Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Samhain Carrots Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Samhain Carrots

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on November 03, 2012

      I made as posted, and included the spiced rum. I didn't have enough liquid to get my carrots tender, and the spices were very intense....love these spices, but just couldn't find any carrot flavor under all the spice. So I added more broth to let my baby carrots get tender. I do recommend using this spice blend if you are trying to sell your house....the smell is fabulous! Simmer it on the stove top and your home is warm and inviting! I'll have to try this one again and adjust the seasoning a bit to suit our taste. Thanks for sharing! Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2012

      i loved how the apple juice really sweetened up the carrots easy to do .watch as it gets to end of cooking will scorch cause all the sugar s

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2011

      I always like to find a new recipe for preparing carrots, & I've found one right here! Great tasting carrots, even if I did leave out the rum! Both of us really liked the red pepper flakes in this! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Stars recipe tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      What a wow way to make carrots. I am not a carrot lover, so this made me happy, because they had a nice flavor, lots of nice spices and a little zing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      My son ate carrots happily tonight! I made as directed except for omitting the red pepper flakes so everyone in my family would enjoy. Thanks so much for a fabulous recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      Well....I quadrupled the carrots & cider. I doubled everything else. I wish I had quadrupled the sugar & left the red pepper flakes at 1/4 tsp. Of course, this many carrots took a lot longer to cook. I also added 1TB butter at the end as Rita sugested & it made a very nice glaze. The 4 of us FINISHED all 32 oz. ;) Made for NA*ME Spice of the Month. Thanks, A!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      I loved, loved, loved these carrots!! Wow, they are good! I made them as directed except that I was out of spiced rum, so used coconut rum, lol. These are simple to put together, filled the kitchen with a wonderful aroma, and had great flavor. I would recommend serving these with a rather bland entree for balance because they do have a bit of a strong flavor. Thanks Annacia for my new favorite carrot recipe. Made for 123 Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      This was a really yummy recipe. I doubled everything except the red pepper flakes and the kids still said they were a little to spicy for them. My husband and I enjoyed the spice but when I make it again I will leave that out so the kids can enjoy. The other beautiful thing about this dish is the aroma that it fills your kitchen with as it cooks. Thank you for posting such a great recipe that screams fall and cool weather!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      Made with large carrots that I sliced on an angle. Used the spiced as directed except for the cloves and allspice using 1/8 of a teaspoon. They are very strong and would have overpowered the carrots. The aroma of this takes over the home. A welcoming aroma! I think a tab of butter at the end of cooking would smooth this out nicely! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Samhain Carrots

    Serving Size: 1 (80 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 44.7
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    83%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 46.8 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 7.6 g
    30%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites