10 Reviews

This quiche baked up beautifully, but was very strong and fishy tasting. It was not a hit at my house. My son and boyfriend would not eat it. The crab flavor was a bit overwhelming, completely overshadowing the more delicate shrimp flavor. Next time I will use less crabmeat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie C. October 19, 2013

I had never made a pie shell from scratch before yesterday...and I had never made a quiche before (I am a relative newbie to cooking even though I am 50!!) Anyway..this turned out beautifully! I will definitely make it again! It is in my cookbook... LOL

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CastlegarJeff August 26, 2013

This one is a keeper! I made this recipe - with some minor adjustments - to suit what I had on hand. but the bones of this recipe are really good. had a lot of rave reviews with this recipe - had to forward it to a few people.

substituted the celery - for red and orange bell pepper
cut the wine in half - used dry rose instead of white
added 10% cream to eggs
substituted the seafood with - 2 cans of canned crab meat and one can of shrimp cocktail
substituted the swiss cheese with - yellow and white shredded cheddar and added 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese
add freshly chopped italian parsley

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
psloat May 22, 2012

I have always wanted to make quiche, but was afraid to try. Then, a friend asked me to make it for Saturday brunch and I did. I can never say no when someone asks me to cook:) This recipe seemed perfect and it was. I added scallops, extra shrimp, an extra egg, used lump crab meat,a bit more wine because of the extra ingredients. Oh, I used gruyere instead of swiss. My friend was very pleased with the outcome and so was I. If you love quiche and seafood then this is certainly a recipe to try.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Funliven February 08, 2012

If I were the only one rating this I would have given it a 5, but DH and DS didnt like it as much as DD and I did. They said its not bad but not something they would request. I on the other hand thought it was GREAT. I loved the seafood in this, and the wine with the egg was a nice change of taste. Thank you so much for sharing this with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour April 04, 2010

While the quiche baked up beautifully, we found it to be quite bland. I did add some salt and pepper and some Old Bay seasoning and it still needed more. Also, we found the wine taste to be too strong. Next time I think I will reduce the wine, maybe add some cream and definitely add more spices and seasonings. May try adding some Dijon mustard and dill.... Will have to play with it. Good base though...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jopalis April 16, 2009

Hello Leslie in Texas, this was wonderful! I love seafood! Used more than 6 oz of crab meat but it didn't change the wonder of it! Added a bit of Tabasco and it gave it a great kick! Thank you for posting this recipe :) - I doubled the recipe so I could have 2 in the freezer. Thanks so much, Diane ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manami November 13, 2008

Hey Leslie in TX, this is Leslie In MO, lol. I have been making this exact same recipe for over thirty years. My copy of the recipe came from Cosmopolitan magazine when Helen Gurley-Brown was editor, yikes, that's along time ago! I can't recommend this recipe enough, one of my favorites. I was going to post, but in researching found yours, and couldn't believe it was already here. Lol's, had to make a few changes, not because I wanted to, just out of necessity. Only had Maryland Blue Claw Crab meat, had only one pie shell, so I had to make from scratch second one and finally did not have enough mayo, so had to make my own! So much for and easy night, DH loved the quiche and it went so well with a green salad. Thanks again posting and the laughs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nana Chickens May 27, 2008

This really r_o_c_k_e_d!!!! Made a few personal preference changes, but kept the same for the most part. This will become a favorite in the house, thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 'Diva Divine March 17, 2008

This sounded like a must try recipe, and it was so good! I am thrilled I have one in the freezer for another time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judgey1 May 18, 2007
San Francisco Seafood Quiche