Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Santa Fe Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Santa Fe Soup

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on April 18, 2003

      There are some choices to make within the recipe. Mexican Velveeta comes in hot and mild. Rotel comes in regular, mild, and two others. I chose the hotter versions of both and I'm glad I did because I like hot stuff. I made this twice. The 2nd time I used 2 cans of no-salt black beans instead of one can of pinto beans. I greatly prefer the black beans. Both times I used frozen corn instead of canned to reduce the sodium content. To make up for the liquid in the can of corn I added 1/4 cup of low sodium beef stock. I tasted it before adding the Velveeta. It was darn good without it. Next time I may use half the amount of Velveeta or eliminate it and top each serving with grated pepper cheese instead. By the way, cubing Velveeta was interesting. It glued itself back together after the knife went thru it. But it melted like a dream. Next time I think I'll use two cans of black beans because I liked them, two cans of stewed tomatoes because I like them, and no Velveeta, adding grated pepper cheese to the top instead. Or less Velveeta and add grated pepper cheese on top. Or..... Whatever I do, I think I'd like a sprinkling of sliced green onion on top. And of course, chives, since mine are already up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2003

      WOW! For as few of ingredients as this soup had, the flavor is outstanding. This is certainly not for those watching calories, however, it was incredibly easy and quick to make. Where there were options, I used black beans, balsamic seasoned stewed tomatoes, original Rotel, and original velveeta, figuring the Rotel would have enough spice for me. Great soup that I will definitely add to my regular line-up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2003

      Ohmygosh! I thought with so little time and ingredients this couldn't possibly be that good...but it is! My family ate it up (although I added a can of diced green chiles and a can of diced jalepenos) and I wished I had doubled the recipe. Give it a try and kudos to the recipe submitter!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2003

      A very versatile recipe! Good all year round, but especially good in the winter months!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2011

      A KEEPER! Lots of flavor, not too spicy. I browned the beef and onions, drained and put in crockpot. Added the other ingredients along with cumin and parsley, added the cheese near the end. It looked way too thick at the start but thinned out nicely. And talk about easy! Corn chips are a great topper. Anita, many thanks for posting...Janet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      I have made this soup for quite a while, the only difference being I use jalapeño ranch style beans instead. So easy to throw together, tastes great, and even the left overs are good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

    • on September 02, 2010

      Cheesy and filling. I was pleasantly surprised at the consistancy, since no liquid (other than from the undrained cans) is called for. There still was enough liquid to make it a soup. I made this as written and found it to be rather bland. I added a few tsps of cumin and a little cayenne and some cilantro and simmered it a bit longer and it was just right. Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      I really made this to use up the Mexican Velveeta that I had bought for something else (hence I would probably not make it again). However, it was super easy and everyone liked it, including me. No changes. I used black beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      YUMMY! Definitely comfort food. I added a packet of Ranch Dip Mix and Taco Seasoning to this. Very very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      Excellent hearty soup. I used half the velveeta to cut back on calories with extra hot rotel and black beans. Another great recipe from Anita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2007

      I love this soup and had lost my recipe for it, so thank you so much for posting it. The taste is so good, and it is a flash to put together. I love that it is so flexible with all of the ingredients. One of the things that I LOVE about it is that it is so flexible. Thin one needed the can sizes? Well with this recipe you really don't need that. More people who just dropped by? Well, put in another can of tomatoes, and another can of beans, a bit more cheese if you have it or another can of corn. It will affect the flavor, but only a little bit. As for the intensity of heat, you need to choose the type of cheese and level of RoTel for yourself. I have always used standard or original RoTel and regular Velveeta and it is very good, another favorite is Ranch Beans. I used to sell Creative Memories and this was a standard Crop night dinner that was always a hit with the ladies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2005

      Great soup! The only change I made was to use the regular velvetta since DH doesn't like things too spicy. It was the right heat for us. For leftovers, I heated a serving size of the soup in the microwave, then heated a large flour tortilla for about 15 seconds, spooned out the solids from the soup and placed down the middle of the tortilla, topped with shredded lettuce and sour cream, folded burrito style with seam side down, then poured the soup liqiud on top. Then heated alittle longer in the microwave. Gave one to DH and told him it was a wet burrito. He ate every last bite! For the other reviewer that didn't know what size cans to use, I've only seen rotel in a 10oz. can, the other veggies would be about 15oz. cans. I don't know if that's the size Anita used, but it worked for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2005

      Please, please, please list your can sizes! Believe me a 28 oz can of tomatoes makes a lot different soup than a 4 oz can does.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2005

      Can't get any better than this easy and delicious soup! This is basically just Taco Soup, with a chunk of velveeta thrown in, but oh, the creamy goodness! I subbed a 15 oz. can of tomato sauce for the stewed tomatoes to cut down the number of "chunks" as we don't really like them (the Rotel was plenty), and I would guess this soup would have been very, very thick if I had not made the substitution. Fantastic dinner with hot Southern cornbread! Definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2005

      Great easy soup to make when you don't have much time. It was spicy and creamy and I loved the corn and beans in it. I'm not the biggest fan of Velveeta, so next time I make it, I'll probably half the amount or add a different cheese. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2005

      thanks for such a delicious and quick to make soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2005

      Wow - this was great! I used black beans and tomato puree instead of stewed tomatoes (because of picky kids!) and it was fantastic! Very cheesy and delicious. This will definitely go in the soup rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2005

      WOO-WEE!This was nice and spicey.We all loved it...it hit the spot on a chilly night like this. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2004

      My DD asked "why are you cooking SANTA'S FACE?" I guess my enunciation could use some work. The soup is delicious and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Santa Fe Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (443 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 901.9
     
    Calories from Fat 398
    44%
    Total Fat 44.3 g
    68%
    Saturated Fat 23.2 g
    115%
    Cholesterol 166.7 mg
    55%
    Sodium 2286.8 mg
    95%
    Total Carbohydrate 76.0 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 14.4 g
    57%
    Sugars 19.8 g
    79%
    Protein 55.0 g
    110%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites