72 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This turned out really great! A few things I did differently though was to just season my steaks by eyeballing and not using the recommended amount. I also cooked my steaks in a cast iron skillet which really browned them nice along with the mushrooms/shallots. I added a little white wine before reducing the sauce too. Great recipe for cube steaks!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Lynn~ June 20, 2011

When I try a new recipe I try to use all the ingredients as shown and though I did cut the pepper slightly, I followed the directions to the letter. I will make the sauce again and again, it was that good and easy. However I was hoping this would be a cubed steak recipe that wasn't chewy but it was so I can only give it a 4 star. I will try it with other cuts of beef and even pork and chicken but will not waste my money on cubed steak again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
utahnana February 14, 2014

Just finished my first attempt at this and I must say I loved it. I used a tenderloin instead of cube and it was awesome. Be careful when reducing the sauce. Reduce too much and you might have a sauce that is too salty. Make sure your tasting throughout the reduction process. The smell reminded me of time spent in France and I will be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BootyMadness February 14, 2013

Just used the mushroom sauce for a pork tenderloin. Great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mickey in MN June 09, 2014

This was good... the pepper scared me a little so I used less. I had to tweek the recipe a bit because I didn't have everything on hand. Next time I will try and follow the exact recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linnylouise November 05, 2013

Great recipe but will need practice. I haven't ever had cube steak before and those suckers are tough. The sauce was amazing. I would just rather have it on a more tender piece of meat. Also, I cut the pepper in about half and it was peppery but not too bad...I might reduce it just a bit... But I like pepper. On the other hand, we all felt it was just a bit on the salty side. I used the recommended amount so next time I will probably cut that in half too. Served with rice and broccoli. Overall, yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sumisan June 20, 2013

Of course I eyeballed it with the kosher salt, pepper and basil. It was good nothing spectacular. Next time maybe I add some red wine. I used a cast iron pan and simmered for 2 hours. Very tender and was still moist. A good way to cook cube steak.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 July 27, 2012

After all the rave reviews, I was anxious to try this out. Unfortunately, neither one of us liked this. I love pepper, but this was a bit over the edge. Sorry to have to leave bad review.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
irisbobbie2004 February 27, 2011

Wonderful! I made half a recipe for the two of us and served it with mashed potatoes. Loved the sauce even though I forgot to add the basil. Will use the recipe many, many times in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound February 02, 2011
Sandi's Black Pepper Cube Steaks & Mushroom Cream Sauce