Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sandi's Black Pepper Cube Steaks & Mushroom Cream Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sandi's Black Pepper Cube Steaks & Mushroom Cream Sauce

    Average Rating:

    72 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 72

    Sort by:

    • on August 17, 2009

      Awesome dish! I'm happy to find another use for cube steak other than chicken fried steak. I only made two steaks but kept everything else the same so that I had plenty of sauce to spoon over mashed potatoes. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      This was surely a family pleaser, even a hit with the kids. I also could not find cremini mushrooms, but the portabellas worked just fine. The sauce is incredible (there was none left!) I think it is key not to overcook the steaks, just past meduim at the most. I served this with #338958 Oven Roated Pepper Asparagus and some fresh crusty artisian bread. Thanks for sharing and we'll be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      Sooooo good. This is comfort food at its finest. I loved the shallots and mushrooms in this. I couldn't get the cremini mushrooms, (my store was out when I went), so subbed button mushrooms and they worked great. I love cremini's so I will definately use those next time. I served this was Refrigerator Potatoes (Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes) and we loved it. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      Excellent recipe, we enjoyed for dinner last evening. We used Elk steak. Followed as written, except deglazed with dry white wine after sauting the mushrooms and shallots. I used freshly ground black pepper. We will be having cube steaks like this again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      I made this sauce with sirloin steak and then cut the steak in strips. D - E - L - I - S - H!!! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      Awesome. I reduced the sauce with 1/3 cup red wine before adding the cream, as suggested. Used fresh purple basil, and baby portobellos. We were almost licking our plates! Can't wait to try the sauce with sirloin steak. Thanks, Sandi!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      yum mushrooms and cream very tasty dinner served with noodles the cube steaks were a lil on the tough side but still very good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      Well, I figured 44 people couldn't be wrong, and I was right! Now, you can make that 45! Neither I nor my husband is a huge fan of cube steaks. They often seem tough and basically glorified hamburgers to me, but this recipe makes an inexpensive cut of meat fabulous! I did reduce the steak cook time by one minute per side to avoid shoe leather, and I used light cream. Heavy seemed like it would have been too rich. I also omitted the basil, personal preference. My husband says I can make this over and over! The sauce would go well with any cut of steak. I'm thinking venison next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      A huge hit in my household. I had never cooked with cube steaks before and was pleasantly surprised at how fast, easy, cheap and good this meal was. Served it with mashed potatoes to help soak up all the gravy goodness. This is going into regular rotation in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      This was pretty good! I did not use as much pepper per personal preference, and used sweet onion instead of shallot, and it tasted great! Sauce had a great flavor. I did add more salt to the end sauce since I served over angel hair pasta. At the end of cooking I removed the meat and added about another cup of cream with about a tbsp of cornstarch mixed in so that it would thicken up. Worked great! My cube steak was a little tough and I made sure I didn't overcook, but I think that is just the nature of that kind of meat! It was a fast and easy meal! Thanks for sharing Sandi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      Absolutely delish, however, I had to embellish the recipe a bit because I have made a recipe similar to this and found the gravy lacking a bit. I could not find cremini's anywhere and ended up using standard white mushrooms but I also added 1 TBS of dry Lipton's Onion & Mushroom Soup mix to the mushrooms after they were browned. Then I added my cream but instead of straight cream I added some powdered cultured buttermilk to it, which gave it the much needed "tang and richness" these kinds of gravies need. Served with mashed potatoes, garden peas and garden beans............this is a KEEPER!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      Every bite was so enjoyable. Its spicy... its creamy... and oooh so good. I am a big pepper fan So I used the 4 tbs and it was perfect. This makes it into my top 5 favorite recipes of all time. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      Very good! 4 out of 5 stars - just beacuse it was WAY too 'peppery' for my family. I will be making this recipe again and again, but will be reducing the cracked pepper to 1 tablespoon. We get a beef butchered every year - and there are always lots of cube steaks left over (and not many different ways to cook them!). Really enjoyed this recipe - I will be adding it to my 'favorites' list!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      OH WOW! This gravy is AMAZING and the spiciness of the pepper on the steak really sets off the gravy well. I used a little less salt, maybe 1/2 tablespoon and about 1 and 1/2 tablespoons of fresh cracked pepper (my hand got tired of cranking, and I didn't think we needed 3-4 tablespoons LOL). It says "1 shallot" but I'm not sure how much shallot that is, mine was HUGE it amounted to at least 3 Tablespoons I put it all in with a wicked grin on my face Mmmm I love shallots! I served this with mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli with lemon juice on it. MMM!! Teddy's Daddy was wiggling his feet (which means he's REALLY enjoying his food) and going Mmmm Mmmm every couple of minutes LOL I really loved this too! He asked if there was more gravy... there wasn't.. if you're going to use this with your steaks AND with your mashed potatoes you might want to double the gravy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      I had a package of 2 cube steaks, so I reduced the ingredients for the meat by half, but made all the sauce to use on potatoes. My husband was disappointed there weren't leftovers! This was a very flavorful meal & easy to make. The cube steaks were very tender. Don't be put off by the pepper, just make sure you use cracked pepper, not ground. If you are worried about the pepper - use less because you can always add more to taste. This recipe will be added to our rotation. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      This was good but I will make some changes next time. Too much pepper! And I love pepper. I think I'll cut it in half next time. I doubled the sauce but don't think that's necessary as I threw a lot out. Overall a very yummy meal but not really economical when you factor in the 1.75 ounce jar of McCormick pepper at $4.39!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      Amazing! My husband loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2008

      I used fat-free half and half and lean cube steaks, for an incredibly delicious and not-so-sinful dinner. Easy, peasy, and wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      I did not measure the pepper, but I don't think I used 3-4 T. I did use a lot though. These were really delicious. I think this would be really good just using extra lean hamburger and maybe a little more tender. I also used half-and-half instead of heavy cream. Flavor was excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      My family enjoyed this very much. Please try-you won't be disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sandi's Black Pepper Cube Steaks & Mushroom Cream Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (147 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 342.9
     
    Calories from Fat 308
    89%
    Total Fat 34.2 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 19.7 g
    98%
    Cholesterol 104.4 mg
    34%
    Sodium 1798.2 mg
    74%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cube steaks

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites