26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great dish! I set this up the night before and just baked it off the next day. Many complements! Very yummy! Make it as written (except for using a blend of cheddar and pepper jack cheese) and will definitely make this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glori-B May 15, 2012

Very good authentic flavors. Definately reminded me of the summer I spent in Mexico. Made as written and used a can of diced tomatoes. Thank you so much, this is a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TattooedMamaof2 October 21, 2009

I found this while searching for a recipe that called for baking, after changing a stove top burger type recipe from eatingwell.com into a casserole. This is pretty close to what I wound up with. It was pretty tasty before baking, so I am looking forward to the finished version.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misty6786 December 12, 2012

This was a great dish. I followed the recipe except for cutting the amount of onion in half. It was very flavorful. It needed a bit longer in the oven than the recipe stated. It goes well with a side salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BB2011 June 20, 2010

I found the cooking time in step 1 to be insufficient, and the prepared dish lacking in sufficient liquid. I would recommend a saute on the onions and peppers until soft as a first step (like JanuaryBride I found that less onions were really quite adequate), and doubling the amount of salsa. Quartering the tortillas will make assembling the dish much easier, and some may find that they need a bit more herbs (eg oregano in the filling and cilantro on top), spices (eg doubling both the garlic and cumin), and cheese. While I would not call this "Authentic Mexican" it is a nice "warm your cockles" kind of dish that is both easily prepared and served, and one that (with adjustments) I will revisit when looking to use up another batch of beans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blue Plate Special May 19, 2010

I really enjoyed this. I cut the recipe in half and used my 8.5 x 6.5 baking dish. I subbed a can of mild rotel tomatoes with chilis for the fresh tomatoes; glad I did. I honestly decreased the amt of onion significantly, again with great results. I added some Morningstar veggie crumbles and hubby didn't even know it was a vegetarian dish. I love it. Topped with avocado and a dollop of sour cream. UPDATE: I made this again last evening. I used my homemade Chipotle Salsa (about 1.5 cups of it) and added some soy chorizo for a kick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride May 06, 2010

Easy, delicious and filling. I topped with sliced avocado, and it was much enjoyed. I halved the recipe and had plenty leftover for lunch the next day, having served it with a salad. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews April 25, 2010

This is so yummy. I gave it four stars, because it needs just a couple things (IMHO). I added salt and pepper to the veggie mixture while sauteing, and I think the mixture needs 1/4 - 1/2 cup more salsa (it was a bit dry). Plus, I used 2 cups of cheese and it was perfect. Thanks for a keeper! I will make this again. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KissKiss February 10, 2010

I thought this was very good and oh so filling. I must have used a slightly larger pan, because we need five tortillas per layer. My DH found it just a little on the blah side. Oh and I added just a little extra cheese...mmm... Both of us are meat eaters, and we felt it really needed some meat. I will definitely make this again, but next time I will add taco seasoned ground beef or turkey. I think this dish could easily feed six, especially if you added a side dish. Thanks for a new, healthy casserole recipe to add to my collection.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hunny bunny December 21, 2009

Very easy and yummy! DH said it was really good! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megamommy8880 November 25, 2009
Santa Anna's Black Bean Casserole - Authentic Mexican!