Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sandi's Black Pepper Cube Steaks & Mushroom Cream Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sandi's Black Pepper Cube Steaks & Mushroom Cream Sauce

    Average Rating:

    72 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-72 of 72

    Sort by:

    • on July 06, 2006

      I thought that this was a really easy and tasty dish. I did add something to the sauce that i felt made it even better. Before you add the cream, add about 1/3 to 1/2 a cup of red wine, and let if reduce until most of the liquid is gone and it looks thicker, then add the cream, and continue with the rest of the recipe. It really adds a great flavor to the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2006

      This got the thumbs down from my husband, and I have to say I was a bit overwhelmed by the excessive peppery taste myself. Maybe if the pepper was cut in half we would have liked it better. But I couldn't finish mine bacause it was just way too peppery. My husband scraped as much of it off as possible, and the kids wouldn't touch it. Granted, they're quite young but not usually too picky. I'm a pepper lover, but I'm afraid this was way too much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2006

      Keep on tooting your horn - another 5 stars for this one! When DD#1 gobbles it up, you know it's got to be something special. Such an easy recipe, too! Made exactly as posted, other than to slip in the fat-free half and half for about half of the heavy cream. I did cook the steaks a little longer too, so that had a bit of a nice golden "crust". This one definitely makes the keeper rotation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2006

      Sandi!! For shame, wicked woman!! My son invited his g/f for dinner tonight to celebrate his HS graduation, sigh, end of an era. What a smashing hit this was. Just happened to have 4 cube steaks on hand. I made the recipe as stated, delish!! 10 stars!!! Next time, I would double the sauce, it's just THAT good, double the chopped basil (FRESH is a must for sure), and also double the garlic, and add some red pepper flakes, flay me - I'm a 12 stepper when it comes to heat/spice. I sprinkled the end result with chopped parsley (personal taste pref), but oh my, was it fine as is! My son hates parsley, we forgive him, he's young, but I thought it was a nice addition and colorful topping. SO SIMPLE with lush results - the sauce is worthy of a filet mingon or any other cut of meat - it's just THAT good. Now...can you get his g/f to leave?!!! LOL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2006

      I loved these and my husband thought they were too peppery. However, since he had stomach surgery last year, everything is too whatever. So, he is not a good judge. On the other hand, I am an excellent judge and I give these a 5*. BTW, I love your sense of humor and I give that a 5* also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2006

      Oh My Lordy-Lord! These were SO good! I probably used a little less pepper (didn't want to scare off the family, (and I stress a LITTLE)and added a little extra cream to make sure there would be plenty of sauce, but ven with my changes, they were fantastic. I made 5 of them - and wished I'd made six so I could have had another. The meat was so tender...the sauce, delicious. And I did get the fresh basil AND remembered to add it at the end. I served them with fresh asparagus and buttered pasta. (to sop up sauce with) We will be having this again....and again.... Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2006

      This was very good. I followed the directions exactly. My steaks were a little tough, but I don't believe this to be the fault of the recipe. Next time I will tendorize them slightly first. The steak had a wonderful flavor and I will definitely make this again. Thanks Sandi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2006

      Another five stars from me Sandi. I happened to get a few black angus cubed steaks on sale and decided to dress them up with this recipe. Furthermore, a recipe with cream and mushrooms is right up my alley. I did sub the heavy cream with non fat creamer but followed the recipe otherwise. Delish and I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2006

      OUTSTANDING!!! OMG!!! This is incredible, and right with my budget for feeding many kids along with myself! The sauce is amazing! Made me feel like I was having a gourmet meal, at the same time, it was very kid-pleasing...Very rich tasting -- that kind of taste that makes people wonder "what's in this?" YUM! The instructions are very easy to follow, even for a novice chef like me, but the results are phenomenol and guest-worthy. Thank you so much for posting this, Sandi! It's a DEFINITE keeper in my house! The kids all gave it an amazing 2 thumbs up (and Pube loved licking the plates!) ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2006

      Great recipe Sandi! I love the hint of sweet that the basil gives the sauce. Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2006

      We loved this, a great way to use cube steak, I bought the basil and forgot to put it in, but it was still flavorful and perfect served over egg noodles. It reminds me of a dish my mom made when we were kids and money was tight, will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2006

      I used fat free half and half in an attempt to cut the fat a bit so it took a bit longer to reduce and thicken. The flavor wasn't compromised in my opinion. Great flavor from the crust on the steak. This is an excellant recipe to use cube steak and the instructions are dead on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sandi's Black Pepper Cube Steaks & Mushroom Cream Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (147 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 342.9
     
    Calories from Fat 308
    89%
    Total Fat 34.2 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 19.7 g
    98%
    Cholesterol 104.4 mg
    34%
    Sodium 1798.2 mg
    74%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cube steaks

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites