Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sandi's Black Pepper Cube Steaks & Mushroom Cream Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sandi's Black Pepper Cube Steaks & Mushroom Cream Sauce

    Average Rating:

    72 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 72

    Sort by:

    • on June 20, 2011

      This turned out really great! A few things I did differently though was to just season my steaks by eyeballing and not using the recommended amount. I also cooked my steaks in a cast iron skillet which really browned them nice along with the mushrooms/shallots. I added a little white wine before reducing the sauce too. Great recipe for cube steaks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2014

      When I try a new recipe I try to use all the ingredients as shown and though I did cut the pepper slightly, I followed the directions to the letter. I will make the sauce again and again, it was that good and easy. However I was hoping this would be a cubed steak recipe that wasn't chewy but it was so I can only give it a 4 star. I will try it with other cuts of beef and even pork and chicken but will not waste my money on cubed steak again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2013

      Just finished my first attempt at this and I must say I loved it. I used a tenderloin instead of cube and it was awesome. Be careful when reducing the sauce. Reduce too much and you might have a sauce that is too salty. Make sure your tasting throughout the reduction process. The smell reminded me of time spent in France and I will be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2014

      Just used the mushroom sauce for a pork tenderloin. Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2013

      This was good... the pepper scared me a little so I used less. I had to tweek the recipe a bit because I didn't have everything on hand. Next time I will try and follow the exact recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2013

      Great recipe but will need practice. I haven't ever had cube steak before and those suckers are tough. The sauce was amazing. I would just rather have it on a more tender piece of meat. Also, I cut the pepper in about half and it was peppery but not too bad...I might reduce it just a bit... But I like pepper. On the other hand, we all felt it was just a bit on the salty side. I used the recommended amount so next time I will probably cut that in half too. Served with rice and broccoli. Overall, yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2012

      Of course I eyeballed it with the kosher salt, pepper and basil. It was good nothing spectacular. Next time maybe I add some red wine. I used a cast iron pan and simmered for 2 hours. Very tender and was still moist. A good way to cook cube steak.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2011

    • on February 27, 2011

      After all the rave reviews, I was anxious to try this out. Unfortunately, neither one of us liked this. I love pepper, but this was a bit over the edge. Sorry to have to leave bad review.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      Wonderful! I made half a recipe for the two of us and served it with mashed potatoes. Loved the sauce even though I forgot to add the basil. Will use the recipe many, many times in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      I didn't think I would like this, but I LOVED it. Thanks. I used less cream to save on calories and fat, but it came out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      I thought I already ratred this... I guess not. All I have to say is this is sooo good! I have made this a few times, everyone loves it! Thanks for the Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2010

      This was awsome and so easy to make. The only change I made was to add a little beef base to the sauce. Thanks again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      OUTSTANDING!! I carmelized the onion first then did the mushrooms in two batches. Quick seared the Cube Steaks and put them in my Solar Oven pan. Topped them with the onions and mushrooms and let them slow cook for about an hour or so until rain clouds moved in. Returned the mixture and all the juices to the stove top and finished the sauce. The meat was fork tender and the sauce was to die for! Thanks for a new favorite! LOVED it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      Your clever, snappy intro hooked me. I made this last night for dinner. Needless to say it was a hit. Rave reviews all around. I followed the recipe exactly and cooked it in a cast iron skillet. Easy and delicious. Thanks Sandi for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      This recipe is one of our favorites. Simple to make with great flavor. I always look forward to making this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      Had tried this recipe a while back but forgot to rate. Top of the line recipe. Excellent taste. Thank you for posting Sandi

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      Yum! Yum! We loved the sauce and the well seasoned cube steaks. I'll definitely make this again. Thanks for posting, Sandi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      These are rediculous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      Excellent and quick. I made it exactly as described except that I already had some cooked mushrooms and used them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sandi's Black Pepper Cube Steaks & Mushroom Cream Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (147 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 342.9
     
    Calories from Fat 308
    89%
    Total Fat 34.2 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 19.7 g
    98%
    Cholesterol 104.4 mg
    34%
    Sodium 1798.2 mg
    74%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cube steaks

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites