Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sarah's Potato Barley Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sarah's Potato Barley Soup

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on May 23, 2002

      Made this tonight and it was really good! I omitted the bay leaf - personal preference, and at the end I mashed the potatoes to make it a bit creamier. This is a great tasting low fat soup. For those of you on Weight Watchers - it works out to 3 points per serving. Next time I will try adding some chopped celery as well. Really great recipe and thank-you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2010

      The husband, kids, and myself absolutely loved this soup! It's very hard to find a soup that the husband will eat, but he gobbled this one up. The only thing he suggested to be changed is to add in some corn and I admit that sounds pretty good to me too. It fed 5 of us and there's still leftovers. Will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      Sarah - thanks for the great soup recipe! This couldn't be any easier! I served this hearty soup with some crusty french bread and a large salad. It was a perfect meal on a cold rainy night - satisfying and simple! Thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      We really liked to taste of all the herbs. It took a lot longer than 45 minutes for barley to get soft though and it was a little bit thicker than we would have liked. Next time I will do less barley to make it a little lighter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      Great comforting and filling soup for such a cold day we had. I added more liquid, thanks for a tasty soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      This was good. It thickens up a lot due to the barley if you don't eat it right away or put it away. You have to add some water to it. My version I used vegetable broth and it didn't look as nice, sort of grey but still tasty. Needs more spice too, but not sure what.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      I made the soup for supper tonight and it was delicious! I added a pound of browned ground beef and left out the marjoram because I didn't have any. We had fresh Italian bread and butter with it and homemade pudding for dessert. Enough left for 1-2 more meals. Will definitely make it again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      It smells wonderful and came together fairly quickly (as a mom of three, 4 and under, always a plus for me!). I added celery and Italian turkey sausage and will probably need to mash it up a bit before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      Lovely soup,will put it on my soup rotation.I had a bit of chicken and peas in the fridge I threw in.I added a bit of tobasco.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      So simple to make and delicious to eat! I didn't need to add any salt because the chicken broth was salty enough, but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly and the result was super!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      I did this soup and it was very filling on a wintery evening. I used a bouquet garni instead of the herbs as I did not have any. The result was very satisfying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2004

      I really like barley so I tried this soup. It was good but I found it a bit bland. I added some hot sauce and balsamic vinegar to pick it up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2004

      Made this real good soup last night and fallowed it to the letter. It turned out a real comfort dish that everery one enjoyed.Changed nothing but diced onions,potatoes aand carrots in very tiny dices about 1/4 inch.It was smooth, tasty and gave me a chance to appreciate barley.thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2002

    • on December 03, 2001

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sarah's Potato Barley Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (153 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 173.4
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    84%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.8 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1713.1 mg
    71%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    27%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 5.9 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes