Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sanders' Chocolate Bumpy Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sanders' Chocolate Bumpy Cake

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on February 23, 2009

      I worked in a Sander's Restaurant in Ann Arbor, Mi growing up. The trick to this frosting is to beat it for at least 10 min and to add the extra xxx sugar to make it stiffer for the logs and get it cold. Put it in your pastry bag first and set in the fridge till it gets stiff. Yes piping them on is the best way. Leave out the vanilla if its too sweet for you. This is not the frosting that was put on the regular cakes, it was the butter, crisco, milk, vanilla one. Some people add a beaten egg white. Also, warm the milk and the sugar in the micro about 30 sec. Just lukewarm; enough to melt the sugar and beat it in to the butter/crisco mixture. Don't overheat the milk or it won't come together and it will not work in a HOT kitchen or hot day. Cocoa goes in to the warm mixture. Do not boil the buttermilk with the sugar mixture;add it with the rest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

      I made this cake and I really took my time with it. I made the cake one day and put it in the freezer then finished it the following day. I really didn't have that many problems with it, but I would like to say that I followed carefully the tips left by moms alternate endings! Thank you! It would have been helpful to have a picture to see what this was supposed to look like, so I will post my pic here for others. Another thing I discovered is that you will want to leave the cake IN the pan to put your fudge frosting on! I Took mine out of the pan and had fudge running everywhere! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      Taste was good, but appearance left something to be desired. Didn't have much luck with the fudge frosting. Like other reviewers mine firmed too soon, and also melted the buttercream, even though I had left it to firm in the freezer for almost an hour. The Sanders' is my Mom's favorite, I wish I would have been able to more accurately reproduce it for her birthday! Probably mostly due to my lack of candy making skills though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      After baking and freezing the cake part the day before, my husband and I finished making this cake today. I can't imagine where someone says this only takes 20 minutes prep time. 1. Be sure to use a big mixer...we did it with a hand mixer, which made the job harder. 2. The buttercream recipe made a lot more than we needed. Even with huge "bumps" on the cake, I ended up freezing a container of the buttercream. I did add an extra 1/2 cup powdered sugar at the end and had no trouble forming the bumps, not by rolling them, but by placing hunks of the frosting in a line cross-wise on the cake, about an inch apart and then shaping it into five bumps. 3. We had the most trouble with the fudge frosting..not having a candy thermometer. What we thought was the "soft ball" stage, apparently was a little past it and the fudge frosting was grainy and not pourable. We took it off the stove, added some regular milk and beat it gently until it became pouring consistency. (don't beat too much or it will become fluffy. This worked just fine and set up great. It was a lot of work, but definitely worth it. It is very, very rich...so I cut the cake into 5 sections, each with a bump and froze 4 sections. We are now enjoying the first section with thin slices and getting a Sanders "fix".

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      Wow - I had such good reviews from my husband and family. There were so surprise at how the cake looked and tasted like Sander's bumpy cake. Yes, was a bit messy but fun too. I look forward to practicing making this cake. (When to put the cocoa in? During the making of the chocoloate frosting, needs to cook, so I put it in while on the stove cooking.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      I agree with Chef #593724 This recipe IS a mess! I made this one and found the same mistakes in it that Chef did. The cake portion turned out great, but the icings were another story. The buttercream refused to firm up enough to "roll into" anything. I ended up pipping the "rolls" onto the cake with a #12 tip. The fudge portion ended up firming too early and was not pourable. I tried spreading it on the cake, but that didn't work either because it was too warm and ended up melting the buttercream "rolls". It tasted great, but the appearance was disastrous.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2014

      This was pretty tasty. I only had issues with the frostings. The buttercream has a fairly heavy butter flavor. I can't help but think that reducing the butter by 1 stick might be the way to go next time. Regarding the fudge, it came out thick. I ended up adding more buttermilk to thin it out a bit. The reviewer who said to add buttermilk at the end was probably spot on. I would not add it during the cooking stage. And this is seriously rich. You will need a glass of milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2014

      I also worked for Sander's while I was a Teen. My Family grew up having Sander's for every imaginable Special Occasion...and then some!!!! Believe me...the Fudge Frosting from the Bumpy cake was Not Pourable. It should be of a delectable fudge consistency! OH an the Wonderful white rolls inside...My God where pure Heaven...so light, airy and creamy!! The ice cream Toppings?....so rich and thick and you could taste the real butter in them !!!! <br/><br/><br/><br/>How many of you remember the Old fashion bread?? SO GOOD!!! It had a texture that left you craving for more ! Same for the Chocolates...you would NEVER taste the wax or artificial ingredients that are in the current products !!???!!!!<br/><br/>I sure wish someone from the Sander Family would step forward and bring it ALL BACK :-(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2013

      I turned this recipe into cupcakes. I only used the frosting part of this recipe though. I used my own cake recipe, piped the frosting into the cupcake and piped a swirl on top and then just used a ganache to dip the cupcakes in. Everyone loves them. I am always asked to make them for people. I even made a 300 cupcake tower of them for a friends wedding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2012

      Interesting cake! I tried to incorporate the suggestions made by moms alternate endings, but I don't know if I followed them properly because I couldn't quite tell which suggestions went with which steps in the recipe. At any rate, I had the same problem as other reviewers... my buttercream was runny and the fudge was either too cool to pour or so hot that it melted the buttercream. But, I did discover that the buttercream firmed up to a good consistency for piping after about 2 hours in the fridge. Shame I didn't wait that long before I used it :) Never having tried an original Sander's cake (despite living in Ann Arbor for 12 years), I don't know how authentic this recipe tastes, but the Michigander friend that I made it for certainly enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      This recipe is a mess! As I was reading the buttercream icing portion - I couldn't imagine how it could become thick enough to be able to "shape" into 1 inch rolls. Sure enough, I made this cake and there was no way you could "shape" rolls out of the icing. I ended up pouring the icing over the whole cake. Then, when making the fudge frosting - it never tells you when to add the cocoa, and it tells you to add the vanilla, but it isn't listed in the ingredients. I added 1/2 tsp. since that was the amount used in the buttercream. Also, because the cake rose higher in the center, when I poured on the fudge frosting, it all ran to the edges of the pan, even overflowing, and left the center of the cake pretty much bare of fudge frosting. What a mess to make! Not to mention the cost - lots of butter, powdered sugar, etc. And it tastes horrible! So sugary - you might as well pour a whole cup of sugar right down your throat - same effect. Don't waste your time on this one...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2005

      This did not taste at all like the Sanders cake I remember. It was way too sugary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sanders' Chocolate Bumpy Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (140 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 552.1
     
    Calories from Fat 262
    47%
    Total Fat 29.2 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 15.8 g
    79%
    Cholesterol 80.0 mg
    26%
    Sodium 430.2 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 71.1 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 58.6 g
    234%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes