Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Saltine Toffee Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Saltine Toffee Cookies

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on December 17, 2001

      My cousin has made this recipe a few times. It is so simple, but soooo good!! At first I was unsure...saltines? Don''t worry, it tastes fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2013

      Although I am not Jewish, I'm always looking for desserts to take to seders with friends who are kind enough to invite me. I make this recipe with unsalted matzo and it is always a huge hit. I call it Mazel Toffee.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2010

      I was looking for a new toffee recipe because I am having trouble with the one I usually make and came across this one. It turned out great! I will be using for gifts for my husbands coworkers. I let the butter and sugar just come to a boil and had no problem with the butter separating. I put in fridge and then the freezer (I was in a hurry) for a bit and then broke into pieces and had no trouble peeling it off of the aluminum foil. Very yummy, I am trying no to eat it all myself. I am going to try the graham cracker version too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      I made this last night. It turned out different than I remembered it, but everyone loved it. I think I'll keep searching for a recipe that reminds me of the one I had before. It's very good though and easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      I used white chocolate chips and used Graham crackers instead...amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      I used to make this every Thanksgiving while baking with family. Unfortunatly I lost the original recipe over the years. My hubby requested these again this year...I'm so glad he did, they are so delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      I have been making these for years... and they are always a hit. I use 1 cup butter minus one tablespoon (just so it is a little less butter).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      Loved these. If you just keep whisking the butter and sugar, it will absolutely mix together beautifully. Only used 1 cup of the chocolate chips. The other version is to stir some cinnamon in with the brown sugar and butter mixture, then top with walnuts (eliminating the chocolate chip layer). Also very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2005

      These were sooo goood! After reading other Zaar reviews I decided to melt the butter and brown sugar together and just let it come to a boil, (While stirring constantly, it doesn't take long at all)then remove from heat while still stirring. This worked out great with no separation problems. I also pre-toasted almonds to sprinkle on top. As directions state, it is a must to remove from pan while still warm, if not a little hot to prevent sticking. The only reason I won't be making these often is because it is way too easy to eat the whole pan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2005

      Quick and easy, just the way I like my recipes! Took these to a potluck where they were enjoyed by many. I got 35 saltines onto the piece of foil. I did have some trouble getting the butter and brown sugar to combine. I ended up putting it into a bowl and whisking it well. However, during baking there was some separation of the butter and sugar. Put on the choco chips and popped into the oven for a minute to soften for spreading. After separating the finished crackers, I put them into the refrigerator for 30-45 minutes to set. thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2003

      There are many copies of this recipe on 'Zaar. It was kind of the luck of the draw that I focused on this one (and the fact that it has "saltine" in the title). The butter didn't mix with the sugar completely, and consequently some plain butter ran down onto the crackers and under the foil. It doesn't seem to have affected the texture, and might have made them easier to remove from the pan. Next time I will try to fill the pan with crackers (I got hung up on the number 40, and ended up not filling the pan. Whoops). I "mooshed" the nuts into the chocolate to make sure they would stick. I also put the pan in the fridge, without breaking the cracker apart first. In order to remove them, I just lifted the foil out of the pan and bent it and peeled the crackers off - making each cracker one piece of toffee/ candy/ cookie/ whatever. I also have to note that I used hazelnuts (thought I had pecans in the freezer, but I was wrong).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2003

      These are sooo yummy. Buttery, sweet, crunchy cookies with chocolate! You may have to really mix the butter and sugar so the butter doesn't separate...but well worth the effort. These never made the gift baskets, even though I made 5 or 6 batches (my son and hubby ate them all and I ran out of chips!!!!) I also made them with coconut sprinkled on top or no nuts and they were still great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2002

      I have made these and used graham crackers inplace of the saltines. Excellant both ways

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2002

      These are great! I first had these several years ago at a neighbor's house. She called them Chocolate Soda Rocas. They are not really a cookie, but a brittle. No matter what you call them they are fantastic -- I love the saltiness from the crackers combined with the sweet. A faulous recipe to make around the holidays -- everyone is very impressed and they are very easy to make. UPDATE: I used sliced almonds in place of walnuts. Also, I sprayed the foil with cooking spray, let the mixture cool, then broke it into irregular pieces. Friends have recommended broken candy cans as a topping at the holidays, but I have not tried that. Love this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2002

      My grandmother made these 50 years ago on the Indian Reservation. They are originally called Poor Mans Candy brought over from England in the 1800's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Saltine Toffee Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1262 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 158.4
     
    Calories from Fat 85
    53%
    Total Fat 9.4 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 12.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 169.5 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 9.1 g
    36%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes