Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sandy's Famous Green Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sandy's Famous Green Beans

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2001

      I cut the onion by half, sauteed lightly, and used a garlic flavored rice vinegar - DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2001

      Really loved these beans. I did vary it slightly. Instead of small red onion I used 2 red scallions and I mixed yellow and green beans. It's great to get fresh bean recipes when the garden won't quit producing them. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2002

      I had a couple carrots in the fridge so I slivered them and added to the beans. Made it colourful and good. Nice veggie recipy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2002

      These are excellent!!! In the 29 years I have been alive I have never cared for green beans, but after tasting this recipe I am very much into green beans!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2003

      We really enjoyed these beans! I never know what kind of vinegar to use when the recipe just calls for "vinegar", so I used balsamic, and it turned out delicious. I was a little worried as I smelled it cooking as it smelled awfully "vinegary", but boy was it delicious when done! Kind of a sweet and sour combination, and we both enjoyed it so much. Thanks!! Dianne

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2001

      A nice, fresh taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      This was good. None of the rest of the family is keen on green beans so I ate most of them but I will keep cooking them until someone else likes them too. I cooked the beans and onion in a mediume sized saucepan with a little water on the bottom, then drained them and put them in the serving dish while I made the sauce. I put the beans and onions back into the pan to warm them up and viola. I knew no one would touch them if the onions were raw.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      Added a nice flavour to the green beans. Even my kids loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

    • on May 25, 2008

      A nice change to regular green beans. Will probably have again. Thnx for posting, Jennifer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      This one just didn’t work for me or my guests tonight at dinner. It wasn’t bad; it just wasn’t what you think of when you say green beans. It was an easy recipe and I liked that, what with all the other cooking that was going on. I think it was just the sweetness that turned us off. But just because it didn’t work for us doesn’t mean it won’t be a winner for others. I give it 4 stars, for creativity; after all, that is what cooking is all about!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

    • on November 04, 2007

      These were delicious. I steamed frozen green beans, rather than boiling fresh, and used a mild Japanese rice vinegar. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      Delicious! My fresh green beans went yucky before I could cook them so I resorted to whole frozen organic beans. While fresh would be best, dish turned out well, and is a nice way to dress up some frozen veggies. Lots of flavor in this sweet and sour sauce with no added fat. Really pretty, the purple onion makes a nice contrast with the green of the beans. Thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for PAC Fall 2007.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      These were really good. The honey added a nice underlying sweet taste and I liked the use of a red onion. Thank you for sharing your recipe! Reviewed for PAC Fall '07.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      We loved your recipe, Sandy! Used sweet onion (no red on hand) and balsamic vinegar. Sauteed the onion a bit in butter then added vinegar and honey. Cut back a bit on the honey. Thanks for a great green bean recipe. M. Joan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      Lightly sweet. I sauteed the red onion first. The outcome was very pretty green beans with a light honey taste and a flavor punch from the red onion. Terrific! Could not stop eating them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      I used a white onion (sauteed) instead of the red and used rice vinegar since it was all I had. My girlfriend found them a little too sweet - but for me they were perfect! Adding this one to my Cookbook!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2007

      I had to cook some green beans I had in the fridge, and was looking for something special to do with them. This was IT! I might have used a little bit too much honey, because I used a spoon to pour it in, rather than a measuring cup. It was a tad more sweet than sour, but even so, it tasted absolutely delicious. I'll definitely be making it again!! Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sandy's Famous Green Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (44 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 72.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    49%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 18.1 g
    72%
    Protein 0.2 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites