Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Santa Anna's Black Bean Casserole - Authentic Mexican! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Santa Anna's Black Bean Casserole - Authentic Mexican!

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on May 15, 2012

      Great dish! I set this up the night before and just baked it off the next day. Many complements! Very yummy! Make it as written (except for using a blend of cheddar and pepper jack cheese) and will definitely make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      Very good authentic flavors. Definately reminded me of the summer I spent in Mexico. Made as written and used a can of diced tomatoes. Thank you so much, this is a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2012

      I found this while searching for a recipe that called for baking, after changing a stove top burger type recipe from eatingwell.com into a casserole. This is pretty close to what I wound up with. It was pretty tasty before baking, so I am looking forward to the finished version.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      This was a great dish. I followed the recipe except for cutting the amount of onion in half. It was very flavorful. It needed a bit longer in the oven than the recipe stated. It goes well with a side salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      I found the cooking time in step 1 to be insufficient, and the prepared dish lacking in sufficient liquid. I would recommend a saute on the onions and peppers until soft as a first step (like JanuaryBride I found that less onions were really quite adequate), and doubling the amount of salsa. Quartering the tortillas will make assembling the dish much easier, and some may find that they need a bit more herbs (eg oregano in the filling and cilantro on top), spices (eg doubling both the garlic and cumin), and cheese. While I would not call this "Authentic Mexican" it is a nice "warm your cockles" kind of dish that is both easily prepared and served, and one that (with adjustments) I will revisit when looking to use up another batch of beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      I really enjoyed this. I cut the recipe in half and used my 8.5 x 6.5 baking dish. I subbed a can of mild rotel tomatoes with chilis for the fresh tomatoes; glad I did. I honestly decreased the amt of onion significantly, again with great results. I added some Morningstar veggie crumbles and hubby didn't even know it was a vegetarian dish. I love it. Topped with avocado and a dollop of sour cream. UPDATE: I made this again last evening. I used my homemade Chipotle Salsa (about 1.5 cups of it) and added some soy chorizo for a kick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      Easy, delicious and filling. I topped with sliced avocado, and it was much enjoyed. I halved the recipe and had plenty leftover for lunch the next day, having served it with a salad. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      This is so yummy. I gave it four stars, because it needs just a couple things (IMHO). I added salt and pepper to the veggie mixture while sauteing, and I think the mixture needs 1/4 - 1/2 cup more salsa (it was a bit dry). Plus, I used 2 cups of cheese and it was perfect. Thanks for a keeper! I will make this again. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      I thought this was very good and oh so filling. I must have used a slightly larger pan, because we need five tortillas per layer. My DH found it just a little on the blah side. Oh and I added just a little extra cheese...mmm... Both of us are meat eaters, and we felt it really needed some meat. I will definitely make this again, but next time I will add taco seasoned ground beef or turkey. I think this dish could easily feed six, especially if you added a side dish. Thanks for a new, healthy casserole recipe to add to my collection.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      Very easy and yummy! DH said it was really good! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      We really liked this a lot!! We don't care for cumin so I used 1 tsp. of chili seasoning instead. I used 1 can chili ready tomatoes and dumped in about 1 1/2 cups left over spanish rice. YUMMMMMM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      This was simple, quick, inexpensive and delicious. My husband usually doesn't go for casseroles, but this one he really enjoyed. A great dish that uses pantry staples in a yummy way. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      Very tasty and easy! I made two slight changes; besides halving the recipe, I used flour tortillas (personal preference) and added a layer of cheese below the top layer of beans instead of adding after baking. Oh, also served with (lite) sour cream instead of guac. I got 4 servings from a half recipe, not 2. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      I made this last night for dinner, making only a few changes: flour tortillas instead of corn (due to an allergy), canned tomatoes -- with jalapenos -- instead of fresh, double the garlic, and a cheddar/mozzarella cheese blend instead of all cheddar. It was wonderful! So filling and flavorful! I *did* add extra cheese, since my fiance and our roomie really enjoy it. Also, I found that I could only fit two tortillas per layer. My guess is that the number given in the recipe presumes using 5" tortillas, whereas I was using 8" ones. Doesn't matter... it still came out great. We will be happily devouring the leftovers this weekend. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      Easy dish for a weeknight. Had nice flavor. Used a can of rotel tomatoes as suggested by Pesto lover. Served it with lettuce and tomatoes on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2008

      This was ok for us. I sauteed the onion and pepper for a few minutes in some olive oil to soften them and give them some color. I did 1 can pinto beans and 1 can black beans, and used fresh salsa. I would add more cheese next time, and definitely more seasonings.. maybe taco seasoning or something. It was a bit bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      This was a wonderful recipe! I used rotel tomatoes with green chilies, 1/4 tsp oregano and served with sour cream on top. Everyone loved it. Thanks for sharing this excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      This was way better than expected. I ran out of bell peppers, so left that out and added a chopped avocado to the mix instead of serving it on top. I also made this vegan by using dragonfly's bulk uncheese mix instead of the cheddar. This was fabulous! Super easy and relatively cheap to make. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      This was freakin' great. Happy to be finding some super tasty recipes with less fat so I can keep my New Year's resolution. Easy too, thanks for posting this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      This dish was outstanding! I'm trying to wean my husband off of red meat and this was a great vegetarian alternative! He raved and raved about how good it was and I raved and raved about how easy it was to fix! Thanks Rezika for the great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Santa Anna's Black Bean Casserole - Authentic Mexican!

    Serving Size: 1 (561 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 615.6
     
    Calories from Fat 201
    32%
    Total Fat 22.4 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 10.2 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 44.4 mg
    14%
    Sodium 591.8 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 78.8 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 23.2 g
    92%
    Sugars 9.6 g
    38%
    Protein 30.7 g
    61%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes