157 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a great recipe, it is virtually the same as the one given to us about ten years ago by a friend living in Tenerife and which we have used every summer since. It looks better the way you do it, though.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nelly December 29, 2002

It was a wonderful recipe, I did make some alterations however. I made 3 trays of Sierra mist ice cubes with frozen raspberries in them. So I had these deep red ice cubes in the Sangria. I also allowed the orange slices to marinate in with the rest of the raspberries. I added all of them together and made enough for 45 people and it went!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarcookie 123 October 03, 2010

This is terrific. We used our homemade wine to make this and it was awesome - will be doing this for Thanksgiving Eve as well.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bogey'sMom November 20, 2002

I've been looking for a perfect sangria recipe and this is it! The only changes I made were to only use 1 orange (about 6 slices -- save the rest for garnish on the glasses), half a lemon and half a lime (I used the juices of the remaining halves for the drink). I used Triple Sec, like others did. I let the drink set for about 6 hours in the refrigerator and added the sprite just before serving. The wine I used was a Grenache. Enjoy!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D Wilson in Cincinnati, OH July 05, 2010

Made a double batch in a one gallon glass jar the night before a tailgating party. Put in the 'fridge overnight, then packed in ice in the cooler until the party. Added the soda just before serving it. It was a huge hit! The flavors blended together very well. It was neither too sweet nor too dry. Served over ice in solo cups. A perfect hot weather thirst quencher. Note: We used Grand Marnier because it is so smooth and delicious.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rockinbuck September 02, 2012

I hate being the only genuinely negative review for this recipe, but when I made this as written, it was TERRIBLY tart. I needed a sangria recipe to make for a large wine tasting event, and my first test batch was made exactly to the recipe..I had to add a ton of sugar to make it drinkable. For the wine tasting, I cut back on lemon and lime juices, added pineapple juice, sliced apples, and still had to add about 3 times the sugar called for. I used merlot wine as suggested by others, but this still took a LOT of "tweaking" in order to make the sangria a hit with guests. I will not make this again as written.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyKatarina June 20, 2011

This recipe hardly needs another review, but I thought I would add mine in case anyone was curious about making it ahead or doubling it. I had a party on Saturday, so I made put together everything except for the fresh juices, grenadine, fruit slices, and soda on Thursday. I doubled the recipe, so I used 2 bottles of chianti (closer to 4 c each, so a total of 8 c of wine). On the day of the party, I added the fresh juices, grenadine, fruit slices, and only 1 bottle of the soda. I had made an ice ring with some frozen strawberries in it to keep it cold. It was perfect! So tasty, not too strong, but definitely with a kick. It was a big hit. If you double it, definitely try it before you add the 2nd bottle of soda, you might not want to add more.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WorkingMom2three May 03, 2011

Amazing! Never had a better version of Sangria.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelle.atiyeh April 05, 2011

Excellent recipe- It was the hit of the party!!! The only thing I changed was that I added a bag of frozen fruit instead of ice.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mtmcookie March 28, 2011

This was so refreshing and tasty! I made mine similar to D. Wilson and only used one lime and one lemon (used half of each for juice and sliced the other halves for the drink). I used Triple Sec, skipped the grenadine and cut the sugar to 1 Tbsp. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lab Lover May 28, 2013
Sangria