15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My cousin has made this recipe a few times. It is so simple, but soooo good!! At first I was unsure...saltines? Don''t worry, it tastes fantastic!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judith Schonhoff December 17, 2001

Although I am not Jewish, I'm always looking for desserts to take to seders with friends who are kind enough to invite me. I make this recipe with unsalted matzo and it is always a huge hit. I call it Mazel Toffee.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msschwa August 31, 2013

I was looking for a new toffee recipe because I am having trouble with the one I usually make and came across this one. It turned out great! I will be using for gifts for my husbands coworkers. I let the butter and sugar just come to a boil and had no problem with the butter separating. I put in fridge and then the freezer (I was in a hurry) for a bit and then broke into pieces and had no trouble peeling it off of the aluminum foil. Very yummy, I am trying no to eat it all myself. I am going to try the graham cracker version too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hilaryt December 10, 2010

I made this last night. It turned out different than I remembered it, but everyone loved it. I think I'll keep searching for a recipe that reminds me of the one I had before. It's very good though and easy to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sapowell June 03, 2009

I used white chocolate chips and used Graham crackers instead...amazing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmpakes December 26, 2008

I used to make this every Thanksgiving while baking with family. Unfortunatly I lost the original recipe over the years. My hubby requested these again this year...I'm so glad he did, they are so delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
haskinsfam December 01, 2008

I have been making these for years... and they are always a hit. I use 1 cup butter minus one tablespoon (just so it is a little less butter).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vballkae November 17, 2008

Loved these. If you just keep whisking the butter and sugar, it will absolutely mix together beautifully. Only used 1 cup of the chocolate chips. The other version is to stir some cinnamon in with the brown sugar and butter mixture, then top with walnuts (eliminating the chocolate chip layer). Also very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride December 18, 2007

These were sooo goood! After reading other Zaar reviews I decided to melt the butter and brown sugar together and just let it come to a boil, (While stirring constantly, it doesn't take long at all)then remove from heat while still stirring. This worked out great with no separation problems. I also pre-toasted almonds to sprinkle on top. As directions state, it is a must to remove from pan while still warm, if not a little hot to prevent sticking. The only reason I won't be making these often is because it is way too easy to eat the whole pan!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
concretegirl September 06, 2005

Quick and easy, just the way I like my recipes! Took these to a potluck where they were enjoyed by many. I got 35 saltines onto the piece of foil. I did have some trouble getting the butter and brown sugar to combine. I ended up putting it into a bowl and whisking it well. However, during baking there was some separation of the butter and sugar. Put on the choco chips and popped into the oven for a minute to soften for spreading. After separating the finished crackers, I put them into the refrigerator for 30-45 minutes to set. thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ducky June 04, 2005
Saltine Toffee Cookies