56 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Manda... these pork chops were AWESOME! I normally bread my pork chops and bake them, which my family seems to like, but I was in the mood to try something different... boy was I glad I did! My husband normally doesn't say much when I try out a new recipe, but he really loved these! I followed the recipe almost exactly, except that I didn't thicken the sauce with the cornstarch. I accidently over looked that step. I will definitely be making these again! Thanks for posting! -Kim :)

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. July 14, 2002

These are by far one of the best pork chops I have ever tasted. My whole family loves them. I used sherry instead of the beef broth and did not thicken the sauce. Excellent recipe

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dphawaii October 08, 2002

I was looking for something different. We really enjoyed these. We are big garlic fans so I ended up using a lot more garlic. I will definitely make these again!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bobchile January 06, 2003

OMGosh!! Easy, and so delicious! My daughter is my 'taste taster', she said the sauce was identical in flavor to Hogi Yogi's Teriyaki Rice Bowl. So guess what? Yes, I did. I served spoonfuls of rice into bowls, spooned the cut up pork chops onto the rice, then poured a generous amount of sauce onto the pork chops and rice. I doubled the sauce, using corn starch to thicken up a bit. Also, opted to use beef broth, the cayenne pepper and a bit more brown sugar. "TO CRY FOR!" Next time, will try chicken breasts, along with some steamed brocolli, pineapple chunks, or sugar snap peas. You can use your imagination with this. Thank you, Manda!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisMonie July 16, 2009

This recipe is a nice change from the usual pork chop dinner. I wanted more sauce so I used 3/4 C broth and 1/3 C low sodium soy sauce. The sauce was very good. My chops turned out a bit dry but it could be the cut I used. I would definitely make this again. Thx for sharing your recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word August 30, 2010

This was so good. I doubled the sauce so that there was enough for the rice, but I think there would have been enough without doubling it. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I definitely plan to make this again sometime!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcG October 18, 2009

Following HisMonie's review, I also used beef broth (Better Than Bouillon), doubled sauce ingredients and served as a rice bowl with egg rolls on the side. The chops reached proper internal temp after 20 minutes covered. Chops were removed and allowed to rest as sauce thickened. Two cups of cooked brown rice was divided into four bowls. Cubed pork, sauce and sliced green onion were layered on top. This was so delicious. Everyone agreed that this is restaurant quality. We will definitely make these chops again by adding an Asian veggie medley or streamed broccoli. Three gave this 4.5 stars and one gave it 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SonnyHavens March 28, 2015

DH made this for dinner and served over rice. They are so good and the spices just right, loved the extra pop of flavor from the crushed peppers and the gravy was rich and thick. He followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect for us. One of the best pork chop recipes we've tried. The flavors may be a little to intense for young children but I can see making this for a company dish. I do have photos but having trouble uploading so will come back once that's fixed and post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 October 25, 2013

Will definitely make again, Served over rice and everyone loved it! Thanks for the recipe,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha S. October 02, 2013
San Francisco Pork Chops