9 Reviews

Very disappointed in this recipe. The cake did have a good texture and was very pretty, but it tasted nothing like Sara Lee's cake. It smelled devine, but the taste was very blah and heavy. My husband who adores pound cake was very disappointed. Will not make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cakelover321 September 23, 2010

I quite enjoyed this recipe - I am a HUGE fan of Sara Lee pound cake, and while this one is not exactly the same, it is still great. I now make it and serve with fresh fruit and whip cream as a summer dessert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lynzlou May 30, 2009

This was a great receipe. The test was right on but I think I may have done something wrong. As the pound cake cooled it started to crack on top. What did I do wrong. Thanks again for a really good receipe. Jack24

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alicia F. September 20, 2008

Being Australian I am not very familiar with what a pound cake should actually be like but this was a beautiful soft cake - perfectly cooked in the time given. We ate it warm with cream and it was so delicious. Ours got a bit stuck in the pan but I think DD did not grease tin well enough !! Done for ZWT3 so thankyou Wildflour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew June 12, 2007

The flavor was good, but mine was very dry. I followed the directions and baked it for 60 minutes, checking it every 5 minutes after 50 minutes. The center was actually a little undercooked, but yet it was dry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margo59 April 16, 2006

This was pretty good pound cake. It had good flavor, but I had to bake it longer than the recipe stated (I didn't keep track of how much longer...sorry), and even then it wasn't fully cooked...and yet the texture was still a little dry. I'm sorry to give a less than stellar review following your preview three five star reviews... This was still good though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coconutcream April 01, 2006

Hello....this pound cake is the "real thing"! It is better than "Sara Lee's" cake. It had such a wonderful texture and a fantastic taste. We had a little luncheon here and we needed pound cake for the dessert, and voila your recipe appeared. We served it with raspberries with framboise(Chambord) and a little sugar ~ it was wondeful! Stupendous and we had a lot of ooohs and aaahs. Thank you peacefulnightdove for posting. Diane

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manami March 22, 2006

A fantastic pound cake. I followed exacrly the description and the outcome was one of the most delicious pound cakes ever. The texture of this pund cak was fluffily, but still firm and moist. The texture reminds just a little of a very buttery cookies on the first bite but then it melted in the mouth. The caster sugar is important to give that smooth texture. The flavours were fantastic. I like so much the combination of vanilla and lemon. And the butter made it exquisite. You and your guests will love this pound cake and nobody would believe that it is easy to make, because it tastes and looks like a cake from a very expensive confectionery. If you like this pound cake, you should also try the "Old-fashioned Pound Cake" (Old-Fashioned Pound Cake). Both cakes are keepers and reliable friends, if you want to impress someone. Thanks peacefulnightdove for this great recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thorsten March 12, 2006

This was my first time to make pound cake, and I was very pleased with the results. Because oven temperatures vary, I ended up baking it 15 minutes longer. But the taste and texture were very similiar to Sara Lee's. Thanks for the posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeffsmom June 27, 2005
"sara Lee" Pound Cake - Copycat