Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Saltine Candy / Toffee Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Saltine Candy / Toffee

    Average Rating:

    107 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 107

    Sort by:

    • on May 28, 2002

      Quick, easy and tasty. Reminds me of chocolate covered toffee. I halved the recipe and put it in a 9 x 13 pyrex. (used 15 saltines -they fit well and half of everything else). Put sliced almonds on the top. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2002

      Really super yummy! They lose their crunch and get soggy fast though so eat em real quick or store em in a very airtight container.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2002

      These were outstanding!! Amazingly easy to prepare, and very fast, also. My printer got a real workout, as all of my co-workers wanted the recipe. Most of them have gotten turned on to Recipezaar, (if they've been smart!!) What a great snack these are, with so many easy variations!! Addictive!!!! Marianna U. Kretschmer

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

      So easy and addictive,nuts can be added,i also used the chocolate peanut butter chips,you can use butterscotch too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

    • on November 30, 2002

      Man ,this is a keeper.I made this today and I just cant stop eating it!!!!Every one loves it!!!Thanks for sharing this recipe.I will be making this every winter holiday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2002

      ...plus 5 plus 5!!! These are quite possibly, almost definitely the most divine things I have ever put into my mouth!! I only made half a recipe because I didn't have enough brown sugar to make a whole recipe. Needless to say, I am going to the store bright and early tomorrow for more brown sugar to make up another batch!! I absolutely could not believe that there were saltine crackers underneath the yummy toffee flavored, chocolate topping!! I used walnuts for the nuts. I ate about half of what I made, then decided I better stop so I could let the rest of the family try them out. Well-recieved by all!! Caution: may be harmful to one's waistline due to the addictive quality of this candy....But OHHHHH, so worth it!! Thank you for a TERRIFIC recipe!!! ~Manda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2002

      I made these to take to a graduation-going away party this week. I gave my husband a small morsel (he is diabetic)because he walked in while I was finishing them up to store away. He loved them and I decided I probably needed to lock them up! They are really tasty and I'm sure will be a hit at the party. Very easy to make. I will use the recipe often. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2002

      I've made this recipe for years and give as Christmas gifts. Soooo easy, yet soooo yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

      I first tried this recipe at my sister-in -law's at Christmas and couldn't believe it when she told me they were made with crackers! Since then I've made them often...they're quick and easy to make; perfect for anyone with a sweet tooth. Try and eat just one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

      AmyNY....have made these several times in the past.(My SIL passed it on but..dumb me..I lost it) They are wonderful and no one ever knows that there are saltines underneath! Cross between candy and cookie...thanks for finding it again for me! Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2011

      These we're absolutely yumm-o. Please don't be put off by the ingredient list and MAKE
      THESE you're tast buds and fat cells will thank you. Seriously, I've toyed with the idea of
      making these and last evening finally did. DH loved them and I had trouble stopping at three.
      My pan let me fit 48 crackers in nicely and the covering and chocolate covered them all.
      Thank you so much for the rx.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      We've been making these for years and have shared the recipe many, many times. A few tips: 1) Make sure you don't start the 3 minute timing until the butter/brown sugar mixture is at a FULL boil. If you start timing right away, your 'toffee' will be grainy and soft. Blech 2) Only cook the cracker/butter mixture in the oven for 5 minutes. 3) I roast the pecans before using them. Spread the chopped nuts in a pan, spritz oil and sprinkle with fine salt. Roast til you can smell them. SO much more crisp and flavorful that way. 4) Once you sprinkle the roasted pecans onto the chocolate, use the back of a flat spatula to press the nuts down into the chocolate. Helps keep them from falling off the set chocolate later. 5) If you REALLY like the sweet/salty contrast (and we do), I sprinkle just a teensy amount of fine salt (popcorn salt) into my palm and dust wee pinches over the top of the chocolate before it sets as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2014

      I've made this with white white sugar, leave off the chocolate and add sliced almonds and coconut on top. Delicious both ways!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2014

      So easy and so good!! I didn't have chocolate chips, so I broke 5 regular size Hershey bars into small pieces, worked perfectly. I used slivered toasted almonds and posted a picture. Fantastic. Made a full cookie tin, I was afraid I'd have to double the recipe, but it will work well for our 3 days of Christmas guests (until my son discovers them). The recipe is a keeper. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2013

      Works well with Wheat Thins too. Who knew saltines could go bad? Note: don't add some baking soda to make it like caramel corn goo. It boils over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2013

      This stuff was AMAZING and so easy to make. Thanks for posting the recipe and my family will be making it many many times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2013

      I was debating on whether to make my scrumptious toffee this year for the holidays and ran across this recipe and decided to try this recipe. OMG it tastes sooooo yummy! And it's easier on the teeth than toffee. It seems a little soft so I'm keeping in the fridge. I followed another's suggestion and started counting the 3 minutes AFTER the mixture came to a boil. I think this will be replacing my toffee recipe and save my teeth! Thank you NYAmy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2013

      This is the best! Even if all you have on hand is butter, brown sugar and saltines, it's still so yummy I don't want to share! Well, I will when the grandkids come over. (If there's any left!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2013

      This is an amazingly easy & tasty dessert! My entire family is fighting over the last few pieces of this toffee! haha I love it. This lazy chef is finally a success with a dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Saltine Candy / Toffee

    Serving Size: 1 (82 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 446.5
     
    Calories from Fat 259
    58%
    Total Fat 28.8 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 17.4 g
    87%
    Cholesterol 48.8 mg
    16%
    Sodium 305.5 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.4 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 38.6 g
    154%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites