87 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was super simple and just plain good. I'm not a fan of tilapia normally and wanted something to dress it up. This mustard/mayo coating did the trick. And my toddlers had seconds! I used breadcrumbs and dried parsley. I threw in some dried dill, too. The pan-frying seemed like too much trouble, so I baked mine in a 400-degree oven for 15 minutes on a foil-lined pan. They came out perfect with no pan to wash! We'll have this again.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PamTB April 11, 2007

I baked mine in the oven at 400. Added italian seasoning, garlic powder, cayenne pepper and lemon pepper. It didn't get brown enough for me so next time I may try to fry it. Good taste.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty May 18, 2010

This has it all really - easy, fast, crispy, moist and pretty healthy, too! My whole family enjoyed this fish. Thanks so much for posting. We'll be making this often!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood February 12, 2010

Great recipe! I followed preparation of the fish as written, but I baked the tilapia instead of pan frying (400 degrees for 17 minutes). I also added 1 tsp. Italian seasoning, 1 tsp. garlic powder, and 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper to the breadcrumbs, since other reviews mentioned it was a bit bland. I also used 1 1/2 tsp. dried parsley flakes, instead of fresh parsley, because that's what I had on hand. My husband and I sprinkled a little lemon juice over the fish before eating it, and it was awesome. This is the first time I have used panko breadcrumbs and I really liked them - my favorite tilapia recipe so far. Thank you!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 October 21, 2009

Absolutely one to get kept on my favourite file. Only thing I did different after was to add a little garlic salt and a little chili powder to spice it up a bit. So fast and easy to prepare. Thank you so much for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilovemy4kids October 09, 2010

Very good. Easy and tasty. Thank you for posting. I didn't have Panko crumbs so I used regular.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie August 14, 2010

This dish is SOOO simple and ridiculously delicious!! I never really cared for tilapia, I thought it seemed kinda 'blah'....but this recipe is amazing and almost a weekly occurance in my house. I add a bunch of different seasonings including a dash of Old Bay to the panko. I only had Horseradish dijon mustard....but it was awesome. Each time I've made it my husband goes on and on with every bite how wonderful it tastes! Thank you blueguitargirl1985 and all of the other wonderful reviewers that added some great ideas!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellebliss3 May 06, 2013

Tilapia! I LOVE ><}}(°> <°){{>< ><}}(°>

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng January 28, 2011

This recipe was recommended by LifeIsGood in this thread: [url=http://www.food.com/bb/viewtopic.zsp?p=5344264#5344264]2010 Member's Cookbook[/url] Four hours later, we were enjoying it for lunch! Just a delightful treatment of this mild fish and the Panko crumbs were spectacular in the crust! Followed all the directions, kept the mayo/mustard coating thin and fried them in butter. I wanted to claw them out of the pan when they were done, they smelled THAT good! Served with sweet June peas and mashed sweet potatoes. Lovely, simple, flavourful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The_Swedish_Chef January 12, 2011

Some of the best fish ever! So easy & tastes amazing. Wonderful!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DonnaColorado Johnson September 26, 2010
Sarah's Tilapia