11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was wonderful Caroline. So quick and easy to make. Just what the doctor ordered. It was my dh's birthday, and Boston Cream Pie was his pick. I used chocolate pudding, dh's preference and topped with a really good extra fine, extra dark chocolate. This beautiful dessert was amazing. The texture and flavor were spot on. I took the cake out of the fridge 1/2 hour before I was ready to serve, so that the rich, sweet, chocolate glaze could soften.Thank you so much for sharing this treasure, that I will make again. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato July 06, 2010

Excellant cake/pie I made 2 due to DD needed it for a project at school so we test drove this recipe on the family. The pudding was not thick enough so added whipped cream on the first cake to make it thicker . Layers slid when we cut the cake. so second cake I made my own pudding from scratch and consistancy was much better. Overall I will try this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dragonlady647 March 10, 2009

Ohhh sooo yummy! I had a few layers of yellow cake in the freezer so I used three thin layers of cake and two layers of pudding. The amount of pudding was perfect for two layers and the chocolate glaze was the perfect amount :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jean January 14, 2009

I made this for Easter dinner. It was very good. I had some difficulty with the glaze. I used a two layer yellow cake. Next time I'll use the Jiffy. I put the finished cake in the refrigerator and the glaze hardened too much. I used Ghiradelli dark chocolate for baking. I doubled the glaze and was careful not to overcook it. I'll try it again some time and see if I have better luck.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jneen April 10, 2007

I followed one of the other reviewers and made a homemade yellow cake, It tasted good, but it made so much cake doing it homemade, I should have cut the cake recipe in half, and also doubled the glaze.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ilovemykids1234 August 03, 2006

Simple, quick to make and good. A great old-fashioned dessert. Just one little warning: DON'T cook the glaze very long, just until it comes together. Otherwise it gets too thick and separates slightly when cold. Some melted butter then lies on top. It took a little fancy dancing to cover it up! Caroline, thanks for a winner. Janet

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jezski May 03, 2006

Oh, this was delicious! My son took a big bite and immediately held up all five fingers (signifying 5 stars). :) Rather than using the cake mix, though, I made half of Yellow Cake Yellow Cake. I also made 1 1/2 times the glaze, just to make sure there was enough to cover. It thickened faster than I expected, and since I was pouring it over a cold cake (I had refrigerated the filled cake earlier in the day), it set up rather quickly, so I did end up needing the extra. The amount in the recipe would be fine, though, as long as you pour it over a room-temperature cake while it is still quite thin. The half-and-half made the pudding nice and rich. We loved it, Caroline--thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaJ April 30, 2006

This is the best Boston cream pie I've ever made, and I've made several of them. I reduce the amount of milk slightly to make it a thicker, creamier pudding filling. Absolutely delicious and very easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dreier123 July 10, 2012

i chose the glaze from this recipe for my cake because of the photo but i didnt to get the same results i was not happy with mine. first it was so thin so i added some more pwd sugar but when i poured it on it looked gross like chocolate vomit and hardened like a rock. i had to find another recipes glaze to make and pour over the whole think so it was not ruined but i did not care for this glaze at all. too fickle.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sprue March 29, 2010

good recipe...but my chocolate on top hardened like a rock...i used chocolate chips....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc September 04, 2006
San Francisco Meets Boston Cream Pie