Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Santa Fe Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Santa Fe Chowder

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on November 01, 2003

      This soup has an incredible blend of flavors that made smile. The vegetables make it very colorful and healthy. I used cream cheese which made the taste and texture slightly creamy. I served this soup with crackers because I was out of tortilla chips. Tortilla chips would have made it even better. Thanks for the recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2013

      SO delicious! I realized I made an error after I gobbled up a nice big bowl. Used 1 c. of cheddar, and totally forgot the milk, so it was a bit more difficult to process in the blender. Oops!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      This was an excellent soup. To make this heart healthy, I did omit the oil & just sauteed the onion, chili & spices with a few droplets of water. Also I used fat free cheeses and skim milk with excellent success. The cream cheese provided a smooth and creamy texture to the soup that was set off by the remaining veggie chunks. Leftover soup required the addition of a bit more milk while reheating to get the right consistancy. Thank you NurseDi for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2006

      Wow, this was a crowd pleaser! I made it as posted except for 2 things, I used chicken broth, and a veggie cream cheese. It was fantastic and I will make it again and again! Worth the time and effort. Thanks so much Nurse Di :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2005

      Very good! We are such soup addicts and this was something different from the usual I make. I also added chopped cooked chicken breast at the end and let it heat through. I used a Jalapeno pepper as the green chili pepper and must have gotten a mild one because it wasn't very spicy. That was the pepper's fault, not the recipe's fault! This soup is not only tasty but pretty in the bowl, too. Served it with a dusting of Cotijo cheese and chopped avocado. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2004

      This chowder was wonderful though I did tinker with the recipe a bit. I added cooked chicken breast and two cans of rinsed black beans to the sauteed veggie mixture. I omitted the potatoes and carrots and used 1 small can crushed tomatoes. I also substituted chicken broth for the water. I also used nonfat milk, 2% milk cheddar, and nonfat cream cheese to lower the fat and make it SBD friendly. Lastly I sliced whole wheat tortillas into strips, sprayed with cooking spray and baked them until crispy. To serve I topped the chowder with a dollop of fat free sour cream, chopped cilantro and a pile of the crispy whole wheat tortilla strips. Delicious! We will make this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2004

      This soup is just so delicious. I made it without the potato and cream cheese, simply because I didn't have them in the house and the result was a thick, spicy soup with great flavour. I did use fresh corn though and I'm sure that this added to the fabulous taste. I'll defintiely be making this again and again. Thanks so much Di, another winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2004

      Yet another winner Nurse Di! Thank you so much for sharing your recipes. Although this does take some time to prepare the end result is definately worth the trouble. As Faith said the colors are beautiful and the flavor is awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Santa Fe Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (449 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 263.7
     
    Calories from Fat 108
    41%
    Total Fat 12.0 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 22.7 mg
    7%
    Sodium 352.8 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.3 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    24%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites