Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sandra's Key Lime Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sandra's Key Lime Pie

    Average Rating:

    130 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 130

    Sort by:

    • on March 05, 2010

      Excellent Pie! Wikipedia Information on Key Lime Pie.(10min. cooking time) During mixing, a reaction between the condensed milk and the acidic lime juice occurs which causes the filling to thicken on its own without requiring baking. Many early recipes for key lime pie did not instruct the cook to ever bake the pie, relying on this chemical reaction (called souring) to produce the proper consistency of the filling. Today, in the interest of safety due to consumption of raw eggs, pies of this nature are usually baked for a short time. The baking also thickens the texture more than the reaction alone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      First of all, I live in Florida and key lime pie is a staple on the dessert menu at many restaurants here...my experience with key lime pie is that I either love it or hate it depending on how its made but I had never made my own. Most of the key lime pie I have eaten here in FL is either way too tart for my taste or it has the texture of flan and I really hate flan! So in looking for a recipe that would have that certain creaminess with the right balance of tart and sweet, I decided to give this recipe a try. Let me say, I dont think I will have to look any further for my favorite key lime pie recipe! This recipe has it all...fast, easy, short ingredient list and DELICIOUS results. The only thing I did want to mention is that this recipe does not produce enough filling to fill a 9 inch pie crust. I had approximately 1 inch of bare crust around the pie. I proceeded to fill this 1 inch of bare space with whipped cream for serving, but in the future, I will use a smaller crust. I imagine this would be wonderful with the ginger snap crust someone mentioned or a crust made out of those Lorna Doone cookies! Thanks for a great recipe that was super easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      This was the best pie, and so easy! I followed the directions, only I used regular lime juice because I couldn't find the kind requested or any "key lime" juice at all. Also instead of serving with cool whip, I used the egg whites that were discarded and whipped them up with some sugar for a meringue. I put the meringue on the pie before baking it so that it could brown. It was so wonderful! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

      Great pie for the hot days of summer. Used Graham Cracker Crust and Copycat Borden's Sweetened Condensed Milk to make this delicious pie. I also used three regular limes for the juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      I took this to a meeting two weeks ago. Everyone who had it was still talking about it the next week. I had never made Key Lime Pie, but this was so simple and so good. I did not use the bottled Key Lime Juice, I used fresh squeezed lime juice, and grated a small amount of lime peel into the filling. Note: I did not use Key Limes, just the regular limes that you get at the grocery store. No one knew the difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      excellent and easy to make! i used the juice of 2 limes (which was exactly 1/2 cup) and mine took about 17min in the oven "to set". delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      I love this pie and its uber easy to make. Its always a hit when I bring to potlucks. I like to add a drop of green food coloring just for a hint of color. And serving it on a plate with raspberry sauce drizzle with a dollop of whipped cream always makes for nice presentation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2012

      Of the four of us, only one person would finish his slice of pie. My DIL took one bite and didn't finish it, my son took two bites (as he was always taught as a child) and didn't finish his, I took two bites (as an example to my son - force of habit even though he's grown), and hubby ate his but didn't ask for another slice (he only does this when he eats something because he worries about hurting my feelings, if he likes it he always asks for another piece). I guess that we just didn't like the cream cheese in something that we love as much as traditional key lime pie. If you make this, have an open mind because it doesn't taste like key lime pie, it tastes like a lime-flavored cheesecake (sort of).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2012

      What a wonderful recipe! I followed the recipe as written the first time I made it and it was just fabulous. Then, because I can't leave well enough alone, and I love to play with recipes to see what I can do differently, I decided for fun, I would add a twist by sprinkling a teaspoon of ginger and adding a layer of dark chocolate baking chips over the bottom of the graham crust plus a 1/2 cup of coconut to the pie filling. I put chocolate chips in a pretty pattern on top of the pie and it was a raving success! It is now a friend and family favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2011

      We LOVE this recipe! Definitely pick up the recommended brand of Key Lime juice -- makes all the difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      Yummy!!! Loved the texture of the pie. The only thing I would change is to add some lime zest to make the lime flavor stand out more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2013

      Wonderful pie! The flavor is tart and refreshing; texture thick and creamy. I used fat-free condensed milk, which was undetectable. The filling did not fill my extra-large Keebler pie crust, so I used the egg whites to make a meringue for the top. I had to bake it for 20 min. for the meringue, and the lime part survived that just fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2014

      Great taste, felt guilty for not squeezing a bag of key limes... for a few seconds. But to convince someone that I actually made the pie, next time I would need to make my own graham cracker crust. Recently I made a key lime pie authentically and made my own coconut crust, but it was no better than this! Okay, no more swearing at a stack of limes! Made for I Recommend tag game based on the recommendation by WiGal (who added it to her Best of 2013 cookbook!).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2014

      What a wonderful and easy pie to make. We thoroughly enjoyed this! Thanks for sharing. Made for Best of 2013 tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2013

      OMGosh ... totally & completely DELICIOUS! I was assigned not to simply bring 'a' pie, but a KEY LIME PIE to a dinner party last evening. All a panic to find a recipe for something I'd never yet made, I came to FOOD.com where I've found successful recipe's in the past. This first listed Key Lime Pie recipe had such excellent reviews that I just had to try. <br/><br/>What great baking/cooking directions directions; also due to another readers' comment here I made some meringue to edge the pie [rather than whipped creme] and what a difference was made. There may have been other dishes on the table with left overs, but this pie was totally consumed - among we six diners. <br/><br/>This is a definite winner and I strongly encourage anyone looking for that perfect blend between a sweet & tart flavor to create THIS Key Lime Pie recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2012

      I LOVE MAKING THIS KEY LIME PIE!!! Everyone who has eaten it loves it! It is SO easy. I have tried both fresh key limes and Nellie & Joe's Key lime juice and they taste the same but Nellie & Joe's is quicker and easier. I grate some lime zest into the mixure too. I have noticed that when I use a stand mixer as opposed to a hand mixer, the texture is fluffier (less flan-like) and there is more mixure. So if you are using a bigger pie crust, I would suggest the stand mixer or just put the extra in a little ramakin and bake with the pie-personal taste tester for the chef :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      WOW, truly a winner! I don't like key lime pie, but was having a dinner party (bar-b-Q) when it was 97 degrees outside and needed something COLD and refreshing. This was AMAZING and everyone said it was the best key lime pie (and best PIE) they had ever eaten. I used fresh limes (rolling them on the counter to release juices before squeezing, and then microwaving each "half" for a few seconds to get the most juice out that I could). I used the crust from Margarita-Key Lime Pie With Gingersnap Crust (a gingersnap/coconut crust); added 1/8 tsp lime zest to the "custard" as others suggested. Baking time for the "pie" in my oven was 12 minutes. What a terrific taste sensation! I will be making this again and again, particularly for those HOT summer days. It will make a Key Lime Pie lover out of anyone, even me! Thanks William for making my dinner a smashing success!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      My husband made this pie the other night and it was great. We were out of sweetened condensed milk, so we used Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk, as a substitute and it worked! The pie was delicious! We also had to substitute regular lime juice for the nellie & joe famous key west lime juice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      I had opened a can of sweetened condensed milk that I just used a couple of tablespoons from and was looking for a recipe to use the rest of can. I didn't have any key lime juice, so I subbed fresh lemon juice and it turned out great! I'm thinking about making it again today :-). My DD who said "eh, its OK" ended up eating most of it! Thanks for a delicious and easy reicipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2014

      I made this scrumptious pie for my boyfriends bday, his friends went crazy over this pie as well as my boyfriend obviously. I made the crust myself just simple graham cracker, sugar and butter. I will be making this this pie again in a few hours thank you for putting up this recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sandra's Key Lime Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (128 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 426.2
     
    Calories from Fat 207
    48%
    Total Fat 23.0 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 10.3 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 110.3 mg
    36%
    Sodium 327.8 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.1 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 39.6 g
    158%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes