 2007

This was a great way to feed my pizza lovers veggies! I used homemade marinara and substituted fresh mushrooms for the tomato. It's a great way to use up small amounts of a variety of vegetables. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
akgrown June 13, 2006

Yes, this recipe works for my family, too. I made a few minor variations: halved the amount of cheese, left out the bell pepper, and chopped all the vegetables together, in the food processor. I also used whole wheat flour. The kids started complaing about all the vegetables, but stopped after the first bite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElishevaH May 02, 2006

YUM!!! We really loved this! I think next time I'll only use 1 tsp of pepper as 1.5 was a bit much for us. Also I must have stretched the dough a bit thin because it broke during cooking, but oh well! It was yummy anyway. This will for sure be a regular in our house. Gotta love the bread machine- perfect dough every time! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
***chef katie*** April 24, 2006

My rating here is really for the dough. I made it exactly as prescribed, but then did my own thing for the filling. The dough was great! I've had problems with doughs not cooking properly when stuffed, but this one was perfect; completely cooked through, soft and yummy. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tessachef February 21, 2006

This was great, my family really enjoyed it. I added some extra garlic and substituted grilled eggplant for the vegetables. Thanks for posting this delicious recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CardaMom February 19, 2005

Ok.. so true test of a recipe (The Angela Laundry List of Substitutions). 3 parts Bob's Red Mill Low-Carb Bake Mix (w/ 2 Tbls Wheat Gluten & 1 tsp Lemon Juice) to 1 part Unprocessed Wheat Bran, Applesauce instead of Oil and I added chicken. WOW!!!! This is fantastic - one of my favorites. Thanks for sharing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AKillian24 January 28, 2005
Sara's Veggie Stromboli From Scratch (using your bread machine!)